$158 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Green Mountain Inn

3 stars
18 Main St, P.O. Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
50 reviews
Great stay once again!

Beautiful spot in the center of town. Recommend highly See full review

  • cowmurph2
  • Jul 21, 2014
Anniversary weekend getaway!

We got a luxury suite, the amenities were awesome. Very comfortable king-size bed, jacuzzi next to... See full review

  • Girl trip 2014
  • Jun 3, 2014
Welcoming guests to Stowe since 1833, the beautifully restored Green Mountain Inn offers the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic elegance in 104 unique guest rooms, luxury suites and village townhouses. Guests enjoy many on-site amenities, such as two acclaimed restaurants, specialty shops, a year-round heated outdoor pool, game room, complimentary afternoon tea and cookies, and use of a fully equipped health club offering a large Jacuzzi, sauna and massage services. ***Please note The Whip Bar and Grill will be closed for renovations March 30 - May 2. Breakfast will be served daily in the Main Street Dining Room during this time. Please see hotel for alternative lunch and dinner recommendations.***

Hotel Map

44.4653 -72.6872
Area served
Stowe Village, Vermont
Nearby airports
Burlington International Airport and Manchester Airport.
Area description
From the Burlington International Airport take I-89 South to Exit 10. Proceed 11 miles to Stowe Village; the Inn is located on the right. From the Manchester Airport take I-93 North to I-89 North in Concord, NH. Take Exit 10 in Vermont and proceed 11 miles to Stowe Village. The Inn will be located on the right.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Green Mountain Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Green Mountain Inn Rooms

Fireplace/Jacuzzi Room
This guest room features one four-poster queen bed with handmade quilt, fireplace, large Jacuzzi bath, plush terry robes, DVD player, refrigerator and many special touches. All accommodations are non-smoking.
Standard Room
This guest room features one four-poster queen bed with a cozy handmade quilt, private bath, telephone and many special touches. All accommodations are non-smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Whip Bar & Grill
**The Whip Bar and Grill will be closed for lunch and dinner from Nov 1-4, 2010**. Our famous Bar & Grill features hand cut steaks, creative fresh seafood specialties, vegetarian fare, homemade breads/soups and desserts and a superb selection of Vermont microbrews. With its cozy antiques, open grill, brick fireplace and patio, the Whip is one of Stowe's most popular gathering spots year-round. Will be closed for lunch April 19 - May 8, 2010, and closed for dinner April 26-29, 2010.
Main Street Dining Room
Our acclaimed restaurant offers our guests a delectable country breakfast.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Warm hospitality, attentive personal service and fine resort amenities make the Inn a popular choice for Meetings, Conferences and Retreats year-round.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Green Mountain Inn

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katie the Military Wife
Raymond, ME
Oct 18, 2010

Amazing Fifth Anniversary

This Inn is amazing! My husband and I visited the Green Mountain Inn for our 5th wedding anniversary and we booked a king-sized luxury room in the Mansfield House. We were pleased with the speed of check-in with Tyler...he was very knowledgeable and friendly. My husband had called ahead for suggestions on dining for the night and we were happy to find that we had reservations at the Blue Moon Cafe confirmed for that night. When we checked into our room, there was a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting on us from the staff and we were very pleased with the room. We loved dining at the Blue Moon Cafe and suggest it for anyone that visits Stowe. On Saturday morning, we had massages in the Inn. They were very relaxing. The only time we were disappointed in the Inn was when we came back from the massage and we hadn't had housekeeping yet. The cart was outside our room. We were oily and just wanted to shower and we couldn't. So, we left to get lunch and when we came back, housekeeping was just entering our room. We decided to go to Burlington for some shopping, and by the time we returned, they had finally finished our room. As a former innkeeper of a luxury inn, I felt that they should have coordinated the massage appointment with housekeeping so the room would be done by the end of our appointment. But that was our only real complaint! While in Stowe we also ate at The Bagel, Piecasso, Sunset Grille and Tap Room, and the Trapp Family Lodge. The Bagel and Piecasso were pretty good...nothing amazing but pretty solid. The Sunset Grille and Tap Room was horrible and over priced for dinner. We had breakfast at the Trapp Family Lodge and were disappointed that we ordered the Full Country Breakfast which included an entree and when we got to the buffet we discovered that our entrees were actually on the buffet. We felt that we were taken advantaged of and not that impressed with the food or the place to begin with. All in all, we absolutely loved the Green Mountain Inn and its central location. We wished it didn't rain all weekend, but at least the room had a jacuzzi and fireplace to enjoy! We WILL be returning as soon as we can...we never wanted to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Once again, the Blue Moon Cafe was amazing! However, I recommend getting recommendations from the staff rather than going out on your own. We should have known better!

