$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Rodeway Inn Rutland

1 star
138 North Main Street, Rutland, VT 05701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
27 reviews
great for an overnight or two

It was exactly what my family & I needed for an overnight stay. Location is fantastic See full review

  • casey wedding
  • Sep 26, 2012
Average, Ordinary

This is a perfectly acceptable hotel for the price. Nothing special. Breakfast is drab. See full review

  • JolovesYoga
  • Apr 21, 2014
Central Vermont location, walking distance to restaurants, shopping, downtown Rutland, and within minutes of Vermont's major ski area Killington, Pico and Okemo. Pet Accommodations: 10.00/per night - 1 pet per room.

Hotel Map

43.618 -72.9736
Nearby airports
Rutland Arpt, (RUT), 6.00, MI, S; Albany International Airport, (ALB), 96.00, MI, W; Burlington Int'l. Arpt., (BTV), 69.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, US 4 & 7

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rodeway Inn Rutland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Meal plan - continental
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Rutland

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Rutland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dusty Snowboarder
Business
New york
Dec 30, 2013

Will never come back

This was the worst hotel I've ever staid at. I didn't get the room I booked I got a smaller one I had to pay extra each night for a bigger room , me and 3 other guys had to share a king size mattress because that was the biggest we could get one of us had to sleep on the floor each night the floor was dirty and smelled like dirty feet . The continental breakfast was a joke it was just a small table with coffee that's it . We got asked for drugs while in the Parking lot by other tenants . Don't go here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Rutland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CB not happy
Business
Vermont
Mar 19, 2014

Don't bother!

Room was very small. Outdated. TV, fridge, microwave, and clock were all plugged into a power strip. Alarm clock did not work. A friend checked in at the same time. They did not have her reservation and could not find the confirmation #. No cot, rollaway... so she could stay in our room. She got a room w/ 4 beds for a decent price since she was alone. I could not cancel my room to bunk in w/ her. The desk person was not at all helpful. Her door key card did not work. Instead of resetting it the desk person spent several minutes messing with it then reset it at the door. Her curtains were half off the rods, the room smelled musty and she did not get much sleep because the heater came on every few minutes all night. Continental breakfast was coffee, juice and store bought boxed pastries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Rutland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brandon128i
Business
Massachusetts
Feb 13, 2012

Stay at your own risk

When we arrived at the hotel we were expecting a low rate small room. When we opened the door an odor filled the entire room which smelled of dog urine and ethnic food. The carpets were stained with an unidentifiable substance and looked filthy. The sheets on the bed looked clean but had some stains. The fleece blanket had stains and the comforter well I didn't even touch it. The tub was dirty and had soap scum all over it. The shower curtain was dirty and the tile was moldy and covered in mildew. My girlfriend actually cried because she did not want to stay the night in fear of catching aids or some other disease. We have stayed in other cheap hotels but none we felt we couldn't stay the night. If you don't care about your room being clean and need a cheap place then this is the spot for you. As for us, we won't ever stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Three tomatoes- very good dinner. Vermont sugar and spice- a must for breakfast. If you go you have to get the sugar and spice pancakes. This place is a must if you are in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Rutland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vacationer12345
Business
Mid-Atlantic
Jul 24, 2012

sheets were disgusting

The sheets had several obvious stains (including some apparently of bodily fluids). Disgusting. Refused a refund and left anyway to stay at a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Rutland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
militarydude04
Business
jacksonville NC
Oct 28, 2012

3 star?

No heat in room, space heater was given to me..still didn't work. Nothing was 3 star, from stained sheets, to outdated rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Rutland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NH Critic
Business
Ossipee NH
Sep 16, 2013

weekend getaway

Check in was quick and efficient. Room was so-so. Carpet was soiled and torn. bed was uncomfortable. Lack of outlets to charge electronics. The bathroom was clean but shower faucets worked poorly and were dangerous. The toilet and vanity were too close together making use of the toilet awkward and uncomfortable. A broken down lawnmower affected parking access. Not a place I would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Denney's food and service wer outstanding. Countryman's Kitchen has fantastic german food. A must try

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Rutland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mahwah, nj
Jul 20, 2009

Smelly, stay somewhere else

I have stayed at other Travelodges before and as a brand I have not been disappointed until now. The woman at the desk asked me my name and then never said another word to me. I had to practically beg for information about breakfast and check-out. That was only the beginning. When I got to the room the awful smell was unbearable. It was a non smoking room but smelled of stale smoke, mold, ethnic food and unsuccessful attempts to cover up the smell. This smell was engrained in the comforter on the bed and my clothes smelled like it when after I checked out. The shower looked like if i touched it, it would fall apart. Fortunately it did not. And the cups and ice bucket had mold on them. I was scared to sleep there and take a shower there but I had no choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Rutland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC, NY
Aug 15, 2010

Not What I Expected

I figured this would be just a crash pad, so I wasn't too concerned with the negative reviews online. Also, most hotels in Rutland, VT got similar reviews, so I just went for the least expensive at the time of my reservation. The motel was in a great location, but the problems were bugs and cleanliness. The bathroom was incredibly moldy. I know it's expensive and hard to be a family-run motel, but please invest in a clorox bleach pen. The grout in the bathroom was really bad, as was the shower curtain. There were also more bugs in the room than I was comfortable with. I'm not squeamish--I live in NYC, so I have had major bugs in some of my homes--but there were small flying bugs in the room (possibly because I had the door open for a bit--I can't blame this one on the hotel staff). But, on my second night, I was sitting on the bed watching TV and there was a small beetle-like bug on my foot. I tried to pinch it off, but it dropped onto the bedspread. It was moving quickly, so I had trouble catching it. Eventually, it crawled into the bedspread via one of the holes in the quilting, and came out in another area a few seconds later! EWWWW. I finally caught it, and it definitely wasn't a bed bug, but it really grossed me out, especially since it seemed to know to crawl into the fabric. The third thing that I noticed was the sheets and towels had yellowish stains on them. I'm sure they were clean, but no matter how low-brow your motel is, it's not nice to see someone else's leftover stains on your accomodations. The owner of the hotel was very nice, so I don't want to harm his business, but I do think a small investment in a deep clean of all the rooms would pay off, including washing the bedspreads and blankets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Rutland has a beautiful and historic downtown that I happened upon by accident. Just follow the signs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Rutland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ashtabula Oh
Apr 26, 2011

Rodeway Inn Rutland

I was looking for inexpensive and at $42 a night it looked good. Room and bathroom are very small. My nonsmoking room smelled like it had been a smoking room and they tried to clean it. Not a place for a child

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Rutland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
married woman
Business
atlanta, ga
Apr 7, 2011

the worst hotel ever

The hotel was not what was advertised on your site they were rude for one. There was alot of drug activity going on all night long we got knocks on the door asking did we want any drugs. it kept us up all night with the cars pulling in and out the hotel slamming doors screaming all hours of the nite. When we got into the room it was freezing the heat didnt work it took until the next day for it to finally get to 75degrees and it still wasnt right we had to get a space heater to heat us up. then the room and tub was very old they need to renovate the tub had a permanent ring around it and when we complained about it they told us "well what do you expect its vermont". i beg you please remove them from your site they are a bad representation of your recomendations of hotels and it may cause customers to not visit [...]for there travel needs because i know it will be a while before i will return to your site

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top