$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Best Western Historic Area

3 stars
201 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
393 reviews
near everything

breakfast was very good. The stay was pleasant. Rooms very clean. See full review

  • mcrex
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great for Families!!!

Everything we expected and wanted and more. We will definitely stay again. See full review

  • Tiffany L.R.
  • Jun 15, 2014
Budget Williamsburg hotel near water parks, outlets and Busch Gardens
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg is ideally situated near Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg Prime Outlets, Busch Gardens and Water County USA. Renovated rooms boast modern touches such as granite countertops and free Wi-Fi. An indoor pool adds to the experience. Free continental breakfast and fresh baked cookies are signatures.

Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Indoor pool
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Colonial Williamsburg, the Jamestown Settlement and Busch Gardens
  • Renovated rooms with granite countertops, microwaves and refrigerators

Rooms
Rooms at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg feature scroll-patterned carpets, dark wood furniture and brass sconces. Printed blankets contrast with stark white linens. Guests have many conveniences at their disposal, including free Wi-Fi, cable TV, a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Features
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg treats guests to Southern hospitality with fresh baked cookies and a free buffet-style breakfast with make-your-own waffles. An indoor pool welcomes after tour-filled day at nearby Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg, Water Country USA and Busch Gardens. A game room entertains the kids at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.3 mi/63.3 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Williamsburg (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Water Country USA  (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Busch Gardens (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (6.4 mi/10.2 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.2 mi/40.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (37.8 mi/60.9 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.3 mi/61.6 km)
  • The Ghent District (37.7 mi/60.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.4 mi/61.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (50.3 mi/81 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (51.7 mi/83.2 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Historic Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Best Western Historic Area Rooms

Double
The bedding option for this room includes 2 double beds with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.
King
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed and 1 puulout sofa with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (393)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Historic Area

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
393 out of 393
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dw
Business
Maryland
Jul 30, 2009

Nice for the money

The hotel was very quiet and we had no problems. The front desk workers were very helpful and friendly. The pool however looked dirty and my husband found 2 bugs in the bathroom. They also need to advertise in the hotel about the warm cookies. We didn't know anything about them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make a right at the stop light and there are tons of restaurants, movie theater and the yankee candle village.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beaufort, NC
Oct 26, 2009

Best Western Williamsburg VA

Hotel was really nice but some of the ammenities that they promised were not there. The indoor hot tub was drained out, the indoor heated pool was not heated, the cable was very fuzzy, and the "hot breakfast" consisted of french toast and eggs. We would have chosen another place to stay if we had known. The hotel rooms were very nice and it is in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is only a few minutes away from Busch Gardens which made it very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
William & Mary Visitors
Business
Virginia
Feb 14, 2010

Good but no cookies!

THe room was ok. Carpet needs attention, both cleaning and repair. The complimentary breakfast was lack-luster. Comparing to what the website stated, the following was provided: toast, bagels, hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, stale cereal, and make-your-own waffles; Coffee and orange just was provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Food for Thought Restaurant is wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mel Mel
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 6, 2010

A good stay!

Our stay at the Best Western was good. Check-in and Check-out was very quick and I appreciated that. The room was clean and staff were friendly. A lot of families and their children were there during that weekend and at times the noise levels would rise as children were running through the halls. But overall it is a great place for families to stay. I enjoyed the rest and relaxation. The location is perfect, surrounded by various places to eat and a KMart so that we were able to access items that we forgot to pack with us on our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warwick, RI
Dec 25, 2010

Somewhat good

It's good if I consider the price. But, the pillows smelt nasty. There were so little kinds of food at the free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Apr 5, 2011

Pretty good

The breakfast was great, the pool area was big, clean and the temperature of the water was perfect. Perfect for a family vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KatDun
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

1 Year Anniversary Trip

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our 1 year wedding anniversary. I wanted to stay here because it was cheap. My husband wanted to stay somewhere nicer but pricier. We got what we paid for here. It was acceptable all around. Nothing special. The continental breakfast left little to be desired. Not much selection. If you eat organic, bring your own milk. I can not even stomach regular milk anymore so I had toast. The room was typical. Looked like the pictures minus about 6 pillows. Our room was by the elevators, so it got a bit loud at times. I would stay here again for a weekend get-a-way but it was definitely not "1 year anniversary" material. Looks like my husband was right. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

They offer discount Busch Garden tickets. About $5 off a ticket.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jkolecki
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 1, 2011

Decent Place in a great location

Stayed here over Halloween weekend 2011 with friends. If you want to visit Busch Gardens/Williamsburg and your looking to spend your money at the park/shops, come here. It's got what most travelers need: clean rooms, decent amentities - freewifi/free parking/cable/indoor pool/hot tub/ free breakfast, and good/helpful staff, This is your place. If you need a deluxe suite with marble bathrooms, stylishly appointed bedroom with linens, lace, picturesque views, room service, a hotel bar, yadda yadda yadda... don't come here. I'd stay here again. It was close to BG, Williamsburg outlets, Captain George's seafood restuarant and a number of waffle houses. (side note: receptionist alexis was super cute and very nice.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain George's seafood buffett is very good. Worth a try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carmita
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Nov 21, 2011

good for spending the night

Good value, convenient location if visiting Busch Gardens and attractions nearby. The rest is standard in this kind of hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eddy 2
Business
Pennsylvania
Nov 28, 2011

good location for getting around in Williamsburg

easy good hotel - nothing special but great deal for that price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top