$299 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Stowe Mountain Lodge

5 stars
7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
56 reviews
Perfect family stay

The Stowe mountain lodge was more than we expected for our 1 night stay in town. From the front... See full review

  • Laxnerd
  • Jul 28, 2014
Independence Day weekend

Overall it was excellent. Service was great. Room clean and updated. Nice views and amenities. Cons... See full review

  • MikeRx4
  • Jul 6, 2014
Perhaps it's the pristine location, the classic beauty, or the history that has evolved here. Or maybe it's the fact that one cultivates a sense of contentment throughout every season at Stowe. Now, with the advent of Stowe Mountain Lodge, this unique New England ski town in Vermont reaffirms its place as a renowned destination for discerning world travelers.

For over a century Stowe has attracted travelers who have cherished the beauty of the area's covered bridges, sparkling lakes, rambling woodlands and majestic peaks. Opened in June 2008, Stowe Mountain Lodge sets a new standard of luxury and aesthetics for the East Coast's most magnificent resort. Built in the new "Vermont-Alpine" style, Stowe Mountain Lodge offers a truly luxurious setting, while still paying respect to the Vermont traditions of utilizing local artisan products and embracing the tranquility of nature.

The six-story, 312-room lodge draws on the architectural tradition of turn-of-the-century summer camps created by the great families of New England. The lodge's exterior features a picturesque facade of woven timber and shingles that draw upon the natural harmony found in nature, as well as stone veneer created from local quarries, and expansive glass to bring the beauty of the lodge's outdoor surroundings to the indoors.

The interior design further emphasizes the fresh and contemporary take on natural beauty, enabling guests to experience Vermont lodging through a melange of old and new, rustic and romantic. Interchanging natural Vermont woods and stones, birch bark columns and detailing provides a simplistic backdrop to lively, contemporary folk art pieces. The color palette of the local seasons - vibrant reds, deep oranges, warm yellows and soothing greens - in varying patterns and textures found in the upholstery of inviting furnishings.

Each room has been custom-designed as a respite from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, with warm tones, plush furnishings and soothing amenities. All rooms are framed by oversized windows and outdoor balconies, allowing guests to take full advantage of the remarkable mountain landscape of Mt. Mansfield and Spruce Peak.

Stowe has long beckoned visionaries. From the Roosevelts and Vanderbilts who graced the Summit House in the 1860s, to the international ski racers a hundred years later, citizens of the world have long been attracted by Mount Mansfield's extraordinary beauty and boundless potential. Now, with the creation of Stowe Mountain Lodge, the mountain has reaffirmed its reputation as a world-class resort. Winter, spring, summer and autumn: each season expresses its own beauty on the face of Mount Mansfield, and activities abound.

Valet parking is available for $20/night.

Stowe Mountain Lodge Rooms

Classic Studio
1 King or two Queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Separate sitting area. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). In-room safe. Flat-panel LCD TV with premium channels and pay movies. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Refrigerator. Coffee/tea maker. Cookware/dishes/utensils. Separate bathtub and shower. Designer toiletries. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Complimentary newspaper. Electronic check-out. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Non-smoking rooms only.
Timberline Studio
1 King bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Balcony. Mountain view. Separate sitting area. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). In-room safe. Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Television - Flat-panel. Television - LCD. Premium TV channel(s). Pay movies. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Kitchenette. Refrigerator. Coffee/tea maker. Cookware/dishes/utensils. Separate bathtub and shower. Designer toiletries. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Complimentary newspaper. Electronic check-out. Air conditioning. Non-smoking rooms only.
Ridgeline Studio
1 King bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Balcony. Mountain view. Separate sitting area. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). In-room safe. Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Television - Flat-panel. Television - LCD. Premium TV channel(s). Pay movies. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Refrigerator. Coffee/tea maker. Cookware/dishes/utensils. Separate bathtub and shower. Designer toiletries. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Complimentary newspaper. Electronic check-out. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Non-smoking rooms only.
Timberline 1BR Suite
1 King bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Balcony. Mountain view. Separate sitting area. Separate dining area. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). In-room safe. Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Television - Flat-panel. Television - LCD. Premium TV channel(s). Pay movies. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Kitchen. Refrigerator. Coffee/tea maker. Cookware/dishes/utensils. Separate bathtub and shower. Designer toiletries. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Complimentary newspaper. Air conditioning. Non-smoking rooms only.
Ridgeline 1BR Suite
1 King bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Balcony. Mountain view. Separate sitting area. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). In-room safe. Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Television - Flat-panel. Television - LCD. Premium TV channel(s). Pay movies. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Refrigerator. Coffee/tea maker. Cookware/dishes/utensils. Separate bathtub and shower. Designer toiletries. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Complimentary newspaper. Electronic check-out. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Non-smoking rooms only.
Timberline 2BR Suite
2 beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Balcony. Mountain view. Separate sitting area. Separate dining area. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). In-room safe. Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Television - Flat-panel. Television - LCD. Premium TV channel(s). Pay movies. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Kitchen. Refrigerator. Coffee/tea maker. Cookware/dishes/utensils. Separate bathtub and shower. Designer toiletries. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Washer/dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking rooms only.
Ridgeline 2BR Suite
1 king bed or 2 king beds or 2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Balcony. Mountain view. Separate sitting area. Separate dining area. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). In-room safe. Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Television - Flat-panel. Television - LCD. Premium TV channel(s). Pay movies. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Kitchen. Refrigerator. Coffee/tea maker. Cookware/dishes/utensils. Separate bathtub and shower. Designer toiletries. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Washer/dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking rooms only.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stowe Mountain Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

