$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 17, 2014

Best Western Historic Area

3 stars
201 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
393 reviews
near everything

breakfast was very good. The stay was pleasant. Rooms very clean. See full review

  • mcrex
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great for Families!!!

Everything we expected and wanted and more. We will definitely stay again. See full review

  • Tiffany L.R.
  • Jun 15, 2014
Budget Williamsburg hotel near water parks, outlets and Busch Gardens
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg is ideally situated near Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg Prime Outlets, Busch Gardens and Water County USA. Renovated rooms boast modern touches such as granite countertops and free Wi-Fi. An indoor pool adds to the experience. Free continental breakfast and fresh baked cookies are signatures.

Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Indoor pool
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Colonial Williamsburg, the Jamestown Settlement and Busch Gardens
  • Renovated rooms with granite countertops, microwaves and refrigerators

Rooms
Rooms at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg feature scroll-patterned carpets, dark wood furniture and brass sconces. Printed blankets contrast with stark white linens. Guests have many conveniences at their disposal, including free Wi-Fi, cable TV, a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Features
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg treats guests to Southern hospitality with fresh baked cookies and a free buffet-style breakfast with make-your-own waffles. An indoor pool welcomes after tour-filled day at nearby Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg, Water Country USA and Busch Gardens. A game room entertains the kids at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.3 mi/63.3 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Williamsburg (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Water Country USA  (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Busch Gardens (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (6.4 mi/10.2 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.2 mi/40.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (37.8 mi/60.9 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.3 mi/61.6 km)
  • The Ghent District (37.7 mi/60.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.4 mi/61.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (50.3 mi/81 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (51.7 mi/83.2 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Historic Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Best Western Historic Area Rooms

Double
The bedding option for this room includes 2 double beds with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.
King
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed and 1 puulout sofa with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (393)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Historic Area

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 393
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mamajan
Business
Charleston, SC
Jun 14, 2013

Business Trip was Excellent

The hotel was not fancy but provided the comfort and warmth that we needed for an intense three business days. The employees were fabulous! I just wish i received a receipt from them but they said that the company who arranged the trip would send me one???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chesapeake Traveler
Business
Chesapeake
May 19, 2012

Disappointed

There are many hotels in W'burg with much lower rates - but I wanted a touch of "luxury" for my one business travel ovenight. The decor is dated and dark. Staff were certainly pleasant and room was very well equipped (fridge, microwave and coffee maker). Even though b'fast was included, I don't think I got anything extra for the price. TV was not flat screen! B'fast was unpleasant because there was a bus of teens in the dining space - staff couldn't keep up with the demand for food - other guests couldn't get to the food through all the kids!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ropn
Business
Roanoke, Va
Jun 3, 2011

Passable

Previous reviews exceeded my experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
harrisonburg, va
May 17, 2011

Nice stay

Nice room. Quiet. Breakfast was fine, but no place to sit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Visitor to Williamsburg
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 25, 2010

Bed bugs and poor professionalism

We found a bed bug in the room- a classic adult example. We told the desk clerk, who immediately put us in another room. As we were packing up our things, the manager burst into the room, denied that we had seen a bed bug, said she didn't see any on the bed right then, and to hurry up as she was going to re-rent out the room. Not only did she not consult a professional exterminator, she was rude to us and her dismissive attitude is exactly what has allowed bedbug infestations at other hotels. I would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ExhaustedPresenter
Business
Boone, NC
Mar 27, 2010

Great location for the price

Overall the two night stay was pleasant. The continental breakfast, however, was atrocious. I was in town for a presentation I was giving at the College of William and Mary. The location was great. It was a very easy drive to the college and having Uno's right out front was nice. My main complaint, besides the breakfast, was being roomed in the same section as a school group of young children who were loud and rude as well as the fact that the housekeepers were already slamming doors by 7am. Checkout isn't until 11, and a housekeeper knocked on our door at 9 am, despite the "Do not disturb sign" to see if she could start cleaning our room. All I wanted to do was get ONE chance to sleep in past 9am. But it didn't happen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

UNO's Bar & Grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Williamsburg, VA
Mar 8, 2010

Good sleep, bad eat

The room was okay and I enjoyed my stay, but the location was bad (holds true for most Williamsburg, VA hotels, by the way) and especially the breakfast was terrible (they should not call their coffee coffee or their orange juice orange juice).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Danville, VA
Nov 15, 2009

Great staff

God

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bel air md
Oct 16, 2009

Best Western

very friendly staff. staff put in quiet fourth floor when said on business, clean, great service, locked myself out of room and helped me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, D.C.
Sep 4, 2009

Nice place

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, with new carpeting, wall treatments, and furniture. The TV and broadband wireless internet worked fine, although the internet was slow periodically. My room was at the end of a hallway, so I enjoyed the quiet. As expected, I did hear children in the halls and from the pool (my window was adjacent to the outside glass wall of the pool room). This was not a big problem, though. My room card stopped working twice in three days, but the staff fixed it in seconds each time. Overall, I was very pleased with the hotel, my room, and the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top