$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Best Western Historic Area

3 stars
201 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
393 reviews
near everything

breakfast was very good. The stay was pleasant. Rooms very clean. See full review

  • mcrex
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great for Families!!!

Everything we expected and wanted and more. We will definitely stay again. See full review

  • Tiffany L.R.
  • Jun 15, 2014
Budget Williamsburg hotel near water parks, outlets and Busch Gardens
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg is ideally situated near Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg Prime Outlets, Busch Gardens and Water County USA. Renovated rooms boast modern touches such as granite countertops and free Wi-Fi. An indoor pool adds to the experience. Free continental breakfast and fresh baked cookies are signatures.

Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Indoor pool
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Colonial Williamsburg, the Jamestown Settlement and Busch Gardens
  • Renovated rooms with granite countertops, microwaves and refrigerators

Rooms
Rooms at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg feature scroll-patterned carpets, dark wood furniture and brass sconces. Printed blankets contrast with stark white linens. Guests have many conveniences at their disposal, including free Wi-Fi, cable TV, a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Features
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg treats guests to Southern hospitality with fresh baked cookies and a free buffet-style breakfast with make-your-own waffles. An indoor pool welcomes after tour-filled day at nearby Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg, Water Country USA and Busch Gardens. A game room entertains the kids at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.3 mi/63.3 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Williamsburg (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Water Country USA  (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Busch Gardens (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (6.4 mi/10.2 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.2 mi/40.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (37.8 mi/60.9 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.3 mi/61.6 km)
  • The Ghent District (37.7 mi/60.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.4 mi/61.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (50.3 mi/81 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (51.7 mi/83.2 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Historic Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Best Western Historic Area Rooms

Double
The bedding option for this room includes 2 double beds with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.
King
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed and 1 puulout sofa with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (393)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Historic Area

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
393 out of 393
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caity
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Perfect quick trip

My boyfriend and I were looking for a cheap mini-vacation to Virginia for about five days/four nights. We were looking for a place that was a little nicer than your average motel, and I have to say we got that and more at such a great rate with Best Western. I read reviews and was only really concerned about the temperature of the room, but once we got there it was quite obvious there were no problems with the air conditioning. The climate and atmosphere were so comfortable I slept better than I have in ages! All in all, my experience was great. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was fresh and filling daily, the room was spacious and cozy (and came stocked with a microwave and refrigerator which was quite helpful!), and the location was extremely convenient. Name any restaurant or fast food joint, and it can be found within two miles of Best Western Historic Area Inn. I will certainly be staying at this hotel upon my next trip to Virginia. My boyfriend and I are truly grateful for the amazing hospitality!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
garden mania
Business
Washington DC
Aug 7, 2009

First day disaster and average service

First day, did not got what we want. Move us to other room which is still in repair. We return original room that have no double bed, no microwave, no alarm clock. Noisy across hotel service room. Pull out sofa bed don't have mattress and bed-sheet cover and pillow. Pool is not clean. It's not enough room in breakfast area. Below average continental breakfast. I will never go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
May 19, 2010

Won't stay here again

I stayed here hoping to save some money. Well, that was a mistake. The room was dirty and it was smoking when I requested non-smoking. There was no hot water in the morning and the staff informed us we would just have to wait as the hotel was full. I have never stayed at a hotel without any hot water. We had to take a cold shower which was miserable. The breakfast bar was messy and they had put out rotten bananas for breakfast. I couldn't eat anything after seeing that. We left and stayed at another hotel the following night. They told me they would refund my total cost for two nights but they only refunded the second night when we left and stayed elsewhere. I was very disappointed in that. I will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joselio
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Lame excuse!

Regretably, I cannot comment on the hotel amenities or comfort , because it seems the hotel was overbooked and I could not stay there. When I tried to check in the recepcionist's answer was that there was a maintanance problem so they had to close some of the rooms. For that reason I was sent to another hotel ten miles from there. But my friends who checked in earlier got their romms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bassin
Business
newburgh, ny
Nov 28, 2011

Bad sheets

Poor not good the sheets had not been clean and were stained. The room was dirty and sloppy. Not good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RobeJeffri
Business
Fredericksburg Virginia
Aug 30, 2012

Friendly Staff & Nothing more!!

Let me start with the good stuff. Oh wait that wont take long. Anyway the staff at the front desk and breakfast were the only good thing about this hotel. Our room (306) left alot to be desired. The A/C did not blow very well at all. The room stayed warm during the day. Even after telling the young lady on nightshift at the front desk nothing was done. Our TV had a steady black line that ran down the left side of the screen. Beds very small, not big enough for 2 people in my opinion. Hey but we did have hot water in the shower even though the bathrooms are small. Oh where do I begin with the swimming pool, my advice to anyone who stays here STAY OUT OF THE POOL. The water was very very cloudy and thad no chlorine in the pool at all. The staff stated that the maintenance guy takes care of the pool but said he has no clue what he is doing. My advice go stay elsewhere dont waste your money here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurant named "Food For Thought". Very good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DisappointedDan
Business
Mayock, NC
Sep 10, 2012

Never again

Very excited to race my first half ironman and figured that a hotel with three stars would be sufficient for my stay. They checked someone else in under my reservation because we had the same first name, the room had a very distinct odor, the carpeting was sticky, the TV made very noticeable highly pitched noise. Drove home after a grueling day that began at 4:30 am to avoid spending another night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
French545
Business
Portland OR
Mar 17, 2013

Just a one night stay

The walls are paper thin and leaves nothing to the imagination when the folks in the next room become active. Hated walking in bare feet on the room carpet - who knows when it was last cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Visitor to Williamsburg
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 25, 2010

Bed bugs and poor professionalism

We found a bed bug in the room- a classic adult example. We told the desk clerk, who immediately put us in another room. As we were packing up our things, the manager burst into the room, denied that we had seen a bed bug, said she didn't see any on the bed right then, and to hurry up as she was going to re-rent out the room. Not only did she not consult a professional exterminator, she was rude to us and her dismissive attitude is exactly what has allowed bedbug infestations at other hotels. I would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Apr 11, 2010

Saved up our hard earned money for this?

We wanted a centrally located hotel (to Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg) with an indoor pool and free breakfast. The pool was less than clean, and the hot tub is broken, has been for quite a while by the looks of it. We had to change rooms twice due to dirty linens (looked like dried [*] stains on one of the beds). The grout on the bathroom floor was less than clean. I would recommend keeping your shoes on at all times. We found out that the owners of this hotel have been spoken to about getting it back up to par by Best Western. The staff was helpful, but overwhelmed due to 4 large groups of teens being in and out of the hotel all week. We spoke to some other guests (who were not with the large groups) and it seemed they had the same complaints about the cleanliness and the pool. If you are looking for a hotel that is close to everything, there are many to choose from, may I suggest you choose another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free breakfast was passable, once they added a second waffle iron. Oranges and bananas, if you got up early enough. Greasy sausage. The coffee was terrible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Jul 21, 2010

Don't stay here!

Terrible hotel. I would NEVER stay there again!!! One of two elevators didn't work most of the time. One of our group had bites from bed bugs. Keys stopped working and we were let into our rooms without identification from the cleaning staff. Breakfast area was way too small for the number of guests at the hotel. Pillows were small and hard. Overall, hotel room was dirty and hotel was noisy. Staff was nice but one person we thought was the concierge turned out to be working for a time share near Williamsburg. Waste of time talking to him and we didn't figure out that he was trying to get us to tour the timeshare property for quite a while.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top