44.4992 -72.7448
Area served
Stowe, VT - Boston, Mass
Nearby airports
BOS / BVT

Dining

Solstice
Solstice, Stowe Mountain Lodge's signature restaurant, offers Vermont artisan-inspired cuisine in an elegant and relaxed setting. Enjoy views from every direction, with an open kitchen, interactive chef station, and a wall of windows overlooking Spruce Peak mountain. Enjoy the bounty of Vermont through a sampling of sustainably-grown produce, artisan cheeses and all-natural meats - only the best of what is in season. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are served daily. Four- and seven-course tasting menus are offered for dinner, along with a la carte options. Choose a rare wine to complement your meal from our selection of boutique and hard-to-find bottles, or allow our sommelier to help you find the perfect pairing. Outdoor dining is available during summer months, and a private dining room that accommodates up to 16 guests is available year-round. Reservations are strongly recommended. Please call Solstice restaurant at 802.760.4735.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Stowe Mountain Lodge

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MinnMom
Minneapolis, MN suburbs
Nov 25, 2012

Big Disappointment

First Impression driving up was that this lodge was soooo beautiful and just what we pictured when wanting that ski-lodge experience. The experience stopped there. Valet parking is $19 per night and there's no other choice (ripoff!). The 'amenities' include an indoor/outdoor pool that they said was 88 degrees but was in actuality an outdoor pool with an indoor entrance and was very cold. There was nothing else to do at this hotel except eat at the expensive restaurant or go to the expensive spa---no game room or night club, etc. The big fireplace to sit near and warm up or play a game or hang out was non-existent. There was a fireplace beyond the reception but it was noisy from the bar/restaurant overlooking it and it also overlooked the reception area with all the in-and-out and check-in and kids-running-around noises echoing through. I think there may have been some kids movie playing somewhere but no kids or teen space. The room itself was beautiful and very clean. No mirror in the room and a closed off water closet inside the bathroom made it really wierd for three people to share (had to take turns which meant waiting). The deep soaker tub was only big enough for one person, the view was a little boring (of one hill) and the room had an ice box (not a refrigerator) so keeping things cold was an issue as was heating things up, which there was nowhere to do that. Really disappointed in the cost---when I spend that much on a hotel I actually do expect more (and that's all it was is a hotel that rents ski equipment). I gave 3 stars because it really was average or ordinary but at a much higher cost. If I was to go again, I would look for a real ski lodge. Vermont, by the way, was one of the most beautiful places I've been to, and I've been to nearly every state. The Stowe Monutain Lodge was the ONLY disappointment on this trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There is no nightlife--expect to pay $15 to rent an in-room movie.

Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cheshire, CT
Mar 25, 2011

Snowboarding family

Traveled with my two 18 yo sons. They ride and I just hang out so the location is perfect. They can go in and out and I can just chill. The kitchenette is very useful also since they like to eat and can prepare what they want. My one complaint is that housekeeping did not come to clean the room until after 1pm despite putting a sign on the door requesting them. The bellhop was especially helpful. I had expected a room with kitchenette, did not realize I had reserved one without and he helped me find the right people to talk to and they switched my room for me. The pool is outdoors. You enter from inside which is nice, but when it is cold and windy it is hard to get from the pool to hot tub without freezing. You have to have valet parking which I find annoying although they are very helpful and bring the car within a couple minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you do plan to cook yourself, bring groceries from home if you are driving. All utensils, dinnerware, etc that you would need are provided.

Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Worcester,Massachusetts
May 2, 2010

Very Nice

Minor problem with fire place! Service and maintenance quickly address the issue. Room change without a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Apr 5, 2011

It's the little things...

The Stowe Mountain Lodge has quite a few things going for it. Mostly location, location, location. On mountain lodging can't be beat. The lobby and pool and all are terrific and the proximity and ease to the slopes is terrific. We found the experience great on all the big stuff... room, view, valet service (both car and skis)... but felt they missed out on the little stuff...We had confusion over the type of room we were booking due to a breakdown in communication between [...]and the Lodge somewhere. (We wanted the mini kitchenette, but in order to get 2 queens, lost that -- much to our surprise. We had brought lots of food for breakfast and lunch). Anyhow, they did send us up a coffee maker (but forgot the filters, as did we until the next morning). Other little things they missed... housekeeping service, I guess, is by request (but they don't tell you that), and there seemed to be competing teams of housekeeping service -- we got some to give us extra towels as we were (3) and the next team came and took our towels away! They advertise s'mores and hot cocoa everyday from 2-4, but we never saw it! OK, so it's late in the season and maybe they are not doing it -- but don't advertise in on your electronic signs! Information was a little difficult to come by. Due perhaps to their green pledge not to print anything out... but better communication is something worth a printed sheet. After 2 days we knew our way around and had figured out most of the protocol, etc. ... but then it was time to leave. : ( We found the food and service at Hourglass to be terrific! We ate there twice. There's not a lot of extracurricular things to do at the lodge so bring your cards or backgammon, etc. It would be fun next time to sit in the lobby lounge and play scrabble or what not with a hot chocolate.I would go again, but be dogged about knowing exactly what type room I was getting. I'm not extremely fussy and could roll with it...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve On the Go
Boston, Mass.
Oct 1, 2013

A resplendent getaway

The Stowe Mountain Lodge provides a soothing retreat from the hurly-burly of daily life. The setting is resplendent, nestled among maples and the other majestic trees of Vermont. The amenities, such as the gym and the pool, are top flight. It is pricey, nearly $700 for two nights. Some will find that reasonable, given the amenities and the attentiveness of the staff. Others may find it exorbitant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For a great meal, head toward Waterbury and Michael's on the Hill. It was one of the best meals I have enjoyed in a very long time.

Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Worcester,Massachusetts
May 2, 2010

Very Nice

Minor problem with fire place! Service and maintenance quickly address the issue. Room change without a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Goldens Bridge, NY
Jan 2, 2011

Great location, great facility

We have stayed there before and looked forward to returning. You can't beat it for convenience and amenities. The rooms are confortable and well appointed, staff is friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore
Mar 4, 2011

Stowe Mountain Lodge

The town of Stowe was awesome...great restaurants...great locally brewed beer and Vermont cheese. May or may not stay at Stowe Mountain Lodge again...rooms were okay-couldn't accommadate my request for a king bed, rental skis were misplaced by ski valet which just wasted more of our time on the slopes. Had no idea there was a charge for parking till we left...there's no option to 'self-park', there's only valet which can be a very long wait. The spa service prices are crazy expensive. The outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi were very neat! The ski instructors were fantastic. The food at the hotel, although a bit expensive, was consistently very good. The staff at the hotel are very customer service oriented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Harrison's restaurant...a hidden gem-GREAT food! And Piecasso for pizza and great 'pub grub'.

Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Feb 21, 2011

Very nice. Friendly staff. Nice locati

It is a wonderful resort. However gets very crowded during a long weekend so be prepared. The ski instructors are great and the ski school is run very efficiently! My girls loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore
Mar 4, 2011

Stowe Mountain Lodge

The town of Stowe was awesome...great restaurants...great locally brewed beer and Vermont cheese. May or may not stay at Stowe Mountain Lodge again...rooms were okay-couldn't accommadate my request for a king bed, rental skis were misplaced by ski valet which just wasted more of our time on the slopes. Had no idea there was a charge for parking till we left...there's no option to 'self-park', there's only valet which can be a very long wait. The spa service prices are crazy expensive. The outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi were very neat! The ski instructors were fantastic. The food at the hotel, although a bit expensive, was consistently very good. The staff at the hotel are very customer service oriented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Harrison's restaurant...a hidden gem-GREAT food! And Piecasso for pizza and great 'pub grub'.

Back to menu Return to top