$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 23, 2015 Check-out: Mar 26, 2015

Best Western Historic Area

3 stars
View map of 201 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
393 reviews
near everything

breakfast was very good. The stay was pleasant. Rooms very clean. See full review

  • mcrex
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great for Families!!!

Everything we expected and wanted and more. We will definitely stay again. See full review

  • Tiffany L.R.
  • Jun 15, 2014
Budget Williamsburg hotel near water parks, outlets and Busch Gardens
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg is ideally situated near Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg Prime Outlets, Busch Gardens and Water County USA. Renovated rooms boast modern touches such as granite countertops and free Wi-Fi. An indoor pool adds to the experience. Free continental breakfast and fresh baked cookies are signatures.

Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Indoor pool
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Colonial Williamsburg, the Jamestown Settlement and Busch Gardens
  • Renovated rooms with granite countertops, microwaves and refrigerators

Rooms
Rooms at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg feature scroll-patterned carpets, dark wood furniture and brass sconces. Printed blankets contrast with stark white linens. Guests have many conveniences at their disposal, including free Wi-Fi, cable TV, a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Features
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg treats guests to Southern hospitality with fresh baked cookies and a free buffet-style breakfast with make-your-own waffles. An indoor pool welcomes after tour-filled day at nearby Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg, Water Country USA and Busch Gardens. A game room entertains the kids at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.3 mi/63.3 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Williamsburg (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Water Country USA  (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Busch Gardens (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (6.4 mi/10.2 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.2 mi/40.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (37.8 mi/60.9 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.3 mi/61.6 km)
  • The Ghent District (37.7 mi/60.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.4 mi/61.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (50.3 mi/81 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (51.7 mi/83.2 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Historic Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Best Western Historic Area Rooms

Double
The bedding option for this room includes 2 double beds with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.
King
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed and 1 puulout sofa with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Free full breakfast
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (393)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Historic Area

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
393 out of 393
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Natasha888
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Nice hotel great price "HOT" breakfat could have been better

The hotel was nice for the price. Rooms could have been a bit bigger and the "HOT" breakfast could have had a better variety each day and MORE hot items. The breafast caretaker, HASSAN was sweet . There are alot of hotels along this highway I think I will also look into to their prices and amentities for a future trip to busch gardens. The hotel is located near the premium outlets which are fantastic and plenty of dinning options are also near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive to busch gardens water country and park and plenty of shopping & resturants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ZenAgain
Business
Middletown, DE, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Labor Day Weekend

Upon trying to check-in we were told our reservation wasn't there. We have used orbitz many times and never had a problem. Be sure to have your confirmation papers ready to go! Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The walls are paper thin though and every noise from the hallway can be heard in the morning. The breakfast buffet was terrible! Very limited selection of choices and what was available seemed to be bottom of the barrel selections. Location was close to everything and parking lot was never crowded. Despite the price being cheap, we will be going elsewhere and spending more next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Avoid the Cracker Barrel at all costs! The wait was horrible for breakfast and the service was the worst we have ever experienced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
paintgregg
Business
Anaheim, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Good value and good location

A good value for the money and close to many restaurants, stores, and only about 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. We had a good experience with this hotel, especially since we checked in only a few hours after their power was restored from hurricane Irene. The room was clean and the bed was reasonably comfortable. The continental breakfast was average but nothing special. The indoor pool was clean but had a strong chlorine smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Cracker Barrel directly across the street which is always good. There are some good restaurants on Richmond road only about 2-3 minutes away. Did not like the Black Angus Grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MKay
Business
Blue Bell, PA
Aug 23, 2011

