$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Best Western Historic Area

3 stars
201 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
400 reviews
near everything

breakfast was very good. The stay was pleasant. Rooms very clean. See full review

  • mcrex
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great for Families!!!

Everything we expected and wanted and more. We will definitely stay again. See full review

  • Tiffany L.R.
  • Jun 15, 2014
Budget Williamsburg hotel near water parks, outlets and Busch Gardens
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg is ideally situated near Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg Prime Outlets, Busch Gardens and Water County USA. Renovated rooms boast modern touches such as granite countertops and free Wi-Fi. An indoor pool adds to the experience. Free continental breakfast and fresh baked cookies are signatures.

Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Indoor pool
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Colonial Williamsburg, the Jamestown Settlement and Busch Gardens
  • Renovated rooms with granite countertops, microwaves and refrigerators

Rooms
Rooms at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg feature scroll-patterned carpets, dark wood furniture and brass sconces. Printed blankets contrast with stark white linens. Guests have many conveniences at their disposal, including free Wi-Fi, cable TV, a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Features
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg treats guests to Southern hospitality with fresh baked cookies and a free buffet-style breakfast with make-your-own waffles. An indoor pool welcomes after tour-filled day at nearby Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg, Water Country USA and Busch Gardens. A game room entertains the kids at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.3 mi/63.3 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Williamsburg (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Water Country USA  (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Busch Gardens (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (6.4 mi/10.2 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.2 mi/40.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (37.8 mi/60.9 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.3 mi/61.6 km)
  • The Ghent District (37.7 mi/60.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.4 mi/61.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (50.3 mi/81 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (51.7 mi/83.2 km)

Hotel Map

37.2853 -76.7168
Area served
Williamsburg.
Nearby airports
Williamsburg/Newport News International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located just 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg and only five miles from Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. The College of William and Mary is 1.5 miles and outlet shopping is 3 miles. Great area golf course only minutes away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Historic Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Best Western Historic Area Rooms

Double
The bedding option for this room includes 2 double beds with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.
King
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed and 1 puulout sofa with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (400)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Historic Area

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
400 out of 400
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
marray adventure
south amboy, NJ
Jun 13, 2010

good location

The hotel was good for rest only. The room was too unclean to stay indoors. It was great place for nearby entertaiment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

near colonial williamsburg, bush gardens

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Jul 26, 2009

The hotel was ok not the best.

The hotel was quite, The staff were friendly . There complementary breakfast was not good at all. The room were small. The location were great to walk from the hotel. Kmart was in walking distance and other food places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harrisburg, PA
Dec 13, 2010

Average Hotel

The Best Western Historic Area was conveniently located to Historic Williamsburg, shopping and dining. However, the bathroom was extremely small and you could hardly get the door closed without standing in the shower. The bathroom was not spotless either - the housekeeping crew did not clean behind the bathroom door - and there was hair and dirt there. Half of the lights in our room did not work properly. They either did not turn on or did not turn off if they did turn on. I mentioned this to the front desk and they said that we should turn the light off by unscrewing the light bulb with a towel because they did not have a maintenance person there. They did offer to move our room if we wanted. We also had to call the front desk because our "neighbor" had the TV so loud we could hear every word through the wall. The pool was open, but the hot tub was not. The breakfast every morning was definitely a plus and they were well stocked with supplies each day. The staff was friendly overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tabbbm
nj
Aug 4, 2009

You get what you pay for.

The location was good for going to Williamsburg, Busch Gardens and Water Country. The price was good and the breakfast was ok, but the room wasn't the cleanest (and needs a little TLC) and the pool was always over crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Busy business family
Business
New Bern, North Carolina
Jun 13, 2009

Extremely, Small room !!!

Our Family of 4 arrived at 2pm from a long trip and we were unable to check in until 3pm ( disappointing since we needed to change the baby ). We returned after 6 pm, our room was a king with a sofa bed. It was so small and had no real closet, no place for suit cases so we had to leave them on the floor and stumble our them for 3 days. The Jacuzz tub was nice but the bath room was so small you had to crawl our the toilet to climb in. The breakfast was nice but the coffee was so weak, and room was hot. Every morning employees woke our children up very early. The employees were talking to each other loadly across the parking lot directly outside our window. My husband knocked on the window and asked them to be quiet it did not help. It made for a long tired day for all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Feb 24, 2008

not satisfied w/hotel

first, the room was fine but, we had to move our room 3 times because, 1- no frig,2- not clean and 3rd one to mico. our room was located oppsite the game room and it was quite loud until way after midnight, plus kids were kicking a soccer ball up and down the hallway and the ball kept hitting our door and others. we had to call the front desk to have the stop the noise which they did. the breakfast was nothing but AWFUL..........no meats, no eggs, no pastry, fruit-only banbans. ran out of coffee on second day. they were cleaning up before 10am while we were eating still. i could go on about the above bbut i will stop here but, again the Breakfast was a total MESS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Wales
Jan 2, 2009

Not very clean

When we arrived we could see he room had not been vacuumed and there was hair in the tub. Most of the time here was very little hot water for showers. The hot water faucet was broken and constantly came off. The heating system was noisy and on our last night never shut off even though we turned it off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of dining possibilities.

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Sep 14, 2009

Close to attractions

We were barely at the hotel..Basically just to sleep. The hotel needs to be updated...especially the carpets. We used it to sleep in after a long day at the Richmond race and at Williamsburg. Good for the price. But we will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Jul 4, 2009

Good location

We were on a Granddaughter tour of history. Williamsburg was great and this hotel was in middle of Historic Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. Stayed for 3 nights and got a big break on the price. Would have been too high for value if paid full price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Papa jo
arizona
Jul 20, 2009

great staff, old hotel

Hotel should be rated 2 stars. Staff was very friendly, but the facility is aged. The promotional pictures are accurate, but taken of mediocre rooms and facilities in such a way as to make them look nice. The pool is scary, and tinted green. The whirlpool was not operable, and probably a good thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search