$62 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Colonial Motel

3 stars
View map of 889 Putney Road, Brattleboro, VT 05301

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
48 reviews
Clean, comfortable motel

A comfortable and clean motel with attentive staff. See full review

  • Jacob S.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Pretty cozy

Went there for Tough Mudder weekend. Cozy motel. Not a bad price. Good service. See full review

  • Kush29
  • Jun 10, 2015
When you visit Brattleboro, Vermont whether for business or pleasure, be sure to stay at the hotel. Enjoy being pampered and treated like family when you spend your time here. The hotel is a local family owned hotel with a commitment to healthy living in the community and the beautiful state of VT. The location is convenient yet quiet. The hotel is on a lush 7 acres of lawn and trees in a peaceful setting away from the highway. The hotel is unique to other hotels in Vermont and the Brattleboro area. The hotel will take care of all your needs from comfortable rooms, delicious dining to a spa that will melt your worries away. You'll only need to leave the hotel to explore the stunning view Vermont has to offer. When compared to other hotels, you can't beat the hospitality and quiet familial atmosphere. Please note: We will be renovating our restaurant. As of June 13, 2015 the restaurant will be closed until renovations are complete.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colonial Motel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$109
4.1 / 5 19 reviews
★★★
$108
3.7 / 5 33 reviews
★★
$57
3.0 / 5 33 reviews
★★
$68
2.5 / 5 20 reviews
★★★
$99
2.7 / 5 11 reviews
★★
$59
2.8 / 5 32 reviews
★★
$76
3.6 / 5 32 reviews
★★★
$111
3.4 / 5 14 reviews

Colonial Motel Rooms

Colonial Queen Room
Colonial Queen offers two queen beds with basic amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

The Tavern Restaurant
While you're staying with the hotel during your visit to Brattleboro, Vermont, sit down and enjoy a delicious meal in The Tavern Restaurant. The on-site restaurant allows for a fun night out without the inconvenience of driving to get there. After a long day in meetings, out on the town or hitting the slopes visit the Tavern Restaurant to refuel. If you're craving sweet desserts or just want to unwind at the bar, The Tavern Restaurant is the perfect place to grab a bite and a drink. The hotel has one of the best draught beer and wine selections in the area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Colonial Motel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colonial Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Highway Chau
Single
Cold Spring
Jul 11, 2015

Convenient with indoor pool and sauna

A bizarre mix... yay- breakfast included, nice staff, indoor pool, sauna. Nay- hair in the tub(which they cleaned willingly) Tavern just closed recently, leaving no restaurant on premises,,, hot tub not working, and a few shifty characters around the hotel(tenants?).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Colonial Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kush29
Friends
Montreal
Jun 10, 2015

Pretty cozy

Went there for Tough Mudder weekend. Cozy motel. Not a bad price. Good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Colonial Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vincent c.
Business
N/A
Apr 22, 2015

Business travel

The motel was adequate but the bed could have been more comfortable. I travel regularly and it was my first time staying at the Colonial. If the mattress was more comfortable, I would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colonial Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KathyD
Single
N/A
Mar 3, 2015

Hot.....too Hot

Front desk was friendly, informative and helpful. Room was spacious, bathroom was adequate. Temperature when we arrived was cold so we turned on the heater, which warmed things up quite quickly. We turned the fan to low and the temperature down repeatedly, until we finally turned it off. Throughout the night, I woke to turn it on...too hot, and off, too cold, so No one slept well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Colonial Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jacob S.
Couples
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Clean, comfortable motel

A comfortable and clean motel with attentive staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Colonial Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ATC Traveler
Family
Waco Texas
Oct 18, 2014

hoteling lacking

This is an old hotel that has been partially updated. Carpets appeared to be from the 90s and the bathroom updates still had price tags on them. The door to our rooms did not close fully and the locks did not work easily. Staff was efficient but not friendly. They advertised hot breakfast but there was only cereal and muffins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Colonial Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dave1213
Couples
New York, NY
Sep 15, 2014

Not bad for the price

Room smelled musty. Old 21 inch TV. Bed was comfortable and there was a small fridge in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Colonial Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mirage12
Family
New Jersey
Sep 9, 2014

Good Times in VT. and Close to NH

We traveled, (my 94 and 88 year old parents and myself) from NJ up to VT and were looking to stay near Keene NH. The rooms felt very homey and it was like going into a familiar place. They had nice size rooms with a small refrigerator, a microwave and a coffee pot all in the rooms. It was a comfortable bed, a wonderful nights sleep. For those who dislike AC, because the run off and on during the night -Here they did not!! I would recommend this to all my family and friends. Next year when I come back up through that is where I will stay. Very close to Brattleboro, VT. center and only 12 miles from Keene NH. Perfect for parents visiting their children at college because you are out of the hustle and bustle of Keene, but close enough to the campus. Wonderful visit and the staff were all very pleasant.....!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many places to chose from in the area with an array of price ranges. The Steak Out is close by if that is your mood. We arrived on a Sunday and the Tavern that is attached to the inn is closed on Sunday and Monday bu the menu looked very good. The marina is a seafood restaurant not far from the hotel that is excellent. So what ever you are in the mood for it is there without having to drive an hour. We did eat at, The Stage, in Downtown Keene and as we had only been there once prior it was still delicious!!

Review of Colonial Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Presba
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 29, 2014

Drive on bye.

In old building, filthy carpet hotel under renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colonial Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MassageMom
Family
Lancaster, PA
Aug 27, 2014

Welcome to college in beautiful Vermont!

I booked our stay at the Colonial Motel based on many positive Internet reviews, and I was absolutely delighted with the genuine friendliness of the staff, the comfort and cleanliness of our room, the beautiful 75 ft. salt water pool, and the close proximity to the town of Brattleboro and to my son's college, Marlboro. The motel is indeed under renovation, but our room with 2 queen beds was modern, clean and well-equipped with hair dryer, iron and ironing board, fridge and coffeemaker. The beds were great and the linens were nice. The pool is next to undergo renovation, so if you like to do laps as I did, check to see when it will reopen-it closed on the Saturday night of our stay. Great outdoor hot tub, too; my son and his girlfriend enjoyed it while I swam. There is a nice selection of muffins, cereals, coffee, etc. for the included b-fast. Our must-see recommendations for Brattleboro are the vintage/second hand shops, the raw/vegan restaurant. the Brattleboro Clayworks, and the old movie theatre--charming! Totally cool that they had nutritional yeast in a shaker for the popcorn-so very Vermont earthy crunchy. This motel will be my go-to spot for future trips to visit my son.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top