$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Best Western Historic Area

3 stars
201 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
696 reviews
near everything

breakfast was very good. The stay was pleasant. Rooms very clean. See full review

  • mcrex
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great for Families!!!

Everything we expected and wanted and more. We will definitely stay again. See full review

  • Tiffany L.R.
  • Jun 15, 2014
Budget Williamsburg hotel near water parks, outlets and Busch Gardens
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg is ideally situated near Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg Prime Outlets, Busch Gardens and Water County USA. Renovated rooms boast modern touches such as granite countertops and free Wi-Fi. An indoor pool adds to the experience. Free continental breakfast and fresh baked cookies are signatures.

Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Indoor pool
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Colonial Williamsburg, the Jamestown Settlement and Busch Gardens
  • Renovated rooms with granite countertops, microwaves and refrigerators

Rooms
Rooms at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg feature scroll-patterned carpets, dark wood furniture and brass sconces. Printed blankets contrast with stark white linens. Guests have many conveniences at their disposal, including free Wi-Fi, cable TV, a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Features
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg treats guests to Southern hospitality with fresh baked cookies and a free buffet-style breakfast with make-your-own waffles. An indoor pool welcomes after tour-filled day at nearby Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg, Water Country USA and Busch Gardens. A game room entertains the kids at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.3 mi/63.3 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Williamsburg (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Water Country USA  (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Busch Gardens (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (6.4 mi/10.2 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.2 mi/40.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (37.8 mi/60.9 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.3 mi/61.6 km)
  • The Ghent District (37.7 mi/60.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.4 mi/61.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (50.3 mi/81 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (51.7 mi/83.2 km)

Hotel Map

37.2853 -76.7168
Area served
Williamsburg.
Nearby airports
Williamsburg/Newport News International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located just 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg and only five miles from Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. The College of William and Mary is 1.5 miles and outlet shopping is 3 miles. Great area golf course only minutes away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Historic Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Best Western Historic Area Rooms

Double
The bedding option for this room includes 2 double beds with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.
King
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed and 1 puulout sofa with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (696)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Historic Area

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
438 out of 696
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NH
Oct 12, 2009

Never AGAIN!

We showed about three hours before check in. We had been driving all night from NH to VA and had left at 8:30PM. I asked the lady if our room was available early and it wasn't so we left and drove around for about 45 mins. We got back to the hotel and unloaded our stuff and waited in the common area with our 13 month old daughter. After about an hour some cleaning ladies walked through and went up the the front desk and asked the attendant what room we were waiting for and she told them no particular room. They told her that there were rooms up on the fourth floor. We waited till like 15 mins before the actual check in time before we got a room on the 1st floor. I don't understand why when the fourth floor rooms were clean? Meanwhile my daughter who is 13 months is getting into everything running around everywhere! The real deal breaker was our regrigerator was gross and we found food and a dirty spoon under the bed skirt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
French545
Portland OR
Mar 17, 2013

Just a one night stay

The walls are paper thin and leaves nothing to the imagination when the folks in the next room become active. Hated walking in bare feet on the room carpet - who knows when it was last cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler Mike
Waynesboro, PA
Nov 30, 2009

Not quite what we expected

My wife and I visit Williamsburg several times per year to visit Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg. This trip was to visit Busch Gardens ChristmasTown celebration. We booked this hotel because of the price...but the old saying "you get what you pay for" is absolutely true with regards to this hotel. This was not a very good experience. At check-in we were notified that since we booked through a discount site, they changed our room from the King w/ sofabed that we booked to a handicapped queen (one bed in the room). Basically, they overbooked their hotel. Since we were traveling with a child, they changed it back -- but it required us to speak with a manager, etc. Bottom line, they didn't want to honor our reservation. Warning - this hotel allows timeshare people in their lobby to solicit you every time you walk in or out of the front doors. It gets real annoying, real fast! The rooms were not clean. Hairs in the bathroom, stains on the linens. Picture missing from the wall with nail sticking out. Hall lights missing covers. Plumbing was noisy - made sounds all night. This hotel does not have comforters on the beds. There is a sheet and a heavier sheet only. No extra pillows were available. So, we had a total of four flat pillows provided for a king size bed AND sofabed. The internet did not work. Maximum speed you could get for free is 512k. But that didn't even work. Not a single page would load on either computer in the business center. We spend 20+ nights per year in hotels and this was not a good experience. We do not recommend this hotel for any of your travel needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

This hotel actually provided a microwave and refrigerator in the room. Buy bottles of water across the street at Kmart and keep them cold for when you are going out to visit Colonial Williamsburg or Busch Gardens.

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yorktown, VA
Jun 21, 2009

Worst Western

We checked in on a Friday for two nights. Ended up checking out on Saturday and heading home. The staff was nice enough, just not able to effect any change. The corridors were warm and muggy, the A/C just couldn't keep up. The pool had a layer of crud floating on the water's surface and filthy tile walls. The free breakfast was served on a dirty buffet with flies swarming the trash cans and consisted of soggy french toast sticks and a few cereals. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
steve and jody
Colorado Springs, CO
Sep 10, 2009

Keep on driving

Toilet leaked and front desk said they would come right up for repairs and never came, good thing my husband is handy. We got an extra blanket from the front desk and it seriously had at least 5 good sized holes in it. Not many options for breakfast. Plus.... WHAT COOKIES???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Busch Gardens, best place on Earth!

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
steve and jody
Colorado Springs, CO
Sep 10, 2009

Keep on driving

Toilet leaked and front desk said they would come right up for repairs and never came, good thing my husband is handy. We got an extra blanket from the front desk and it seriously had at least 5 good sized holes in it. Not many options for breakfast. Plus.... WHAT COOKIES???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Busch Gardens, best place on Earth!

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Knoxville, TN
Jul 16, 2011

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

Sightseeing and going to various places of interest and entertainment. My stay would been if the the linen was changed at least once while my stay in the hotel. Also if the hotel kept the room stocked with the required items (coffee, towels, etc). I've had better times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of restaurants(various types)within the area and priced from low to high.

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia, MD
Apr 10, 2011

poor choice

Hotel room was not clean,bathroom still had hair in the tub from previous guests,most of the channels on TY didn't work, room was very dark, nothing like the picture on internet.Wouldn't recommend this hotel and this was for sure our first and list time in this hotel. Only positive was very nice service from breakfast staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinese all you can eat buffet. very good food and service

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodbridge, VA
Apr 24, 2010

Best Western Historic Area

Old hotel, not renovated recently. [...] Ants in the room, hot breakfast was terrible--just a toaster and waffle iron.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go elsewhere, you will not like this hotel.

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fredericksburg, VA
Aug 18, 2009

Bait and Switch

We were not happy with this hotel from the moment we drove up! The landscaping looked like it hadn't been maintained all summer. There were weeds, trash, cigarette butts, large tree branches everywhere. No one was at the front desk when we tried to check in and other guests were telling us that someone would be here soon. The hallways, common areas, and rooms were NOT CLEAN. The room was musty and dirty. Our 2 year old became very conjested right away. We had our hopes up when we went to the pool, but the best way to describe this area is DISGUSTING!!! The whirlpool was shut down and the pool was so gross. My kids kept pulling out "hairballs" and laying them on the side of the pool. This hotel was advertised as a great special, but it was not even worth $50 bucks. We were extremely disappointed. If our card had not been charged we would definitely have quickly moved to another hotel. I read reviews and make decisions based on them. Take this advice and stay anywhere but here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top