$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
View map of 3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
392 out of 392
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JamieM
Couples
Indialantic, FL
Feb 11, 2014

Timeshare Property

This property is such a mixed bag I'm relaly going to have to break this down. Some things about them are AWFUL, some things are great! First off, the hotel has great activities (tours and crafting for fee, multiple things going on a day) and amenities (dvd rentals, also for a fee, huge tv in room), good location, very spacious accommodations (love the full size kitchen), decent wifi (also for a fee). The downside is that the property is under renovations and it is a timeshare. The property is also probably more fun in the summer when the outdoor sports are available. Renovations: Our "sunroom" had no furniture or heating, just an empty room with a sign on the door saying "under renovations", our deck was missing patio furniture when we arrived, there were no handles on the inside of the shower doors, the shower doors hardly worked, there were cracks around the tub, etc. The property looks worn. I'm sure it will be better after renovations, but right now it's a bit of a mess. Timeshare: First off, timeshares mean no housekeeping. Seconly, they mean being harassed by salespeople nonstop. Do yourself a favor and tell the "concierge" to put you on their Do Not Call list the FIRST time they try to call and sell you something, otherwise they'll call you over and over, multiple times a day, day after day, trying to get you to go to tours and presentations. We finally gave in and agreed to a tour, which we probably should not have done, though it did mean a free three nights in the future, which we will use. Anyway, these folks are PUSHY! Congierge: These folks are not actual concierges, they are the marketing people for the timeshare. When I asked them if I could charge activities to the room, they said yes. When I showed up at the activity center, they wanted payment there. This should have meant a half hour walk to my unit and back to get my wallet, thankfully, the girl on duty there understood that the concierges are awful and let me check out dvd's to pay for later. An actual concierge would know how the most basic activities at the resort work, these SALES PEOPLE do not. Overall: I enjoyed the crafts and the cheap price makes up for the unfinished units. (We paid $65 a night after resort fees- which are charged at the hotel- for five nights.) Having a kitchen is great and allowed us to eat in at night, saving on time and hassle. We stayed here while our RV was in the shop, and my husband works from home, so having an actual apartment was really helpful. Because of all this, we will probably go back if we need temporary housing in the area again, and definitely to use our timeshare tour 3 night freebie. But in the future, I will let them know at checkin not to call us or try to sell us anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luv2rn
Couples
NORFOLK, Va
Feb 7, 2014

Great Stay and definitely come back!

Great location with amazing amenities. A lot to do and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Local Traveler 5
Couples
Williamsburg, VA
Jan 7, 2014

One night getaway

The property and accommodations were great. Could not have asked for a better value. The only issue was that the website posted a 1pm check in time and we were not able to check in until after 4.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crmi
Couples
Salem, VA
Dec 9, 2013

Stayed twice be before but this time was disappointing

It was clean but the unit really needs some maintenance. Literally half the light bulbs in the lamps did not work, there was no TV in the master bedroom, the woodwork is in serious need of tlc. My husband's pillow case had a big tear in it. I had read about this sort of thing on some of the other reviews, but had not experienced it until this time. I did not complain to the front desk as we had to leave early due to weather, and from other reviews, it doesn't sound like it would have done me any good. :( This is a time-share place so if they want to sell time shares, they should have the units in tip top condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Colonial Area :)

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nicole loves cake
Family
Long Island, New York
Dec 3, 2013

Annoying sales pitch - but a great value

Arrived at 12am after a long drive with two young kids and they still tried to sign us up for their ownership seminar - didn't appreciate that. First room we were given had water leak and was freezing because the back slider was open - also smelled of mildew (probably why back door was open). Went back to front desk and they had a new unit for us in 20minutes - 2nd unit was very nice had a great stay. Indoor pool was nice, grounds were well maintained. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J123H456
Couples
Maryland
Nov 4, 2013

Don't Stay Here!

We stayed for a week at the "Historic Powhatan Resort," having made our reservation through Groupon. Upon checking in, we were told that we had to attend a sales presentation for their time-share "club." This was never mentioned either in the Groupon description, nor in any confirmation received after booking. Two gifts were promised for attending the sales presentation, but only one was given. A written guarantee was provided ensuring that this would take no more than 1.5 hours, but it took nearly two. I can't begin to describe all the problems with our accommodation, but the worst part was that no one cared! We brought up a number of the issues with different managers, and nothing improved. In fact, one manager told up outright that we got "unrefurbished" accommodation because we used Groupon. Staying in October, I thought they had decorated our suite for Halloween - the spider webs (and accompanying spiders) in the living room were enormous. Here is a list of some of the issues with the Powhatan suite in which we stayed: - All drains (sinks and tub) clogged; water filled as soon as faucets turned on - Extremely poor quality, small, old TVs; no TV listing either on a TV channel or in paper version - Cabinets and drawers throughout were very worn, beaten and did not close properly -The bedroom was extremely cramped; it was difficult to walk through the bedroom without bumping into the furniture (which was heavily gouged); there were very few drawers in the bedroom -The bathroom was the worst! No exhaust fan; old-fashioned, undersized fixtures; the small window would only stay open if propped; black debris was continually falling out of the ceiling vent; the cabinet was shamefully worn and had no kick plate - the concrete under the sink could be seen; the tub was worn and dirty looking; large bug in bathtub and numerous small bugs crawling on walls and floor - Only one usable mirror in the entire suite, but the bathroom mirror fogged when the shower was used, so we always had to wait to use the mirror -Outdoor patio (with cheap plastic table and chairs) was unusable due to large amount of dirt and debris falling off the roof onto the table, chairs and patio -Sliding glass door onto patio very hard to open; screen did not fit properly, leaving large open gap -Sunroom did not have a stick of furniture in it We would not stay here again even if it were free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crmi
Business
Salem, VA
Oct 23, 2013

Williamsburg- SBEA Conference

Hotel is clean and comfortable. There was plenty of room to spread out. Nice home away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
thewayned
Family
alexandria, va
Oct 9, 2013

Spider bites

I thought the place was nice and the staff was friendly. Unfortunately, on the last night of our stay, my wife suffered numerous spider bites and ultimately had to see a doctor. Two of my kids recevied bites too but they did not need medical attention. I emailed the resort proptly and recevied no response. I called them manager the next day and received no response. I called left the manager a 2nd message and recevied no response. Finally, after about a week, resort security called me to test the validity of my story. When a manager finally called me, they made no effort to rectify other than to offer to help me book my next stay. While the resort was nice, I will not return. Not simply because of the infestation, but because of the lack of an appropriate and response that let me know that my business matters and, importantly, which could have protected subsequent guests in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brianna's mom
Family
Newark, DE
Oct 7, 2013

Great value for the price

The kids and I had a great 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment with a nicely equipped kitchen. Room was clean and the facilities were nice. Nice playground, tennis courts, and indoor pool. Didn't have time to check out the rest of the facilities but they looked nice, especially the outdoor pool area. Resort area is gated so felt very secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary503
Family
Washington DC
Sep 25, 2013

Great spot for exploring the Historic Triangle

My family rented a two bedroom place for a long weekend to explore Jamestown and Yorktown. Powhatan is so close to Jamestown and just a short drive to Yorktown. Our place was perfect - with a kitchen and dishes for snacks and quick meals. The balcony was also great. We were too busy to check out much of the grounds, but they looked great and well kept up. We also enjoyed the wildlife!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Jamestown Pie Company was a great find for dessert and unique take out pizza.

Back to menu Return to top