$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Best Western Historic Area

3 stars
201 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
393 reviews
near everything

breakfast was very good. The stay was pleasant. Rooms very clean. See full review

  • mcrex
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great for Families!!!

Everything we expected and wanted and more. We will definitely stay again. See full review

  • Tiffany L.R.
  • Jun 15, 2014
Budget Williamsburg hotel near water parks, outlets and Busch Gardens
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg is ideally situated near Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg Prime Outlets, Busch Gardens and Water County USA. Renovated rooms boast modern touches such as granite countertops and free Wi-Fi. An indoor pool adds to the experience. Free continental breakfast and fresh baked cookies are signatures.

Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Indoor pool
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Colonial Williamsburg, the Jamestown Settlement and Busch Gardens
  • Renovated rooms with granite countertops, microwaves and refrigerators

Rooms
Rooms at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg feature scroll-patterned carpets, dark wood furniture and brass sconces. Printed blankets contrast with stark white linens. Guests have many conveniences at their disposal, including free Wi-Fi, cable TV, a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Features
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg treats guests to Southern hospitality with fresh baked cookies and a free buffet-style breakfast with make-your-own waffles. An indoor pool welcomes after tour-filled day at nearby Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg, Water Country USA and Busch Gardens. A game room entertains the kids at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.3 mi/63.3 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Williamsburg (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Water Country USA  (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Busch Gardens (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (6.4 mi/10.2 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.2 mi/40.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (37.8 mi/60.9 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.3 mi/61.6 km)
  • The Ghent District (37.7 mi/60.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.4 mi/61.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (50.3 mi/81 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (51.7 mi/83.2 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Historic Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Best Western Historic Area Rooms

Double
The bedding option for this room includes 2 double beds with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.
King
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed and 1 puulout sofa with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (393)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Historic Area

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
393 out of 393
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Julie Not So Happy
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 30, 2010

Totally misleading hotel amenities

Absolutely terrible. We chose this hotel for location, hot tub and breakfast. To our dismay, this hotel was not in walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg, the hot tub was broken and we couldnt even get any breakfast due to long lines and ignorant people. I dont quite know how this hotel can call this a deluxe continental breakfast when there werent even any hot items and they had hard boiled eggs sitting in a tray of ice. We thought we were saving money buy chosing this hotel for breakfast, but we ended up still paying for breakfast every morning. Also, the pool looked so murky we wouldnt even go in it for fear of contracting some sort of infection. No wonder why the desk clerk didnt ask us how our stay was when we were checking out, im sure she was tired of everyone with their complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Troutville, VA
Jun 1, 2009

Not as advertised!!

Hotel is not as advertised. We had to change rooms 5 times to get a clean and working room. Sheets were not changed, air conditioner did not work, toilets would not flush and cigarette smoke in non-smoking room. The hotel smells bad. The staff was very kind to accomodate us due to the problems with each room. This hotel needs alot of work. Would advise to shop for other hotels. Would not stay again. I am a buget shopper on hotels and made a big mistake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 7, 2009

Would not stay here again.

On the first night, we noticed a large black water bug crawling up the wall and onto the ceiling. I tried to catch the bug in a napkin, but it jumped to the floor and skuttered next to the bed. Getting down on my knees to catch it I discovered all kinds of crumbs, crumpled napkins, and even an old broken hair clip near the bed. This was on our first night - you'd think the staff would at least do a pretty comprehensive cleaning between staying parties. I never found the bug. Our room was on the top floor, and there must have been some sort of a/c machine on the roof above because it sounded like we were in an airplane inside the room. The loud hum never ceased during our entire stay. The staff was not overly friendly, and seemed to try and do their jobs with the least amount of interaction possible. The desk manager didn't even inquire about the quality of our stay on check out, opting instead for an unappreciative "You're good to go." The advertised pool was closed. There are many places to stay in and around Williamsburg, all of which are reasonably close to everything. I strongly recommend that you stay at another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
steve and jody
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Sep 10, 2009

Keep on driving

Toilet leaked and front desk said they would come right up for repairs and never came, good thing my husband is handy. We got an extra blanket from the front desk and it seriously had at least 5 good sized holes in it. Not many options for breakfast. Plus.... WHAT COOKIES???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Busch Gardens, best place on Earth!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodbridge, VA
Apr 24, 2010

Best Western Historic Area

Old hotel, not renovated recently. [...] Ants in the room, hot breakfast was terrible--just a toaster and waffle iron.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go elsewhere, you will not like this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GMATT
Business
Rochester NY
Jun 14, 2011

