$56 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Colonial Motel

3 stars
889 Putney Road, Brattleboro, VT 05301
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
43 reviews
Good Times in VT. and Close to NH

We traveled, (my 94 and 88 year old parents and myself) from NJ up to VT and were looking to stay... See full review

  • Mirage12
  • Sep 9, 2014
Welcome to college in beautiful Vermont!

I booked our stay at the Colonial Motel based on many positive Internet reviews, and I was... See full review

  • MassageMom
  • Aug 27, 2014
When you visit Brattleboro, Vermont whether for business or pleasure, be sure to stay at the hotel. Enjoy being pampered and treated like family when you spend your time here. The hotel is a local family owned hotel with a commitment to healthy living in the community and the beautiful state of VT. The location is convenient yet quiet. The hotel is on a lush 7 acres of lawn and trees in a peaceful setting away from the highway. The hotel is unique to other hotels in Vermont and the Brattleboro area. The hotel will take care of all your needs from comfortable rooms, delicious dining to a spa that will melt your worries away. You'll only need to leave the hotel to explore the stunning view Vermont has to offer. When compared to other hotels, you can't beat the hospitality and quiet familial atmosphere. Please note: We have renovations going on so some of the facilities will not be open from 08/24/2014 to 09/07/2014. Facilities that will be closed are Indoor Pool, Sauna,Steam room, hot tub and gym.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colonial Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Colonial Motel Rooms

Colonial Queen Room
Colonial Queen offers two queen beds with basic amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

The Tavern Restaurant
While you're staying with the hotel during your visit to Brattleboro, Vermont, sit down and enjoy a delicious meal in The Tavern Restaurant. The on-site restaurant allows for a fun night out without the inconvenience of driving to get there. After a long day in meetings, out on the town or hitting the slopes visit the Tavern Restaurant to refuel. If you're craving sweet desserts or just want to unwind at the bar, The Tavern Restaurant is the perfect place to grab a bite and a drink. The hotel has one of the best draught beer and wine selections in the area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Colonial Motel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colonial Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ATC Traveler
Business
Waco Texas
Oct 18, 2014

hoteling lacking

This is an old hotel that has been partially updated. Carpets appeared to be from the 90s and the bathroom updates still had price tags on them. The door to our rooms did not close fully and the locks did not work easily. Staff was efficient but not friendly. They advertised hot breakfast but there was only cereal and muffins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colonial Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dave1213
Business
New York, NY
Sep 15, 2014

Not bad for the price

Room smelled musty. Old 21 inch TV. Bed was comfortable and there was a small fridge in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colonial Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mirage12
Business
New Jersey
Sep 9, 2014

Good Times in VT. and Close to NH

We traveled, (my 94 and 88 year old parents and myself) from NJ up to VT and were looking to stay near Keene NH. The rooms felt very homey and it was like going into a familiar place. They had nice size rooms with a small refrigerator, a microwave and a coffee pot all in the rooms. It was a comfortable bed, a wonderful nights sleep. For those who dislike AC, because the run off and on during the night -Here they did not!! I would recommend this to all my family and friends. Next year when I come back up through that is where I will stay. Very close to Brattleboro, VT. center and only 12 miles from Keene NH. Perfect for parents visiting their children at college because you are out of the hustle and bustle of Keene, but close enough to the campus. Wonderful visit and the staff were all very pleasant.....!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many places to chose from in the area with an array of price ranges. The Steak Out is close by if that is your mood. We arrived on a Sunday and the Tavern that is attached to the inn is closed on Sunday and Monday bu the menu looked very good. The marina is a seafood restaurant not far from the hotel that is excellent. So what ever you are in the mood for it is there without having to drive an hour. We did eat at, The Stage, in Downtown Keene and as we had only been there once prior it was still delicious!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colonial Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Presba
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 29, 2014

Drive on bye.

In old building, filthy carpet hotel under renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colonial Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MassageMom
Business
Lancaster, PA
Aug 27, 2014

Welcome to college in beautiful Vermont!

I booked our stay at the Colonial Motel based on many positive Internet reviews, and I was absolutely delighted with the genuine friendliness of the staff, the comfort and cleanliness of our room, the beautiful 75 ft. salt water pool, and the close proximity to the town of Brattleboro and to my son's college, Marlboro. The motel is indeed under renovation, but our room with 2 queen beds was modern, clean and well-equipped with hair dryer, iron and ironing board, fridge and coffeemaker. The beds were great and the linens were nice. The pool is next to undergo renovation, so if you like to do laps as I did, check to see when it will reopen-it closed on the Saturday night of our stay. Great outdoor hot tub, too; my son and his girlfriend enjoyed it while I swam. There is a nice selection of muffins, cereals, coffee, etc. for the included b-fast. Our must-see recommendations for Brattleboro are the vintage/second hand shops, the raw/vegan restaurant. the Brattleboro Clayworks, and the old movie theatre--charming! Totally cool that they had nutritional yeast in a shaker for the popcorn-so very Vermont earthy crunchy. This motel will be my go-to spot for future trips to visit my son.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colonial Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sharon1123
Business
Windsor, VT
Aug 11, 2014

Staycation weekend

We spent the weekend at this Motel while attending a road race in the vicinity. It was perfectly located - easy access to the highway and to points of interest in Brattleboro. The room was clean, the beds very comfortable, and the staff were friendly. The bar and restaurant were filled to capacity on Friday night - however, both were closed on Saturday night when we would have liked a nightcap! I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Enjoy craft beer and good food on the deck of the Whetstone Brewery overlooking the Connecticut river. The Marina Restaurant is another great choice for quality dining. Sit on the deck with your drink in hand and enjoy the view at the confluence of the Connecticut and West Rivers. Kayakers paddle their way past the sea monster and boatload of cows anchored in the inlet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colonial Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jk0218
Business
New York, NY
Jul 16, 2014

old

need to be updated. when we entered the room, there was old smell so we had to open the door for a while with AC on. small/old tv was a little difficult to watch. but staff was friendly and the free muffin/coffee in the morning was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colonial Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jmonay
Business
New York
Jul 5, 2014

Wouldn't go again

Refrigerator and air condition broken Bed was hard as a rock spiders in shower Spacious queen bedroom with couch

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colonial Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blue from Santa Cruz
Business
Santa Cruz Cali
Jun 29, 2014

Basic but dated

The staff at the hotel were very nice, but the room felt damp and was dated. It was fine for a motel but nothing fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colonial Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
greyhounder
Business
Blacksburg, VA
Jun 28, 2014

Good motel

Room was clean, staff was nice. A bit far from downtown but I took a taxi and it wasn't very expensive. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top