$130 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel and Suites

3 stars
105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
92 reviews
Perfect!!!!

This hotel is great! Staff were very helpful, breakfast was wonderful, room was clean, and hotel... See full review

  • Kennethrhonda
  • Jun 30, 2014
BEST PLACE T STAY IN WILLIAMSBURGH

The tone is set at the check in..the staff is efficient, polite, knowledgeable and... See full review

  • MARK FROM LI
  • Aug 11, 2013
Colonial Williamsburg hotel with easy access to historical sites
The location of the Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel & Suites could not be more convenient for Virginia history buffs. The hotel is right next to the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor Center. Guests can walk to the picturesque town along the nature trail or take a shuttle. At Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel & Suites, guests enjoy the free breakfast buffet and family-friendly activities such as swimming and shuffleboard.
Highlights
  • Official Colonial Williamsburg hotel next to the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor Center
  • Free continental breakfast buffet
  • Family-friendly leisure options, including bike rentals, shuffleboard and mini golf
  • Shuttle or walk to the historic area
  • Virginia Green Lodging member

Rooms

Standard rooms and suites at the Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel & Suites embrace traditional accents. Standard rooms with double beds display toile patterns on the walls and subtle plaid bedding. Here, guests can attend to work projects at a desk or take a cat nap in the lounger, which converts to a single bed.  Suites bear welcome extras such as a small refrigerator, microwave, sink and coffeemaker plus a separate master bedroom with a king-size bed and second TV. Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel & Suites is a Virginia Green Lodging member and pledges to change linens upon request, conserve water and energy and follow a recycling program.

Features

The hotel's address next to the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor Center means that guests at the Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel & Suites can easily tour the town. For a break from history, there's swimming in the outdoor pool or playing a round of mini golf, shuffleboard or table tennis. Bike rentals are available, too. Every day starts with the breakfast buffet, which is including in the room rate.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (37.9 mi/61 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Williamsburg (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Water Country USA  (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
  • Busch Gardens (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Williamsburg Pottery (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
Business
  • 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space

Hotel Map

37.2799 -76.6999
Nearby airports
Byrd Field/Richmond Intl Airport, (RIC), 45.00, MI, E; Newport News Williamsburg Intl Airport, (PHF), 20.00, MI, W; Norfolk Intl Airport, (ORF), 45.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel and Suites Rooms

Standard
Standard 2 Double Beds-Guestrooms feature two double beds and a sleep chair. Room has seating area with table and chairs. Amenities include complimentary high-speed internet access. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board and laundry valet service.
Standard
Description not provided
Suite
Suite 1 King Bed-The Suite features a king bed and a sitting room w/ queen sleep sofa. overstuffed chairs and TV. Also features coffeemaker. Small refrigerator. Microwave. Comp high-speed internet. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board and laundry valet service.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Laundry/Valet services
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Huzzahs
Hours of operation vary by season-Contact hotel for details. In colonial times Huzzah was a shout of hooray Bring the family and enjoy the casual eatery. This colonial WIlliamsburg restaurant will have guests cheering.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 22, 2010

Don't Bother

Don't bother staying here. Although the location was great-only a short walk from Colonial Williamsburg Visitor Center, the hotel is very poorly managed. Apparently they cater to large teen school groups over whom the hotel has absolutely no control. The pool was crowded with ill behaved teens without chaperones, and we could not enjoy even a short swim with my 8 and 11 year old granddaughters. We complained to the manager but nothing was done. The breakfast was very poor and, again, the breakfast area was crowded with rowdy teens without any supervision. The teens were noisey in the hallways which they often blocked for other patrons. When we tried to leave, we found our car blocked by an illegally parked car - again, the manager could do nothing about it, and we had to manuver and back up all the way out of the parking lot. The hotel was OK in and of itself, but unless they change management or policy, I would definitely never stay here again; and I could not recommend it to anyone with small children or without children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 22, 2010

Don't Bother

Don't bother staying here. Although the location was great-only a short walk from Colonial Williamsburg Visitor Center, the hotel is very poorly managed. Apparently they cater to large teen school groups over whom the hotel has absolutely no control. The pool was crowded with ill behaved teens without chaperones, and we could not enjoy even a short swim with my 8 and 11 year old granddaughters. We complained to the manager but nothing was done. The breakfast was very poor and, again, the breakfast area was crowded with rowdy teens without any supervision. The teens were noisey in the hallways which they often blocked for other patrons. When we tried to leave, we found our car blocked by an illegally parked car - again, the manager could do nothing about it, and we had to manuver and back up all the way out of the parking lot. The hotel was OK in and of itself, but unless they change management or policy, I would definitely never stay here again; and I could not recommend it to anyone with small children or without children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
vincent873[@]
lexington, Ohio
Jul 15, 2012

Not For A Family Of Five

Let me first clarify - NOT terrible, and had a lot of pluses, such as kid's activities. But - there were a handful of things that would preclude us from going back there. We are a typical family of 5. Kids 14/12/10. 1. When we vacation, I always go for a suite. I'd rather pay the extra and enjoy my vacation. My idea of a suite is extra room, two beds with sofa/bed, extra room, such as sitting room, and kitchen with eating area - maybe 2 tvs. Our "suite" was just a regular hotel room with a chair that pulled out into a single sleeper bed. No sink, no microwave, no mini-fridge, no cabinets. We were cramped and uncomfortable for 4 days. Not at all family friendly for 5 people. 2. The facility is huge and spread out. A walk to our car, especially with luggage, was a major hike. Very inconvenient. 3. The breakfast buffet was available, but again, not as good as other hotels we have stayed at, most notably Hampton Inn. The food was all processed: powdered eggs, frozen eggo waffles, no variety of coffee creamers. By the end of the 4 days, no one even wanted to go back to the breakfast buffet. Bleah 4. Good Stuff: A nice big pool. Lots of kid's activities and programs. Front door shuttle to all the historical areas and tourist areas. Clean - good staff - friendly. A nice place for 2 adults. Maybe a family of 3. Next time I book I will try to make SURE that a suite is a suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Any outside restaurant requires a car trip.

Review of Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SOST
Camden, DE
Aug 23, 2011

Just OK.

Farther from historic Willimasburg than we thought it would be, so we ended up driving to town and paying to park. Room was decent. Breakfast was a madhouse - too small a space with too many people trying to eat at once. It was OK, but wouldn't choose to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chibimommy
Virginia Beach, VA
Mar 24, 2010

Could provide more

Our visit was to see Colonial Williamsburg, and Jamestown in March. The hotel is located next to the Visitor's Center which makes it convenient to catch the buses. The hotel is clean, quiet, and friendly however, the continental breakfast has what you would expect for this title but why can't the go a step further and have more? i.e.: scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes, etc... If you don't have a vehicle you have to take the bus which only travels around the historical area, then you have to walk. We found pretty much one restaurant that served breakfast called "Aromas." Maybe more restaurants will be open for breakfast during tourist season. The local restaurant, "Huzzahs" is located between the hotel and the Visitor's Center but is not open 7 days a week. Our tired bones had to hop back on the bus and take a ride back to the historical area and walk around to find a restaurant which would fit our needs. On our first day we ate dinner at "Huzzah's" but they were only open for dinner. I'm not sure if this schedule changes for the tourist season. I would go back, but there are many other local hotels to try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is about a half mile walk to Williamsburg if you like the fresh air.

Review of Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Kinn
Fort Collins, Colorado
May 13, 2014

Good Location

The location of the hotel and it's competitive pricing make this inn a good place to stay for those who are fine with average accommodations. I would certainly stay there again. FYI; the fitness center is more like a fitness 'closet' and they don't have a spa (hot tub).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Don S.
Oak Hill, Virginia
Aug 26, 2011

Good Getaway

Good, but not great getaway. This hotel has some serious problems with noise reduction. If someone spoke in the hallway outside the room, or the room next door, you heard what was being said in your room. Considering this is a family oriented hotel, there were lots of kids, making lots of noise. But the location was very good, the price was right, and it was a good value. The continental breakfast was just ok. Acutally, it was a zoo, with lots of people looking to rush the buffet bar at the same time. The room was clean, the TV and channel selection was very good. However, the shower has problems - did not work as it was intended to work. But with some work, the shower was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Can't go wrong with a meal at Christiana Campbell's Tavern in historic Williamsburg.

Review of Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Conference Travels
Business
Pennsylvania
Mar 24, 2014

A good value

The hotel is nice, in a wooded area. Nothing super extraordinary, but it was a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Dec 7, 2010

Good location

The location was great and the room was clean, but nothing special. The room comes with a free breakfast. The breakfast room was totally over flowing with people and it was difficult to obtain food and a place to sit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Jun 16, 2010

Very close to Historic williamsburg

Visited Historic Williamsburg & Jamestown. Needs more elevators so you would have a shorter walk to your room. After walking all day- you don't want to have to come back to your hotel and walk even more. Also it would have been nice to have room service or a better continental breakfast. your only option for breakfast is to get in your car and drive or the continental breakfast which consist of cereal,frozen waffles or bread.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top