Ok Hotel @ best

Room was only "fairly" clean. Seems to be a 80's Hotel. Bed sheets were clean, but rest of room left much to be desired.TV was a 1990's model, no flat screen. Room was previously a smoker room (evidence) on Air Conditioner (hint.....clean!)Wall sockets were old and would not hold a plug for my phone (had to use bathroom GFI). All in all, you can do much better for the price elsewhere in town. And to add just one more item to my experience, I had a hotel staffer open my door while I was in the room and did not identify herself until IN THE ROOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Said there were people in rooms that had not paid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler Mike
Business
Waynesboro, PA
Nov 30, 2009

Not quite what we expected

My wife and I visit Williamsburg several times per year to visit Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg. This trip was to visit Busch Gardens ChristmasTown celebration. We booked this hotel because of the price...but the old saying "you get what you pay for" is absolutely true with regards to this hotel. This was not a very good experience. At check-in we were notified that since we booked through a discount site, they changed our room from the King w/ sofabed that we booked to a handicapped queen (one bed in the room). Basically, they overbooked their hotel. Since we were traveling with a child, they changed it back -- but it required us to speak with a manager, etc. Bottom line, they didn't want to honor our reservation. Warning - this hotel allows timeshare people in their lobby to solicit you every time you walk in or out of the front doors. It gets real annoying, real fast! The rooms were not clean. Hairs in the bathroom, stains on the linens. Picture missing from the wall with nail sticking out. Hall lights missing covers. Plumbing was noisy - made sounds all night. This hotel does not have comforters on the beds. There is a sheet and a heavier sheet only. No extra pillows were available. So, we had a total of four flat pillows provided for a king size bed AND sofabed. The internet did not work. Maximum speed you could get for free is 512k. But that didn't even work. Not a single page would load on either computer in the business center. We spend 20+ nights per year in hotels and this was not a good experience. We do not recommend this hotel for any of your travel needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

This hotel actually provided a microwave and refrigerator in the room. Buy bottles of water across the street at Kmart and keep them cold for when you are going out to visit Colonial Williamsburg or Busch Gardens.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
Oct 4, 2009

Shabby Beyond Our Wildest Expectations

This is probably our worst hotel experience in Williamsburg. We selected Best Western for the indoor pool, which, come to find out, was out of service our entire visit. When we told our neighbors about the experience, they laughed, and said the pool was out of service during their entire visit in 2008. I guess some things never change. We also liked the idea of the free breakfast, but the weak coffee, fake "juice," and soggy, barely identifiable french toast fingers, made for a slightly nauseous morning. On the other hand, the Fruit Loops weren't stale! On the positive side, 1 of 2 computers in the business center was working, and the 2 elevators worked for most of our stay. However, at one point, as I was exiting the elevator with my 2-year-old, the maid asked if we were the ones who had been trapped in the elevator. Uh-oh. I suppose I should also mention that they "ran out" of complimentary newspapers. Oh well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh,NC
Jul 7, 2009

NOT WORTH THE MONEY

I was eagerly anticipating my stay at this hotel but was very dissapointed. The jacuzzi was broken which is the main reason i chose the hotel and I was given no discount. Also their idea of a hot breakfast was a joke. The last hotel I stayed in which was much cheaper a few days before arriving at this hotel had a better breakfast. The french toast was cold and hard. The eggs were cold. Also they had the nerve to use generic cereal and the generic froot loops were terrible. Also there were no danish, toast or english muffins. The staff should be ashamed of this breakfast. The room itself was okay. I would never stay it this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

very near the outlet mall and a good yankee candel store

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DPK
Business
Springfield, VA
Aug 22, 2009

Very Dirty

I normally am not a very picky traveler and don't need 5 star quality, however, I was apalled with this hotel. We checked in late and headed to the pool. We walked in and all had to re-decide if we really wanted to get in since it smelled and looked filthy. We were with two 4 year olds though and couldn't let them down. With in 5 minutes I had snot (from the water not me) all over my shoulder. My friends baby had all kinds of stuff stuck to him as well. We gave the kids 5 minutes and got out of there. The bathrooms had hair stuck in the PLASTER on the wall! The mat on the bottom of the shower had mildew all over it so I difinetely wore shower shoes in there... the towels stank like they had been sitting in water and then air dried. Lets just say that by the end of the night my son, husband and I all slept on top of the cover since we were too scared to find out what was underneath...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lot's of restuarants right down the road also about a 4 minute drive to the historic area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top