$17 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 10, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Best Western Historic Area

3 stars
View map of 201 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
414 reviews
near everything

breakfast was very good. The stay was pleasant. Rooms very clean. See full review

  • mcrex
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great for Families!!!

Everything we expected and wanted and more. We will definitely stay again. See full review

  • Tiffany L.R.
  • Jun 15, 2014
Budget Williamsburg hotel near water parks, outlets and Busch Gardens
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg is ideally situated near Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg Prime Outlets, Busch Gardens and Water County USA. Renovated rooms boast modern touches such as granite countertops and free Wi-Fi. An indoor pool adds to the experience. Free continental breakfast and fresh baked cookies are signatures.

Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Indoor pool
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Colonial Williamsburg, the Jamestown Settlement and Busch Gardens
  • Renovated rooms with granite countertops, microwaves and refrigerators

Rooms
Rooms at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg feature scroll-patterned carpets, dark wood furniture and brass sconces. Printed blankets contrast with stark white linens. Guests have many conveniences at their disposal, including free Wi-Fi, cable TV, a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Features
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg treats guests to Southern hospitality with fresh baked cookies and a free buffet-style breakfast with make-your-own waffles. An indoor pool welcomes after tour-filled day at nearby Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg, Water Country USA and Busch Gardens. A game room entertains the kids at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.3 mi/63.3 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Williamsburg (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Water Country USA  (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Busch Gardens (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (6.4 mi/10.2 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.2 mi/40.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (37.8 mi/60.9 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.3 mi/61.6 km)
  • The Ghent District (37.7 mi/60.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.4 mi/61.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (50.3 mi/81 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (51.7 mi/83.2 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Historic Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Best Western Historic Area Rooms

Double
The bedding option for this room includes 2 double beds with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.
King
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed and 1 puulout sofa with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Free full breakfast
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Historic Area

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 414
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kathybp
Business
Asheville NC
Apr 6, 2013

Good value hotel

My only complaint is that the breakfast area is way too small to handle a full hotel. I had to eat in my room twice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DisappointedDan
Business
Mayock, NC
Sep 10, 2012

Never again

Very excited to race my first half ironman and figured that a hotel with three stars would be sufficient for my stay. They checked someone else in under my reservation because we had the same first name, the room had a very distinct odor, the carpeting was sticky, the TV made very noticeable highly pitched noise. Drove home after a grueling day that began at 4:30 am to avoid spending another night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GMATT
Business
Rochester NY
Jun 14, 2011

Ok Hotel @ best

Room was only "fairly" clean. Seems to be a 80's Hotel. Bed sheets were clean, but rest of room left much to be desired.TV was a 1990's model, no flat screen. Room was previously a smoker room (evidence) on Air Conditioner (hint.....clean!)Wall sockets were old and would not hold a plug for my phone (had to use bathroom GFI). All in all, you can do much better for the price elsewhere in town. And to add just one more item to my experience, I had a hotel staffer open my door while I was in the room and did not identify herself until IN THE ROOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Said there were people in rooms that had not paid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
May 17, 2011

Great value

I stayed for four nights while attending my son's college graduation. There is nothing fabulous about the hotel itself, but it was perfectly fine and it was a fabulous deal for the price. Very friendly, accommodating staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

For good restaurants and evening shopping, especially during a period like college graduation when Colonial Williamsburg is swamped with visitors, try the area known as New Town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ArunsRose
Business
Columbus Ohio
May 15, 2011

Great deal

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Room was large and clean. Many amenities. Nice indoor pool. Great complimentary breakfast. Quiet, slightly off the main road location, but with easy access and very close to everything. I am a female and was traveling alone but felt safe with hotel security. I would stay here again if I am ever in Williamsburg again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ArunsRose
Business
Columbus Ohio
May 15, 2011

Great deal

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Room was large and clean. Many amenities. Nice indoor pool. Great complimentary breakfast. Quiet, slightly off the main road location, but with easy access and very close to everything. I am a female and was traveling alone but felt safe with hotel security. I would stay here again if I am ever in Williamsburg again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cary, NC
Aug 30, 2010

Decent hotel, met expectations

Staff were courteous at the front desk, room was clean as was the bathroom. Breakfast was nice. What you would expect/want from a hotel. Wifi in room didn't work too well with my Ipod Touch

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Recharged
Business
Virgina Beach, VA.
Feb 28, 2010

Location, Location, Location..Very Good

The hotel was about adverage for the off season time of year. The room was clean, but need to be vacuumed around the beds. I went single, but I may not have let a baby crawl around on the floor until it got vacuumed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gail, carriage driver
Business
Palmyra,NY
Feb 1, 2010

great place to stay

clean comfortable room which was tastefully decorated I was in Williamsburg for a carriage conference this hotel was close by the location of the conference. I wish the breakfast bar had had some fruit and yogurt as a choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tempe, AZ
Jan 9, 2010

OK when 1/2 price

The property was obviously formally a Hampton Inn, though clean and comfortable any other comparisons would not be favorable. The "breakfast buffet" was poor enough to consider eliminating, nothing hot poor selection and quality. The pool seemed usable but the hot tub was empty and the work out area consisted of too many treadmills and nothing else. I found nothing in my room describing hotel features or near by restaurants. In room coffee service consisted of one cup virtually instant. The price was attractive but there was no other reason to consider this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top