$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 11, 2015

Best Western Historic Area

3 stars
201 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
393 reviews
near everything

breakfast was very good. The stay was pleasant. Rooms very clean. See full review

  • mcrex
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great for Families!!!

Everything we expected and wanted and more. We will definitely stay again. See full review

  • Tiffany L.R.
  • Jun 15, 2014
Budget Williamsburg hotel near water parks, outlets and Busch Gardens
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg is ideally situated near Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg Prime Outlets, Busch Gardens and Water County USA. Renovated rooms boast modern touches such as granite countertops and free Wi-Fi. An indoor pool adds to the experience. Free continental breakfast and fresh baked cookies are signatures.

Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Indoor pool
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Colonial Williamsburg, the Jamestown Settlement and Busch Gardens
  • Renovated rooms with granite countertops, microwaves and refrigerators

Rooms
Rooms at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg feature scroll-patterned carpets, dark wood furniture and brass sconces. Printed blankets contrast with stark white linens. Guests have many conveniences at their disposal, including free Wi-Fi, cable TV, a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Features
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg treats guests to Southern hospitality with fresh baked cookies and a free buffet-style breakfast with make-your-own waffles. An indoor pool welcomes after tour-filled day at nearby Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg, Water Country USA and Busch Gardens. A game room entertains the kids at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.3 mi/63.3 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Williamsburg (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Water Country USA  (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Busch Gardens (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (6.4 mi/10.2 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.2 mi/40.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (37.8 mi/60.9 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.3 mi/61.6 km)
  • The Ghent District (37.7 mi/60.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.4 mi/61.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (50.3 mi/81 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (51.7 mi/83.2 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Historic Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Best Western Historic Area Rooms

Double
The bedding option for this room includes 2 double beds with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.
King
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed and 1 puulout sofa with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Free full breakfast
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (393)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Historic Area

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
393 out of 393
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 18, 2009

Average hotel

The hotel room was clean and did have a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The towels were cheap. The complimentary breakfast was not tended to. The french toast pieces were cold and the area was not cleaned up. Interestingly enough, the employee who apparently was in charge of this room kept checking the tip jar to see if his tips increased. Most of the counter clerks were friendly. There was one who wouldn't give you the time of day. We were never told about warm afternoon cookies nor did we see or smell any.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
T&G
Business
South Carolina
May 25, 2009

pros and cons

check in was easy,room was neat and clean, convenient location for our needs, good restaurants all around hotel,staff very helpful and friendly,room had no alarm clock or any clock to tell what time it was in the middle of night, room and bathroom lighting very poor, fix poor draining tub would have been nice, our last night there was noise and banging on our walls from room next door with children running and hollering up and down the halls, the hot deluxe continental breakfast was the worst we have ever had and we have had many.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Plan to have your meals at odd times to avoid the long lines and crowds. We had a late breakfast most days and then had our dinner early all but the last night and we were sorry because the restaurant was packed and the lines were ridiculous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Suzy Q - mother and wife
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Jul 31, 2009

There were NO FRESHLY BAKED COOKIES!!!!!

We mainly went to Busch Gardens or Water Country USA - Our stay could have been more enjoyable if the air conditioner actually cooled our room - also, I couldn't plug the drain in the bathroom sink. I asked for dish detergent and the guy said to bring him the dishes - so, I did. All of my son's bottles STILL SMELLED LIKE FORMULA - he just rinsed them. Why bother??? Also, the front desk didn't have any essential toiletries if you forgot something - they would just refer us to Kmart across the street! This facility did have a washer and dryer - but, ONLY ONE! Not to mention, they do NOT keep soap in the restrooms off the lobby.....I had to ask for it. The lady stated that since it's a bar of soap - it makes a big mess - so, NO SOAP IN THE BATHROOMS! How GROSS!!!!!! And SO MANY PEOPLE would attend the breakfast buffet - there was NO ROOM to move around the area or even sit. We had to sit in the lobby one morning! Oh, and it was the SAME 2 HOT THINGS everyday! Nothing variated!!!! SAME THING SAME THING!!!!! Breakfast toaster would only do 4 pieces at a time - took way too long! Need a commercial toaster!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you order pizza - call Chapelles! It was AWESOME! I liked it a lot better than Pizza Hut or Dominoes. They deliver, too! (Right to the room!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, MD
Jun 29, 2009

Property was "just okay"...