Williamsburg overnight stay

I booked a room with a King Bed and Queen sleep sofa and paid additional for this. When I checked in late Saturday, I could see that the front desk clerk was providing me a room with two queen beds. I told him that I booked a King and queen and the clerk advised that was not what their system showed. I pulled my Orbitz confirm email up on my cell phone and showed the clerk and was then told that the hotel was booked to capacity and no other rooms were available and I was given a cot. The room was very dirty with the shower having only a liner that had dirt all over it. The continental breakfast area was small for the size of the hotel and not kep clean as well as a poor food selection with even the coffee being lousy. If this is a Premium Best Western, I can't imagine the condition of a regular Best Western. This hotel warrants a one star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vacationing mama
Business
South Boston, virginia
Aug 23, 2011

family vacation

well the staff was great, our room was ready even before 3:00. The rooms however are very small for the price with old style 80's linens there was not even a bedspread on our beds just something that looked like a curtain laying across the foot of the bed. There was a coffee maker in room which the maid supplied us with coffee every time we ask for it and she was a joy to speak to. The breakfast are ok but if want my opinion they really need to get atleast two more waffle makers please the wait time for the one machine was horrible, and if you are going to offer free breakfast, waffles are the crowd pleaser. The pool was nice and warm but very cloudy. The weight room was not to my liking do you having to go to the front desk to get a key to one machine that only worked with that key and only one at a time so { no family walking in the cards for us }. Well I can say it cost 90.00 for a 65.00 dollar hotel with a 120.00 dollar staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cracker Barrel right in front of hotel, but please dont try to go to pottery waste of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FamilyVacation
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Great Family Vacation

Stayed at the hotel with my Husband and 2 boys, 11 and 4, for a vacation to Busch Gardens,Water country USA and Colonial Williamsburg. The Hotel was close to all 3 attraction, shopping and many restaurants. The Hotel was clean and had a breakfast with bagels, hard boiled eggs, waffles and mini donuts. Would recommand it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meccmlb
Business
Williamsburg, VA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Would stay here again

Hotel was clean, staff was friendly and room had the basic necessities plus a frig and microwave. It wasn't perfect. Had problem with remote and was told there was no one to fix it and "we might have some batteries at the front desk that you could come down and pick up but I don't know if they work". Breakfast was a bit sparse. Ceral, hard boiled eggs, cold bland bagels and some fruit. That was it ..and oh yes..it had a waffle maker but no non stick spray was available right away so some poor lady got stuck digging her waffle bits out of the machine with a fork and there was no syrup: "we are expecting a truck delivery in half an hour." So yes it could use some help, but stayed two nights, it was clean, convenient to where I needed to be. I'd stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caity
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Perfect quick trip

My boyfriend and I were looking for a cheap mini-vacation to Virginia for about five days/four nights. We were looking for a place that was a little nicer than your average motel, and I have to say we got that and more at such a great rate with Best Western. I read reviews and was only really concerned about the temperature of the room, but once we got there it was quite obvious there were no problems with the air conditioning. The climate and atmosphere were so comfortable I slept better than I have in ages! All in all, my experience was great. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was fresh and filling daily, the room was spacious and cozy (and came stocked with a microwave and refrigerator which was quite helpful!), and the location was extremely convenient. Name any restaurant or fast food joint, and it can be found within two miles of Best Western Historic Area Inn. I will certainly be staying at this hotel upon my next trip to Virginia. My boyfriend and I are truly grateful for the amazing hospitality!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jondoe
Business
DE
Aug 12, 2011

Family Getaway

As expected , good experience , Hotel was average as expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girlzmomx2
Business
Calvert, Maryland
Aug 11, 2011

Great Hotel, Great Staff!

We went to the area to see Busch gardens & Water country USA. We got the King Size with the pull out sofa which the kids loved! The room, was spacious, clean and the a/c rocked! We were in 125 which is close to the pool, gym, arcade area (not much there), and the washer /dryer. Breakfast complete with the waffle irons, hard boiled eggs, coffee , tea, juice, cereal, toast, bagels, fruit, donut holes. Plenty to get your day started but go early, it does get crowded. This entire hotel is NON smoking so you have to go outside, no biggy. Our stay was wonderful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

One of the kids favorite attractions was the Flagship Yankee Candle Store, just a couple miles down the road. They have crafts there for kids, my oldest made her own candle out of colored/scented candle beads. My other daughter dipped her sign language "s" hand into wax and made a mold, it was really cool. Very affordable for kids and Moms love Yankee Candle!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top