$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2014 Check-out: May 9, 2014

Best Western Historic Area

3 stars
201 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
379 reviews
Summer Getaway 4 days

Having a breakfast ready at 7 am was great. Never having to worry about going out for breakfast was... See full review

  • Rt 95 is the pits
  • Jul 28, 2013
Perfect!

This was a great trip-- staff were very nice & went above and beyond to accomodate us (even after... See full review

  • Jenine S
  • Jun 3, 2013
Budget Williamsburg hotel near water parks, outlets and Busch Gardens
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg is ideally situated near Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg Prime Outlets, Busch Gardens and Water County USA. Renovated rooms boast modern touches such as granite countertops and free Wi-Fi. An indoor pool adds to the experience. Free continental breakfast and fresh baked cookies are signatures.

Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Indoor pool
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Colonial Williamsburg, the Jamestown Settlement and Busch Gardens
  • Renovated rooms with granite countertops, microwaves and refrigerators

Rooms
Rooms at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg feature scroll-patterned carpets, dark wood furniture and brass sconces. Printed blankets contrast with stark white linens. Guests have many conveniences at their disposal, including free Wi-Fi, cable TV, a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Features
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg treats guests to Southern hospitality with fresh baked cookies and a free buffet-style breakfast with make-your-own waffles. An indoor pool welcomes after tour-filled day at nearby Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg, Water Country USA and Busch Gardens. A game room entertains the kids at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.3 mi/63.3 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Williamsburg (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Water Country USA  (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Busch Gardens (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (6.4 mi/10.2 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.2 mi/40.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (37.8 mi/60.9 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.3 mi/61.6 km)
  • The Ghent District (37.7 mi/60.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.4 mi/61.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (50.3 mi/81 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (51.7 mi/83.2 km)

Best Western Historic Area Rooms

Double
The bedding option for this room includes 2 double beds with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.
King
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed and 1 puulout sofa with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Historic Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2853 -76.7168
Area served
Williamsburg.
Nearby airports
Williamsburg/Newport News International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located just 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg and only five miles from Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. The College of William and Mary is 1.5 miles and outlet shopping is 3 miles. Great area golf course only minutes away.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (379)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Historic Area

Overall score

3.4 / 5
379 out of 379
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
joknee
Hamilton, NJ, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Best kept secret

I have stayed in many hotels in the 30 years I have been traveling to Williamsburg and I have never had a better value for the money. It will be my "go-to" hotel from now on. Reasonble rates, clean rooms, coffee in the rooms and free breakfast. Did I mention reasonable rates? After searching the web I found the rates to be CHEAP!!! And it wasn't a one-star hotel. I give it four stars!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
KatDun
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

1 Year Anniversary Trip

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our 1 year wedding anniversary. I wanted to stay here because it was cheap. My husband wanted to stay somewhere nicer but pricier. We got what we paid for here. It was acceptable all around. Nothing special. The continental breakfast left little to be desired. Not much selection. If you eat organic, bring your own milk. I can not even stomach regular milk anymore so I had toast. The room was typical. Looked like the pictures minus about 6 pillows. Our room was by the elevators, so it got a bit loud at times. I would stay here again for a weekend get-a-way but it was definitely not "1 year anniversary" material. Looks like my husband was right. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

They offer discount Busch Garden tickets. About $5 off a ticket.

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
terjymom
Fairfax, VA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Great inexpensive hotel, would stay again.