As far as this hotel is concerned, if you're not looking for much out of the stay - it's a decent place to lay your head and shower. Shopping, dining and attractions are relatively close by (Colonial Williamsburg visitor center is about a mile and Busch Gardens is about a 20-30 minute drive).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Relatively close to many things - Kmart for convenience shopping right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 16, 2011

Not great

Overall, this was not a great experience for us. First off, we got a room with 2 beds for my wife, my daughter, and I. Two beds sounded great, until we found out they were full size beds. Sleeping 2 full size adults on a full size bed is difficult. However, this was less of an issue then the Wi-fi. The hotel did a horrible job of providing this basic service. I understand that they hire a company to provide this, but their support of me as a customer was shabby. Most of the staff was oblivious to the issue, even though it was no working for anyone in their rooms, and was hit-or-miss in the lobby. After 3 days I finally found a staff member that acknowledged the problem and gave me a number to call (up until that point I thought it was all managed by the hotel). I was there for 5+ nights and never had wireless in my room and in the lobby it never worked for more then 10 minutes. The Jacuzzi at the pool was no working, which was also a major bummer. On a positive note, the staff was friendly (although oblivious at times). Sadly, when it really comes down to it I do not think I would stay at his place again. Also, the complementary breakfast was pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Kmart right across the street was actually very helpful for picking up everyday items.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Oct 5, 2009

Disappointed

We selected this hotel based on the advertised amenities and the [...] sale price. So glad we did not pay full price. The pool was closed for repairs, the computer in the business center was out of order. Hot cookies???? What cookies??? The hot breakfast became our morning entertainment, listening to the other guests try to identify what was in the warming tray! We still aren't sure ourselves. The continental breakfast consisted of stale cereal, bagels (no other bread) and oranges that everyone was afraid to touch. I will look elsewhere for lodging in Williamsburg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
May 31, 2009

Dirty hotel

The room & bathroom were very dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Thawing Out
Business
Spotsylvania, VA
Mar 3, 2009

Clean but COLD ROOM IN THE WINTER

Very clean hotel, friendly staff, the room was clean -- but the heat barley kept the room above 60 degrees in the middle of January!! There was not much in the way of blankets to keep warm with either - just receiving blankets & sheets on the beds. The staff did switch our room but the new room was even colder - frigid!! So we asked to be switched back to the refrigerator room we were originally in and taken out of the freezer room they moved us to! The hotel is modern looking & it has been renovated. They offer a much better than most hotels breakfast in the morning but we didn't get much rest or get to enjoy our stay due to the cold night in our room. This also effected our entire trip :( Word of advice - check the heat in your room if you are staying in the winter months before you leave & go sight seeing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Colonial Williamsburg is a short drive away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
long island, ny
Sep 28, 2009

it was ok

well. the first thing was.[...] was supposed to give us a non-smoking room. which we didn't get so i was choking the whole night from the smell of nasty ciggerettes. the second thing was the sheets werent clean and the wallpaper was white but it looked yellow. compared to our other hotels it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Aug 27, 2009

Disappointing

We were really disappointed that we had to contact the front desk with several issues. The first problem was the fridge defrosting when we checked in which had water on the carpet. We contacted the front desk and they were going to have a new one put in our room or switch the room. We wound up breaking out the ice ourselves since nothing was done to accomadate us. We had food that we brought so we had to do something so we could use the fridge. The second issue was the AC not working properly. We couldn't seem to regulate the tempature and it was leaking on the carpet. We notified the front desk since the romm started to smell musty so we could maybe change rooms. We were told that we would have to wait until 3pm for check in and to come back then. We had to hang aroung the area so that we could switch rooms at 3pm. After talking to someone in housekeeping we contacted the General Manager andn explained our experience since we had been there. He was very upset and was more than willing to help us out. He changed our room and told us he would contact Orbitz to have our previous night reimbursed. To top all of that we checked out and a realized we left our portable DVD player and some other food itmes in our first room. We called and we told that the items we not there. The staff said they would look into it some more however our first room was already rented out(Hopefully they fixed the issue with the AC and saturated carpet). We have not heard anything back as of yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Thay have a lot of places to eat in the area which you can walk to or are only a short ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top