$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Best Western Historic Area

3 stars
View map of 201 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Historic Area

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
414 out of 414
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
youhu
Business
baltimore
Apr 22, 2014

Bad wireless WiFi

Price and free breakfast are good, but Wifi is terrible. You can do nothing with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh,NC
Jul 7, 2009

NOT WORTH THE MONEY

I was eagerly anticipating my stay at this hotel but was very dissapointed. The jacuzzi was broken which is the main reason i chose the hotel and I was given no discount. Also their idea of a hot breakfast was a joke. The last hotel I stayed in which was much cheaper a few days before arriving at this hotel had a better breakfast. The french toast was cold and hard. The eggs were cold. Also they had the nerve to use generic cereal and the generic froot loops were terrible. Also there were no danish, toast or english muffins. The staff should be ashamed of this breakfast. The room itself was okay. I would never stay it this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

very near the outlet mall and a good yankee candel store

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DPK
Business
Springfield, VA
Aug 22, 2009

Very Dirty

I normally am not a very picky traveler and don't need 5 star quality, however, I was apalled with this hotel. We checked in late and headed to the pool. We walked in and all had to re-decide if we really wanted to get in since it smelled and looked filthy. We were with two 4 year olds though and couldn't let them down. With in 5 minutes I had snot (from the water not me) all over my shoulder. My friends baby had all kinds of stuff stuck to him as well. We gave the kids 5 minutes and got out of there. The bathrooms had hair stuck in the PLASTER on the wall! The mat on the bottom of the shower had mildew all over it so I difinetely wore shower shoes in there... the towels stank like they had been sitting in water and then air dried. Lets just say that by the end of the night my son, husband and I all slept on top of the cover since we were too scared to find out what was underneath...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lot's of restuarants right down the road also about a 4 minute drive to the historic area.

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chesapeake Traveler
Business
Chesapeake
May 19, 2012

Disappointed

There are many hotels in W'burg with much lower rates - but I wanted a touch of "luxury" for my one business travel ovenight. The decor is dated and dark. Staff were certainly pleasant and room was very well equipped (fridge, microwave and coffee maker). Even though b'fast was included, I don't think I got anything extra for the price. TV was not flat screen! B'fast was unpleasant because there was a bus of teens in the dining space - staff couldn't keep up with the demand for food - other guests couldn't get to the food through all the kids!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jayavine
Business
Willamsburg, VA
Aug 20, 2012

Staff

The day of checking out, the check out time was 11:00 AM, Someone is banging the door at 8:30 am and we are still sleeping then they opened the door I guess they saw that all are things is still inside. Then around 10:00 someone is knocking again. When I open the door it was the cleaning lady and she told me that she will be back to clean the room. I did not appreciate that they should check on the system if we check out alraedy instead of banging the door and opening it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sib1
Business
Chesapeake, VA
Nov 29, 2012

Nice local

Was expecting the room to be cleaner and not so old, it needs to be upgraded. Location was perfect, we will stay at the new Holiday Inn next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just visiting from cal...
Business
Fairfield, Ca
Aug 26, 2013

Aug trip to williamsburg

Its a good place to stay for a couple of days. The bathroom needed to be cleaned and there was mold in the shower. The bathroom was too small. The breakfast was horrible and there was no room to sit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ReunionAttendee
Business
Iowa
Sep 4, 2013

Fine, but won't stay here again

Room was mediocre at best. We won't stay at this hotel again. We had stains on our towels and there was moldy grout in the tub. We could hear people in the halls and in the other rooms even in the middle of the night. Breakfast area was very small, though for a cont. breakfast, there was a lot to choose from. I don't mind a budget hotel, but I felt I paid too much for this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Englisher
Business
pa
Aug 16, 2010

an only ok stay

great location for visiting the Historic Triangle. However, got there late, there weren't enough pillows in the room, unhhelpful staff member said she "wasn't sure how many pillows there should be in a hotel room" amazing................... Iron didn't work, fridge didn't work, however all issues were resolved efficiently, just wished they had resolved them before we arrived! Couldn't eat breakfast inthe hotel, the dining area was far too small for the number of guests.........not happy! There are lots of newer hotels in the locality, go there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Mar 15, 2010

close to historic Williamsburg

It would have been helpful if [...] had given us the address of the property with the confirmation. There was at least two of the same properties with the same name and one had recently gone out of business. That is the location we went to and you can imagine how we felt pulling up to a property that was closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top