Review of Green Mountain Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katie the Military Wife
Raymond, ME
Oct 18, 2010

Amazing Fifth Anniversary

This Inn is amazing! My husband and I visited the Green Mountain Inn for our 5th wedding anniversary and we booked a king-sized luxury room in the Mansfield House. We were pleased with the speed of check-in with Tyler...he was very knowledgeable and friendly. My husband had called ahead for suggestions on dining for the night and we were happy to find that we had reservations at the Blue Moon Cafe confirmed for that night. When we checked into our room, there was a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting on us from the staff and we were very pleased with the room. We loved dining at the Blue Moon Cafe and suggest it for anyone that visits Stowe. On Saturday morning, we had massages in the Inn. They were very relaxing. The only time we were disappointed in the Inn was when we came back from the massage and we hadn't had housekeeping yet. The cart was outside our room. We were oily and just wanted to shower and we couldn't. So, we left to get lunch and when we came back, housekeeping was just entering our room. We decided to go to Burlington for some shopping, and by the time we returned, they had finally finished our room. As a former innkeeper of a luxury inn, I felt that they should have coordinated the massage appointment with housekeeping so the room would be done by the end of our appointment. But that was our only real complaint! While in Stowe we also ate at The Bagel, Piecasso, Sunset Grille and Tap Room, and the Trapp Family Lodge. The Bagel and Piecasso were pretty good...nothing amazing but pretty solid. The Sunset Grille and Tap Room was horrible and over priced for dinner. We had breakfast at the Trapp Family Lodge and were disappointed that we ordered the Full Country Breakfast which included an entree and when we got to the buffet we discovered that our entrees were actually on the buffet. We felt that we were taken advantaged of and not that impressed with the food or the place to begin with. All in all, we absolutely loved the Green Mountain Inn and its central location. We wished it didn't rain all weekend, but at least the room had a jacuzzi and fireplace to enjoy! We WILL be returning as soon as we can...we never wanted to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Once again, the Blue Moon Cafe was amazing! However, I recommend getting recommendations from the staff rather than going out on your own. We should have known better!

Review of Green Mountain Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandy Y
Business
Vermont
Feb 12, 2014

Native Vermonter Rating

I live here in Vermont. I continue to love the Stowe area and visit often for it's varied activities in all seasons. The GMI is located in the village and close to all ammentities. Just love staying there. Comfortable with great food in the hotel restaurant. Best breakfast ever!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Green Mountain Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ski Bunny 84
Windsor, CT
Dec 29, 2013

Pre Holiday get away

Relaxing time at the Green Mountain inn perfect for a little romance before the holiday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harrisons

Review of Green Mountain Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, BC
Oct 20, 2010

Fabulous suite

We stayed in a luxury suite with a separate sitting area, the bedroom was huge with a great fireplace and two person jacuzzi tub, absolutely beautiful. Hotel located in downtown Stowe which is a tiny area. Only a few restaurants/pubs in walking distance. We were there on a Tuesday and went to the pub at the hotel, it had a hour and a half wait for a table. Only other place was across the street, it also had an hour and half wait, but there were 2 seats at the bar which we grabbed. Make reservations as soon as you arrive in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 2, 2010

Great Hotel, Perfect Location

The check-in staff was very friendly. We've stayed here before, so this wasn't our first time. We had a great room in the Mill House. This hotel is located right in the Center of downtown Stowe, so it is walkable to many restaurants and amenities. The Stowe Recreation Path is about a 1/4 walk from the hotel parking lot...definitely recommend this for a walk, run, or a bike ride. It is a 5 1/2 mile paved trail, mostly shaded that runs up Mountain Road and ends around the Topnotch resort. This hotel always impresses us. There is a decent breakfast and they serve a nice afternoon Tea with lemonade and cookies. We love this place and will certainly return. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Gracies! A favorite of mine which we always visit whenever we are in Stowe. For lunch try Pie in the Sky.

Review of Green Mountain Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Williams traveler
Duanesburg, NY
Dec 17, 2013

Amazing country getaway

The room was perfect and the food was incredible!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss breakfast with the homemade pastries!

Review of Green Mountain Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
runnergirl516
Long Island, NY
Feb 25, 2013

Excellent romantic weekend

The rooms are beautifully decorated, warm, and inviting. The staff is very friendly. The restaurant food is the best we have had in Stowe. We will stay there again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling mama 100
Rock Hall, Md
Jan 22, 2013

Long weekend

My son and I went to Stowe for a long weekend. The staff at Green Mountain is very kind and accommodating. The food at The Whip "their restaurant" was friendly and helped us by suggesting other local places to eat since it was our first time there. The only thing I didn't like was the game room. Not enough games.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Matterhorn is local hot spot for skiers to eat and drink. They have bands. Rimrock Tavern is another.

Review of Green Mountain Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IHC
Fairfield County, USA
Aug 30, 2010

Good Value for a Suite

Nice relaxing hotel, worth the extra money to stay in a suite. Mansfield House recently refurbished and was in excellent condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Malt Shop cafe does excellent retro 50's menu, 5 minutes walk, also does takeout

Back to menu Return to top