$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

Best Western Historic Area

3 stars
201 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
393 reviews
near everything

breakfast was very good. The stay was pleasant. Rooms very clean. See full review

  • mcrex
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great for Families!!!

Everything we expected and wanted and more. We will definitely stay again. See full review

  • Tiffany L.R.
  • Jun 15, 2014
Budget Williamsburg hotel near water parks, outlets and Busch Gardens
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg is ideally situated near Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg Prime Outlets, Busch Gardens and Water County USA. Renovated rooms boast modern touches such as granite countertops and free Wi-Fi. An indoor pool adds to the experience. Free continental breakfast and fresh baked cookies are signatures.

Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Indoor pool
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Colonial Williamsburg, the Jamestown Settlement and Busch Gardens
  • Renovated rooms with granite countertops, microwaves and refrigerators

Rooms
Rooms at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg feature scroll-patterned carpets, dark wood furniture and brass sconces. Printed blankets contrast with stark white linens. Guests have many conveniences at their disposal, including free Wi-Fi, cable TV, a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Features
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg treats guests to Southern hospitality with fresh baked cookies and a free buffet-style breakfast with make-your-own waffles. An indoor pool welcomes after tour-filled day at nearby Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg, Water Country USA and Busch Gardens. A game room entertains the kids at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.3 mi/63.3 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Williamsburg (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Water Country USA  (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Busch Gardens (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (6.4 mi/10.2 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.2 mi/40.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (37.8 mi/60.9 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.3 mi/61.6 km)
  • The Ghent District (37.7 mi/60.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.4 mi/61.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (50.3 mi/81 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (51.7 mi/83.2 km)

Hotel Map

37.2853 -76.7168
Area served
Williamsburg.
Nearby airports
Williamsburg/Newport News International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located just 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg and only five miles from Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. The College of William and Mary is 1.5 miles and outlet shopping is 3 miles. Great area golf course only minutes away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Historic Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Best Western Historic Area Rooms

Double
The bedding option for this room includes 2 double beds with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.
King
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed and 1 puulout sofa with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (393)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Historic Area

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
393 out of 393
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bassin
Business
newburgh, ny
Nov 28, 2011

Bad sheets

Poor not good the sheets had not been clean and were stained. The room was dirty and sloppy. Not good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carmita
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Nov 21, 2011

good for spending the night

Good value, convenient location if visiting Busch Gardens and attractions nearby. The rest is standard in this kind of hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jkolecki
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 1, 2011

Decent Place in a great location

Stayed here over Halloween weekend 2011 with friends. If you want to visit Busch Gardens/Williamsburg and your looking to spend your money at the park/shops, come here. It's got what most travelers need: clean rooms, decent amentities - freewifi/free parking/cable/indoor pool/hot tub/ free breakfast, and good/helpful staff, This is your place. If you need a deluxe suite with marble bathrooms, stylishly appointed bedroom with linens, lace, picturesque views, room service, a hotel bar, yadda yadda yadda... don't come here. I'd stay here again. It was close to BG, Williamsburg outlets, Captain George's seafood restuarant and a number of waffle houses. (side note: receptionist alexis was super cute and very nice.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain George's seafood buffett is very good. Worth a try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joselio
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Lame excuse!

Regretably, I cannot comment on the hotel amenities or comfort , because it seems the hotel was overbooked and I could not stay there. When I tried to check in the recepcionist's answer was that there was a maintanance problem so they had to close some of the rooms. For that reason I was sent to another hotel ten miles from there. But my friends who checked in earlier got their romms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joknee
Business
Hamilton, NJ, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Best kept secret

I have stayed in many hotels in the 30 years I have been traveling to Williamsburg and I have never had a better value for the money. It will be my "go-to" hotel from now on. Reasonble rates, clean rooms, coffee in the rooms and free breakfast. Did I mention reasonable rates? After searching the web I found the rates to be CHEAP!!! And it wasn't a one-star hotel. I give it four stars!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
terjymom
Business
Fairfax, VA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Great inexpensive hotel, would stay again.

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. After reading lots of negative reviews and learning that the hotel was sold out, I was nervous. But, this turned out to be a great place for us to stay while visiting Colonial Williamsburg and Jamestown. Our room was clean and smelled like nothing, which is perfect in my book. It wasn't perfectly clean, the carpet had some dark spots and the vacuuming job could have been more complete in the corners and under the beds, but the cleaniness equaled that which I've seen in "better", higher rated hotels. I did not feel uneasy here. The bathroom was nicely redone and the room and bathroom accommodated my family of four quite well. I like the larger size refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The breakfast was carb-heavy (waffles, bagels, cereal, toast, hard boiled eggs and apples) but the coffee and millk were plentiful even on a sold-out morning. Adding some yogurt would have been great for us, but it's free, so no complaints. The pool was chilly, but clean and open at convenient times and my kids had a great time. There are lots of recognizable national brand restaurants nearby and after trying to get kids to eat in CW, we really appreciated Carrabbas, Unos, CrackerBarrel, etc. Overall, I would definitely save my money and stay at this perfectly fine hotel again. Also, this was a sold out weekend and my few interactions with the front desk were always friendly and not rushed. It's also a very convenient drive to the CW visitor's center, which is where we parked when visiting CW. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KatDun
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

1 Year Anniversary Trip

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our 1 year wedding anniversary. I wanted to stay here because it was cheap. My husband wanted to stay somewhere nicer but pricier. We got what we paid for here. It was acceptable all around. Nothing special. The continental breakfast left little to be desired. Not much selection. If you eat organic, bring your own milk. I can not even stomach regular milk anymore so I had toast. The room was typical. Looked like the pictures minus about 6 pillows. Our room was by the elevators, so it got a bit loud at times. I would stay here again for a weekend get-a-way but it was definitely not "1 year anniversary" material. Looks like my husband was right. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

They offer discount Busch Garden tickets. About $5 off a ticket.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vogel
Business
Maryland
Oct 9, 2011

Homecoming football game

Enjoyed my visit here. Would have been nice to have special with (2) queen size beds vs (2) double beds. But had nice visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BillyMarie
Business
Central, New Jersey
Sep 28, 2011

Family Weekend

Everything worked out fine at this hotel. We mainly used it for sleeping. There was very little noise from other rooms or the hall. We were happy with it. One thing that it does not have that would have been nice is an in-room safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busylady
Business
Christiansburg, Virginia
Sep 21, 2011

Great Birthday Trip

We went on a weekend getaway for my boyfriend's birthday to Williamsburg. The hotel was comfortable and a good value for the money. The hotel was clean, but the bathroom does not have an exhaust fan so it got really steamy when showering. The breakfast bar could be better. The gentleman who was tending to the breakfast bar was not very friendly, as he grunted at us when we greeted him in the morning. Hotel needs a smoking section for those of us who travel and would prefer to smoke wihout having to go outside. The indoor pool was really cold, but the hot tub was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top