$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

Best Western Historic Area

3 stars
View map of 201 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
414 reviews
near everything

breakfast was very good. The stay was pleasant. Rooms very clean. See full review

  • mcrex
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great for Families!!!

Everything we expected and wanted and more. We will definitely stay again. See full review

  • Tiffany L.R.
  • Jun 15, 2014
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg is ideally situated near Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg Prime Outlets, Busch Gardens and Water County USA. Renovated rooms boast modern touches such as granite countertops and free Wi-Fi. An indoor pool adds to the experience. Free continental breakfast and fresh baked cookies are signatures.

Rooms
Rooms at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg feature scroll-patterned carpets, dark wood furniture and brass sconces. Printed blankets contrast with stark white linens. Guests have many conveniences at their disposal, including free Wi-Fi, cable TV, a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Property features
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg treats guests to Southern hospitality with fresh baked cookies and a free buffet-style breakfast with make-your-own waffles. An indoor pool welcomes after tour-filled day at nearby Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg, Water Country USA and Busch Gardens. A game room entertains the kids at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Indoor pool
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Colonial Williamsburg, the Jamestown Settlement and Busch Gardens
  • Renovated rooms with granite countertops, microwaves and refrigerators

Nearby attractions
  • Colonial Williamsburg (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Water Country USA  (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Busch Gardens (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (6.4 mi/10.2 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.2 mi/40.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (37.8 mi/60.9 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.3 mi/61.6 km)
  • The Ghent District (37.7 mi/60.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.4 mi/61.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (50.3 mi/81 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (51.7 mi/83.2 km)
Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.3 mi/63.3 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Historic Area also booked these hotels.

Best Western Historic Area Rooms

Double
The bedding option for this room includes 2 double beds with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.
King
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed and 1 puulout sofa with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Free full breakfast
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Historic Area

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 414
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bassin
Business
newburgh, ny
Nov 28, 2011

Bad sheets

Poor not good the sheets had not been clean and were stained. The room was dirty and sloppy. Not good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Jul 21, 2010

Don't stay here!

Terrible hotel. I would NEVER stay there again!!! One of two elevators didn't work most of the time. One of our group had bites from bed bugs. Keys stopped working and we were let into our rooms without identification from the cleaning staff. Breakfast area was way too small for the number of guests at the hotel. Pillows were small and hard. Overall, hotel room was dirty and hotel was noisy. Staff was nice but one person we thought was the concierge turned out to be working for a time share near Williamsburg. Waste of time talking to him and we didn't figure out that he was trying to get us to tour the timeshare property for quite a while.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Julie Not So Happy
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 30, 2010

Totally misleading hotel amenities

Absolutely terrible. We chose this hotel for location, hot tub and breakfast. To our dismay, this hotel was not in walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg, the hot tub was broken and we couldnt even get any breakfast due to long lines and ignorant people. I dont quite know how this hotel can call this a deluxe continental breakfast when there werent even any hot items and they had hard boiled eggs sitting in a tray of ice. We thought we were saving money buy chosing this hotel for breakfast, but we ended up still paying for breakfast every morning. Also, the pool looked so murky we wouldnt even go in it for fear of contracting some sort of infection. No wonder why the desk clerk didnt ask us how our stay was when we were checking out, im sure she was tired of everyone with their complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 7, 2009

Would not stay here again.

On the first night, we noticed a large black water bug crawling up the wall and onto the ceiling. I tried to catch the bug in a napkin, but it jumped to the floor and skuttered next to the bed. Getting down on my knees to catch it I discovered all kinds of crumbs, crumpled napkins, and even an old broken hair clip near the bed. This was on our first night - you'd think the staff would at least do a pretty comprehensive cleaning between staying parties. I never found the bug. Our room was on the top floor, and there must have been some sort of a/c machine on the roof above because it sounded like we were in an airplane inside the room. The loud hum never ceased during our entire stay. The staff was not overly friendly, and seemed to try and do their jobs with the least amount of interaction possible. The desk manager didn't even inquire about the quality of our stay on check out, opting instead for an unappreciative "You're good to go." The advertised pool was closed. There are many places to stay in and around Williamsburg, all of which are reasonably close to everything. I strongly recommend that you stay at another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sib1
Business
Chesapeake, VA
Nov 29, 2012

Nice local

Was expecting the room to be cleaner and not so old, it needs to be upgraded. Location was perfect, we will stay at the new Holiday Inn next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paulio
Business
Kent Island Maryland
Nov 3, 2009

It thought it would be better

We thought the room was a bit small for a King bed & a pull out sofa. The air conditioning did not work properly kept going to the auto function,and not reaching the proper temperture, had to switch rooms. The Bathroom faucet was clearly dirty and that's too bad, because it was a nice faucet, oh and the toilet in the first room was loose, and the coffee in the room was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
marray adventure
Business
south amboy, NJ
Jun 13, 2010

good location

The hotel was good for rest only. The room was too unclean to stay indoors. It was great place for nearby entertaiment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

near colonial williamsburg, bush gardens

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Dec 13, 2010

Average Hotel

The Best Western Historic Area was conveniently located to Historic Williamsburg, shopping and dining. However, the bathroom was extremely small and you could hardly get the door closed without standing in the shower. The bathroom was not spotless either - the housekeeping crew did not clean behind the bathroom door - and there was hair and dirt there. Half of the lights in our room did not work properly. They either did not turn on or did not turn off if they did turn on. I mentioned this to the front desk and they said that we should turn the light off by unscrewing the light bulb with a towel because they did not have a maintenance person there. They did offer to move our room if we wanted. We also had to call the front desk because our "neighbor" had the TV so loud we could hear every word through the wall. The pool was open, but the hot tub was not. The breakfast every morning was definitely a plus and they were well stocked with supplies each day. The staff was friendly overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 24, 2008

not satisfied w/hotel

first, the room was fine but, we had to move our room 3 times because, 1- no frig,2- not clean and 3rd one to mico. our room was located oppsite the game room and it was quite loud until way after midnight, plus kids were kicking a soccer ball up and down the hallway and the ball kept hitting our door and others. we had to call the front desk to have the stop the noise which they did. the breakfast was nothing but AWFUL..........no meats, no eggs, no pastry, fruit-only banbans. ran out of coffee on second day. they were cleaning up before 10am while we were eating still. i could go on about the above bbut i will stop here but, again the Breakfast was a total MESS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Wales
Jan 2, 2009

Not very clean

When we arrived we could see he room had not been vacuumed and there was hair in the tub. Most of the time here was very little hot water for showers. The hot water faucet was broken and constantly came off. The heating system was noisy and on our last night never shut off even though we turned it off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of dining possibilities.

Back to menu Return to top