$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Best Western Historic Area

3 stars
201 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
696 reviews
near everything

breakfast was very good. The stay was pleasant. Rooms very clean. See full review

  • mcrex
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great for Families!!!

Everything we expected and wanted and more. We will definitely stay again. See full review

  • Tiffany L.R.
  • Jun 15, 2014
Budget Williamsburg hotel near water parks, outlets and Busch Gardens
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg is ideally situated near Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg Prime Outlets, Busch Gardens and Water County USA. Renovated rooms boast modern touches such as granite countertops and free Wi-Fi. An indoor pool adds to the experience. Free continental breakfast and fresh baked cookies are signatures.

Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Indoor pool
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Colonial Williamsburg, the Jamestown Settlement and Busch Gardens
  • Renovated rooms with granite countertops, microwaves and refrigerators

Rooms
Rooms at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg feature scroll-patterned carpets, dark wood furniture and brass sconces. Printed blankets contrast with stark white linens. Guests have many conveniences at their disposal, including free Wi-Fi, cable TV, a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Features
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg treats guests to Southern hospitality with fresh baked cookies and a free buffet-style breakfast with make-your-own waffles. An indoor pool welcomes after tour-filled day at nearby Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg, Water Country USA and Busch Gardens. A game room entertains the kids at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.3 mi/63.3 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Williamsburg (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Water Country USA  (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Busch Gardens (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (6.4 mi/10.2 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.2 mi/40.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (37.8 mi/60.9 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.3 mi/61.6 km)
  • The Ghent District (37.7 mi/60.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.4 mi/61.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (50.3 mi/81 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (51.7 mi/83.2 km)

Hotel Map

37.2853 -76.7168
Area served
Williamsburg.
Nearby airports
Williamsburg/Newport News International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located just 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg and only five miles from Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. The College of William and Mary is 1.5 miles and outlet shopping is 3 miles. Great area golf course only minutes away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Historic Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Best Western Historic Area Rooms

Double
The bedding option for this room includes 2 double beds with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.
King
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed and 1 puulout sofa with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (696)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Historic Area

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
696 out of 696
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bassin
newburgh, ny
Nov 28, 2011

Bad sheets

Poor not good the sheets had not been clean and were stained. The room was dirty and sloppy. Not good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodbridge, VA
Apr 24, 2010

Best Western Historic Area

Old hotel, not renovated recently. [...] Ants in the room, hot breakfast was terrible--just a toaster and waffle iron.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go elsewhere, you will not like this hotel.

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 7, 2009

Would not stay here again.

On the first night, we noticed a large black water bug crawling up the wall and onto the ceiling. I tried to catch the bug in a napkin, but it jumped to the floor and skuttered next to the bed. Getting down on my knees to catch it I discovered all kinds of crumbs, crumpled napkins, and even an old broken hair clip near the bed. This was on our first night - you'd think the staff would at least do a pretty comprehensive cleaning between staying parties. I never found the bug. Our room was on the top floor, and there must have been some sort of a/c machine on the roof above because it sounded like we were in an airplane inside the room. The loud hum never ceased during our entire stay. The staff was not overly friendly, and seemed to try and do their jobs with the least amount of interaction possible. The desk manager didn't even inquire about the quality of our stay on check out, opting instead for an unappreciative "You're good to go." The advertised pool was closed. There are many places to stay in and around Williamsburg, all of which are reasonably close to everything. I strongly recommend that you stay at another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fredericksburg, VA
Aug 18, 2009

Bait and Switch

We were not happy with this hotel from the moment we drove up! The landscaping looked like it hadn't been maintained all summer. There were weeds, trash, cigarette butts, large tree branches everywhere. No one was at the front desk when we tried to check in and other guests were telling us that someone would be here soon. The hallways, common areas, and rooms were NOT CLEAN. The room was musty and dirty. Our 2 year old became very conjested right away. We had our hopes up when we went to the pool, but the best way to describe this area is DISGUSTING!!! The whirlpool was shut down and the pool was so gross. My kids kept pulling out "hairballs" and laying them on the side of the pool. This hotel was advertised as a great special, but it was not even worth $50 bucks. We were extremely disappointed. If our card had not been charged we would definitely have quickly moved to another hotel. I read reviews and make decisions based on them. Take this advice and stay anywhere but here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arlington, VA
Oct 4, 2009

