$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 19, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

Green Mountain Inn

3 stars
View map of 18 Main St, P.O. Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Green Mountain Inn

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaurenW
Business
Nashua, NH
Oct 24, 2011

Good weekend getaway...

We very much enjoyed our stay but felt that the room was a little outdated. The teeny tiny stall shower, older looking carpet and old looking bed seemed to just be a little past its peak. The service was great however, and we loved the general proximity to downtown Stowe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Howie C
Business
Howell, NJ
Feb 14, 2011

Outstanding Getaway in Stowe

One of the best situated hotels in Stowe, with all amenities and different types of accommodations. Good restaurant on premises, and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations and dine at Harrison's, located directly across the street from The Green Mountain Inn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hershey, PA
Dec 19, 2010

Incredible time

We came to Stowe early in the year to go skiing (pre x-mas). The GMI was cheapest on [...]so we booked. Upon arriving they told us we were picked for a random free upgrade, so we got a Grand room in the Mansfield House out back from the main building. King sized 4-post canopied bed, jacuzzi, fireplace, books, fridge marble bathroom and a huge room for $99 per night. Love it! I have never been in a town with more ambiance than Stowe. The mountain may lack a little for expert terrain, but the town more than makes up for it. GMI has an incredible 5-star restaurant, and the rooms are pure New England. Dave at the front desk was very helpful with everything from advice on local art dealers to AM newspapers. I will be going back, possible in summer. No better romantic weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Rusty Nail is perhaps 1 mile away, but is a hopping night club.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal
Dec 17, 2010

great location, poor service

We were looking for a relaxing getaway with time for snowshoeing on the mountainside and a bit of pre-Christmas shopping. The location was good for us, right in the village, but the service was unfriendly at best. Although the room was clean on arrival, tissues were not replaced when they ran out, coffee service was not replenished (or even cleaned) and requests for missing items were promised but not delivered until 24 hours later when we asked a second time. The luxury rooms are in a separate building and during the winter it is inconvenient to go outside to get to the sauna and jacuzzi and even to the restaurant where there was not even a coat-rack to hang up our coats. They advertise (and have) a heated outdoor pool that is open all winter, but they don't keep it hot enough to make it very likely that anyone will use it during the few hours it is open. Overall, the experience was OK, but definitely not worth the money, even at the discounted price we paid. Stowe was also a bit of a disappointment for restaurants--we tried several in a variety of price ranges and did not find any that we could really recommend (including Jamies on Main, which was recommended for breakfast on another website, but was nothing special).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Weissner Woods, part of the Stowe Land Trust, has a beautiful set of trails for easy snowshoeing. It also connects to another extensive private trail systems that visitors are welcomed to use by a sign at the sugar shack.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
waupaca wi
Oct 21, 2010

best room on new england trip!!

excellent food wonderful accomodations really had a wonderful time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

wonderful meal in hotel and accross the street at harrissons

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
Oct 20, 2010

Fabulous suite

We stayed in a luxury suite with a separate sitting area, the bedroom was huge with a great fireplace and two person jacuzzi tub, absolutely beautiful. Hotel located in downtown Stowe which is a tiny area. Only a few restaurants/pubs in walking distance. We were there on a Tuesday and went to the pub at the hotel, it had a hour and a half wait for a table. Only other place was across the street, it also had an hour and half wait, but there were 2 seats at the bar which we grabbed. Make reservations as soon as you arrive in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katie the Military Wife
Business
Raymond, ME
Oct 18, 2010

Amazing Fifth Anniversary

This Inn is amazing! My husband and I visited the Green Mountain Inn for our 5th wedding anniversary and we booked a king-sized luxury room in the Mansfield House. We were pleased with the speed of check-in with Tyler...he was very knowledgeable and friendly. My husband had called ahead for suggestions on dining for the night and we were happy to find that we had reservations at the Blue Moon Cafe confirmed for that night. When we checked into our room, there was a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting on us from the staff and we were very pleased with the room. We loved dining at the Blue Moon Cafe and suggest it for anyone that visits Stowe. On Saturday morning, we had massages in the Inn. They were very relaxing. The only time we were disappointed in the Inn was when we came back from the massage and we hadn't had housekeeping yet. The cart was outside our room. We were oily and just wanted to shower and we couldn't. So, we left to get lunch and when we came back, housekeeping was just entering our room. We decided to go to Burlington for some shopping, and by the time we returned, they had finally finished our room. As a former innkeeper of a luxury inn, I felt that they should have coordinated the massage appointment with housekeeping so the room would be done by the end of our appointment. But that was our only real complaint! While in Stowe we also ate at The Bagel, Piecasso, Sunset Grille and Tap Room, and the Trapp Family Lodge. The Bagel and Piecasso were pretty good...nothing amazing but pretty solid. The Sunset Grille and Tap Room was horrible and over priced for dinner. We had breakfast at the Trapp Family Lodge and were disappointed that we ordered the Full Country Breakfast which included an entree and when we got to the buffet we discovered that our entrees were actually on the buffet. We felt that we were taken advantaged of and not that impressed with the food or the place to begin with. All in all, we absolutely loved the Green Mountain Inn and its central location. We wished it didn't rain all weekend, but at least the room had a jacuzzi and fireplace to enjoy! We WILL be returning as soon as we can...we never wanted to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Once again, the Blue Moon Cafe was amazing! However, I recommend getting recommendations from the staff rather than going out on your own. We should have known better!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IHC
Business
Fairfield County, USA
Aug 30, 2010

Good Value for a Suite

Nice relaxing hotel, worth the extra money to stay in a suite. Mansfield House recently refurbished and was in excellent condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Malt Shop cafe does excellent retro 50's menu, 5 minutes walk, also does takeout

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 2, 2010

Great Hotel, Perfect Location

The check-in staff was very friendly. We've stayed here before, so this wasn't our first time. We had a great room in the Mill House. This hotel is located right in the Center of downtown Stowe, so it is walkable to many restaurants and amenities. The Stowe Recreation Path is about a 1/4 walk from the hotel parking lot...definitely recommend this for a walk, run, or a bike ride. It is a 5 1/2 mile paved trail, mostly shaded that runs up Mountain Road and ends around the Topnotch resort. This hotel always impresses us. There is a decent breakfast and they serve a nice afternoon Tea with lemonade and cookies. We love this place and will certainly return. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Gracies! A favorite of mine which we always visit whenever we are in Stowe. For lunch try Pie in the Sky.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern NJ
Jul 19, 2010

Green Mountain Inn

Beautiful spacious room in a hotel in the center of Stowe. Great for a getaway weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top