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. After reading lots of negative reviews and learning that the hotel was sold out, I was nervous. But, this turned out to be a great place for us to stay while visiting Colonial Williamsburg and Jamestown. Our room was clean and smelled like nothing, which is perfect in my book. It wasn't perfectly clean, the carpet had some dark spots and the vacuuming job could have been more complete in the corners and under the beds, but the cleaniness equaled that which I've seen in "better", higher rated hotels. I did not feel uneasy here. The bathroom was nicely redone and the room and bathroom accommodated my family of four quite well. I like the larger size refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The breakfast was carb-heavy (waffles, bagels, cereal, toast, hard boiled eggs and apples) but the coffee and millk were plentiful even on a sold-out morning. Adding some yogurt would have been great for us, but it's free, so no complaints. The pool was chilly, but clean and open at convenient times and my kids had a great time. There are lots of recognizable national brand restaurants nearby and after trying to get kids to eat in CW, we really appreciated Carrabbas, Unos, CrackerBarrel, etc. Overall, I would definitely save my money and stay at this perfectly fine hotel again. Also, this was a sold out weekend and my few interactions with the front desk were always friendly and not rushed. It's also a very convenient drive to the CW visitor's center, which is where we parked when visiting CW. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
Vogel
Maryland
Oct 9, 2011

Homecoming football game

Enjoyed my visit here. Would have been nice to have special with (2) queen size beds vs (2) double beds. But had nice visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
BillyMarie
Central, New Jersey
Sep 28, 2011

Family Weekend

Everything worked out fine at this hotel. We mainly used it for sleeping. There was very little noise from other rooms or the hall. We were happy with it. One thing that it does not have that would have been nice is an in-room safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
Busylady
Christiansburg, Virginia
Sep 21, 2011

Great Birthday Trip

We went on a weekend getaway for my boyfriend's birthday to Williamsburg. The hotel was comfortable and a good value for the money. The hotel was clean, but the bathroom does not have an exhaust fan so it got really steamy when showering. The breakfast bar could be better. The gentleman who was tending to the breakfast bar was not very friendly, as he grunted at us when we greeted him in the morning. Hotel needs a smoking section for those of us who travel and would prefer to smoke wihout having to go outside. The indoor pool was really cold, but the hot tub was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
Natasha888
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Nice hotel great price "HOT" breakfat could have been better

The hotel was nice for the price. Rooms could have been a bit bigger and the "HOT" breakfast could have had a better variety each day and MORE hot items. The breafast caretaker, HASSAN was sweet . There are alot of hotels along this highway I think I will also look into to their prices and amentities for a future trip to busch gardens. The hotel is located near the premium outlets which are fantastic and plenty of dinning options are also near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive to busch gardens water country and park and plenty of shopping & resturants

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
ZenAgain
Middletown, DE, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Labor Day Weekend

Upon trying to check-in we were told our reservation wasn't there. We have used orbitz many times and never had a problem. Be sure to have your confirmation papers ready to go! Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The walls are paper thin though and every noise from the hallway can be heard in the morning. The breakfast buffet was terrible! Very limited selection of choices and what was available seemed to be bottom of the barrel selections. Location was close to everything and parking lot was never crowded. Despite the price being cheap, we will be going elsewhere and spending more next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Avoid the Cracker Barrel at all costs! The wait was horrible for breakfast and the service was the worst we have ever experienced.

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
paintgregg
Anaheim, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Good value and good location

A good value for the money and close to many restaurants, stores, and only about 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. We had a good experience with this hotel, especially since we checked in only a few hours after their power was restored from hurricane Irene. The room was clean and the bed was reasonably comfortable. The continental breakfast was average but nothing special. The indoor pool was clean but had a strong chlorine smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Cracker Barrel directly across the street which is always good. There are some good restaurants on Richmond road only about 2-3 minutes away. Did not like the Black Angus Grill.

Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
MKay
Blue Bell, PA
Aug 23, 2011

Williamsburg overnight stay

I booked a room with a King Bed and Queen sleep sofa and paid additional for this. When I checked in late Saturday, I could see that the front desk clerk was providing me a room with two queen beds. I told him that I booked a King and queen and the clerk advised that was not what their system showed. I pulled my Orbitz confirm email up on my cell phone and showed the clerk and was then told that the hotel was booked to capacity and no other rooms were available and I was given a cot. The room was very dirty with the shower having only a liner that had dirt all over it. The continental breakfast area was small for the size of the hotel and not kep clean as well as a poor food selection with even the coffee being lousy. If this is a Premium Best Western, I can't imagine the condition of a regular Best Western. This hotel warrants a one star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top