Shabby Beyond Our Wildest Expectations

This is probably our worst hotel experience in Williamsburg. We selected Best Western for the indoor pool, which, come to find out, was out of service our entire visit. When we told our neighbors about the experience, they laughed, and said the pool was out of service during their entire visit in 2008. I guess some things never change. We also liked the idea of the free breakfast, but the weak coffee, fake "juice," and soggy, barely identifiable french toast fingers, made for a slightly nauseous morning. On the other hand, the Fruit Loops weren't stale! On the positive side, 1 of 2 computers in the business center was working, and the 2 elevators worked for most of our stay. However, at one point, as I was exiting the elevator with my 2-year-old, the maid asked if we were the ones who had been trapped in the elevator. Uh-oh. I suppose I should also mention that they "ran out" of complimentary newspapers. Oh well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MKay
Blue Bell, PA
Aug 23, 2011

Williamsburg overnight stay

I booked a room with a King Bed and Queen sleep sofa and paid additional for this. When I checked in late Saturday, I could see that the front desk clerk was providing me a room with two queen beds. I told him that I booked a King and queen and the clerk advised that was not what their system showed. I pulled my Orbitz confirm email up on my cell phone and showed the clerk and was then told that the hotel was booked to capacity and no other rooms were available and I was given a cot. The room was very dirty with the shower having only a liner that had dirt all over it. The continental breakfast area was small for the size of the hotel and not kep clean as well as a poor food selection with even the coffee being lousy. If this is a Premium Best Western, I can't imagine the condition of a regular Best Western. This hotel warrants a one star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Sep 8, 2009

I should have been paid to stay here

We selected this hotel based on the 3-star rating, which was to include internet service, an indoor pool and jacquzzi, a hot continental breakfast and freshly baked cookies each afternoon. A blood-stained sheet was put on one of the beds in our room two days into our stay. Our room had such an overpowering smell of mildew that it permeated our clothing and our cooler. Even the clothes we didn't wear had to be washed when we got home. A roach crawled across my foot in the bathroom. We couldn't review park itineraries or check in at work because there was no internet service. The jacquzzi was drained and non-operational. The continental breakfast consisted of stale cereal, bread or bagels, oranges, and french toast sticks -- every day. There were children running, screaming through the halls. We couldn't use the pool Friday or Saturday because there were groups of boys playing rough, popping towels and acting wild. We had to ask for extra bath towels as only two were provided. No cookies, freshly baked or otherwise, were offered at any time during our stay. This didn't come close to being a 3-star hotel. I will never stay at this hotel again, and I'm having second thoughts about ever using Orbitz again after this experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If your hotel is as bad as this one, stay out late at area attractions. Colonial Williamsburg has the best evening programs for families.

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
garden mania
Washington DC
Aug 7, 2009

First day disaster and average service

First day, did not got what we want. Move us to other room which is still in repair. We return original room that have no double bed, no microwave, no alarm clock. Noisy across hotel service room. Pull out sofa bed don't have mattress and bed-sheet cover and pillow. Pool is not clean. It's not enough room in breakfast area. Below average continental breakfast. I will never go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodbridge Va
Aug 8, 2011

Not good at all

The AC wasn't working very well. It was hot and we check out a day early. We will never go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 7, 2009

Would not stay here again.

On the first night, we noticed a large black water bug crawling up the wall and onto the ceiling. I tried to catch the bug in a napkin, but it jumped to the floor and skuttered next to the bed. Getting down on my knees to catch it I discovered all kinds of crumbs, crumpled napkins, and even an old broken hair clip near the bed. This was on our first night - you'd think the staff would at least do a pretty comprehensive cleaning between staying parties. I never found the bug. Our room was on the top floor, and there must have been some sort of a/c machine on the roof above because it sounded like we were in an airplane inside the room. The loud hum never ceased during our entire stay. The staff was not overly friendly, and seemed to try and do their jobs with the least amount of interaction possible. The desk manager didn't even inquire about the quality of our stay on check out, opting instead for an unappreciative "You're good to go." The advertised pool was closed. There are many places to stay in and around Williamsburg, all of which are reasonably close to everything. I strongly recommend that you stay at another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top