The Vermonter Motor Lodge ★★

2.8 /5
Overall score
67%
Would recommend
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.1
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

Flower strewn grounds set against a backdrop of Vermont's lush Green Mountains welcome you to our special part of the world, where natural beauty and gracious hospitality play equal parts in making your visit relaxing and enjoyable. Set against a backdrop of Vermont's lush Green Mountains, The Vermonter Motor Lodge, just two miles outside of historic Old Bennington, offers the tradition of another era. Whether it's the fragile, rustic art of Grandma Moses, the spirit of the Battle of Bennington or the beliefs of the Old First Church, we are a unique blend of old New England and today's comfort.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.3 / 5
$129
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$100
Guest score 3.6 / 5
$59
Guest score 3.0 / 5
$39
Guest score 3.8 / 5
$99
Guest score 3.7 / 5
$215

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi
  • Free parking

General

  • Pet friendly

Dining

  • Restaurant

Services

  • Business center

Internet

  • WiFi

Parking

  • Free parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Reviews

2.8 /5 Overall score

67% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 2.4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3.5/5
  • Hotel staff: 3.2/5
  • Comfort: 3.3/5
  • Location: 3.7/5
  • Value: 3.1/5

You get what you pay for.

Would recommend Mon, May 2, 2011
The room was pretty much what I expected for the price. It was fairly clean, the beds were comfortable, mini fridge and microwave worked. I was only there to sleep so it was fine. Minor complaints: TV didn't work and the faucet leaked constantly.

Attractions

Bennington Stage Race was awesome!

| NY Singles

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Poor customer service

Would not recommend Wed, Oct 20, 2010
This place was too far out of town for business travelers. The rooms were very old and need updating. Mold on the shower tiles. Poor lighting in the parking lot. I left my State by State map book in the room and called to see if they could just give me a hotel confirmation number on a paper I left in the book in the room. Said they would call me back - still waiting. I didn't even want the book back. Thanks for nothing

| akron ohio Business

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Mixed Opinion

Would recommend Mon, Oct 11, 2010
The Hotel has two types of rooms. One is cottage and the other is standard. Cottage rooms are filthy with a 1940's TV and no proper heating system but the standard rooms have very good view, they are very clean, good heat, good bath, overall I would recommend you to call them and ask them for the pond side rooms (which are the standard rooms). The Staff is very good and helpful.

| New York, NY Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

The Vermonter

Would recommend Thu, Aug 19, 2010
The Lodge was a pit stop on our way to the vacation home. It was clean but the the futon could have been more comfortable. The air conditioner wasn't working real well but it did okay to help with the humidity. The pond was beautiful but couldn't go near it because there was so much goose poop we couldn't avoid walking in it so we didn't. The staff was friendly. The view was awesome! Sunset there was majestic!

| PA Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Nice room great rates

Would recommend Tue, Aug 17, 2010
We enjoyed our stay at the Vermonter. The room was spacious and very clean. Great scenic views of the mountains. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Great rates too

| Massachusetts Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

great value nice stay

Would recommend Mon, Jun 14, 2010
It was quiet and clean, close to where I needed to be at a great price. Perfect waypoint to and from the Adirondacks

| Waterbury, CT Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

very good value

Would recommend Sun, Jun 6, 2010
friendly family run place, very reasonable and close to where I needed to go

Shopping hint

Walmart and Price Chopper along with numerous restaurants and fast food chains all about 10 minutes drive away

| Waterbury, CT Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Very poor accommodations

Would not recommend Sun, Oct 18, 2009
Hotel keeper spoke VERY limited english. The cabin is in desperate need of modernization. Very cold--heat did not work. We did not even take showers due to the cold and the dirty appearance of the shower stall. The price was EXTREMELY HIGH for the accommodations. The only reason we stayed was that everything else in the area was booked due to the Columbus Day holiday.

| Boston, MA Family

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

nice but not lovely

Would not recommend Sun, Oct 11, 2009
Leaf peeping in Vermont, you can't ask for more beautiful scenery. I booked the Vermonter Moter Lodge a few weeks before leaving on vacation. The add online looks great, very descriptive and lovely photos. However, when we arrived at the motel, it looked somewhat like their photos online except the coulors were dull and dirty and looked worn from the outside. The office is very small and also happens to be where everyone is supposed to come for the continental breakfast (there was one table with two chairs, and some counter space)Going into our room, we were surprised - it was nice and clean. We took the suggestion of a place for dinner from the gentleman behind the desk, left and ate dinner. To out surprise the temprature drop drastically that evening and we discovered we had no heat in our room. I called once to ask if we were using the thermostate correctly. Then called back 1/2 hour later still getting no heat. The clerk wound up bringing us a space heater with frayed wires. I do not understand how they can keep the rooms nice and neat but not know the heater isn't working. And how is it okay to put two women in a room (my mother and myself) that does not have drapery over the two glass doors in the room, or in the bathroom, like all the other rooms had that we could see. We made our reservations a few weeks ago and got a room that overlooked the street and the back of a building, missing draperies and no heat - while people without reservations were walking up and getting the same type of room with a great view overlooking a little pond and the beautiful hills of Vermont. We feel taken advantage of - I wouldn't stay there again.

| Seattle, wa Family

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

good value

Would recommend Sun, Jul 26, 2009
Accommodating and friendly staff. Helped with upgrade to more desirable room. Clean, airy, with fridge, microwave, hairdryer, TV, coffee maker. Beautiful view, very quiet. Have stayed at this motel in the past and definitely would stay again. Good value.

| Bryn Mawr, PA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz