$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Best Western Historic Area

3 stars
201 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
392 reviews
near everything

breakfast was very good. The stay was pleasant. Rooms very clean. See full review

  • mcrex
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great for Families!!!

Everything we expected and wanted and more. We will definitely stay again. See full review

  • Tiffany L.R.
  • Jun 15, 2014
Budget Williamsburg hotel near water parks, outlets and Busch Gardens
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg is ideally situated near Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg Prime Outlets, Busch Gardens and Water County USA. Renovated rooms boast modern touches such as granite countertops and free Wi-Fi. An indoor pool adds to the experience. Free continental breakfast and fresh baked cookies are signatures.

Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Indoor pool
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Colonial Williamsburg, the Jamestown Settlement and Busch Gardens
  • Renovated rooms with granite countertops, microwaves and refrigerators

Rooms
Rooms at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg feature scroll-patterned carpets, dark wood furniture and brass sconces. Printed blankets contrast with stark white linens. Guests have many conveniences at their disposal, including free Wi-Fi, cable TV, a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Features
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg treats guests to Southern hospitality with fresh baked cookies and a free buffet-style breakfast with make-your-own waffles. An indoor pool welcomes after tour-filled day at nearby Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg, Water Country USA and Busch Gardens. A game room entertains the kids at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.3 mi/63.3 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Williamsburg (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Water Country USA  (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Busch Gardens (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (6.4 mi/10.2 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.2 mi/40.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (37.8 mi/60.9 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.3 mi/61.6 km)
  • The Ghent District (37.7 mi/60.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.4 mi/61.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (50.3 mi/81 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (51.7 mi/83.2 km)

Hotel Map

37.2853 -76.7168
Area served
Williamsburg.
Nearby airports
Williamsburg/Newport News International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located just 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg and only five miles from Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. The College of William and Mary is 1.5 miles and outlet shopping is 3 miles. Great area golf course only minutes away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Historic Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Best Western Historic Area Rooms

Double
The bedding option for this room includes 2 double beds with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.
King
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed and 1 puulout sofa with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (392)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Historic Area

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 392
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bassin
newburgh, ny
Nov 28, 2011

Bad sheets

Poor not good the sheets had not been clean and were stained. The room was dirty and sloppy. Not good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 7, 2009

Would not stay here again.

On the first night, we noticed a large black water bug crawling up the wall and onto the ceiling. I tried to catch the bug in a napkin, but it jumped to the floor and skuttered next to the bed. Getting down on my knees to catch it I discovered all kinds of crumbs, crumpled napkins, and even an old broken hair clip near the bed. This was on our first night - you'd think the staff would at least do a pretty comprehensive cleaning between staying parties. I never found the bug. Our room was on the top floor, and there must have been some sort of a/c machine on the roof above because it sounded like we were in an airplane inside the room. The loud hum never ceased during our entire stay. The staff was not overly friendly, and seemed to try and do their jobs with the least amount of interaction possible. The desk manager didn't even inquire about the quality of our stay on check out, opting instead for an unappreciative "You're good to go." The advertised pool was closed. There are many places to stay in and around Williamsburg, all of which are reasonably close to everything. I strongly recommend that you stay at another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Jul 21, 2010

Don't stay here!

Terrible hotel. I would NEVER stay there again!!! One of two elevators didn't work most of the time. One of our group had bites from bed bugs. Keys stopped working and we were let into our rooms without identification from the cleaning staff. Breakfast area was way too small for the number of guests at the hotel. Pillows were small and hard. Overall, hotel room was dirty and hotel was noisy. Staff was nice but one person we thought was the concierge turned out to be working for a time share near Williamsburg. Waste of time talking to him and we didn't figure out that he was trying to get us to tour the timeshare property for quite a while.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Julie Not So Happy
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 30, 2010

Totally misleading hotel amenities

Absolutely terrible. We chose this hotel for location, hot tub and breakfast. To our dismay, this hotel was not in walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg, the hot tub was broken and we couldnt even get any breakfast due to long lines and ignorant people. I dont quite know how this hotel can call this a deluxe continental breakfast when there werent even any hot items and they had hard boiled eggs sitting in a tray of ice. We thought we were saving money buy chosing this hotel for breakfast, but we ended up still paying for breakfast every morning. Also, the pool looked so murky we wouldnt even go in it for fear of contracting some sort of infection. No wonder why the desk clerk didnt ask us how our stay was when we were checking out, im sure she was tired of everyone with their complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Missouri
Jul 12, 2009

Sadly - They just didn't seem to care...

We were somewhat disappointed in this hotel. Location was ok but the staff was not very helpful or friendly. Only one elevator was working for the 3 nights we stayed. The ice machine on our floor never worked and by the 3rd day, none of them were working. The young man @ the front desk just really didn't care. We asked about ice and he just responded that we should check the other floors. We had already done that so he just said the repair man would come sometime... Same pitiful breakfast choices each morning for 3 mornings. It did seem clean and the room seemed fairly well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of outlet shopping closeby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Goodview, VA
May 15, 2010

Okay

Desk clerk provided print out for church location coffee pot in room provided 1 cup at a time coffee was not available before breakfast in breakfast area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
anywhere
Jun 20, 2010

trip

The staff was nice. Their breakfast selection is horrible. There is a lot of noise going on late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It's close to colonial Williamsburg.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beachnut Dave
Virginia Beach, VA
Dec 6, 2009

"Barely Average"

The rooms were clean and linens were fresh. Continental Breakfast was skimpy and coffee was weak. Room Heating/AC unit was old and the blower fan did not work at all. At night the temperature outside was in mid-30's, so room stayed a bit too cool for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
super super b.
Columbia SC
Jun 4, 2010

Just okay

Personnel in the breakfast area not friendly at all!! Not very clean carpet in room was stained. would not considered this hotel again. air condition unit was too loud could not sleep well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Sep 14, 2009

Close to attractions

We were barely at the hotel..Basically just to sleep. The hotel needs to be updated...especially the carpets. We used it to sleep in after a long day at the Richmond race and at Williamsburg. Good for the price. But we will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search