$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 13, 2015 Check-out: Apr 16, 2015

Best Western Historic Area

3 stars
View map of 201 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Historic Area

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
394 out of 394
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Time Extreme
Business
Fostoria, OH
Sep 28, 2012

Good Family Vacation

We had a clean room and the staff was very helpfull. The breakfast was good and I did not leave hungry. We had visited Williamsburg and the surrounding area. The hotel was located in a convenient location to all these areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DisappointedDan
Business
Mayock, NC
Sep 10, 2012

Never again

Very excited to race my first half ironman and figured that a hotel with three stars would be sufficient for my stay. They checked someone else in under my reservation because we had the same first name, the room had a very distinct odor, the carpeting was sticky, the TV made very noticeable highly pitched noise. Drove home after a grueling day that began at 4:30 am to avoid spending another night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RobeJeffri
Business
Fredericksburg Virginia
Aug 30, 2012

Friendly Staff & Nothing more!!

Let me start with the good stuff. Oh wait that wont take long. Anyway the staff at the front desk and breakfast were the only good thing about this hotel. Our room (306) left alot to be desired. The A/C did not blow very well at all. The room stayed warm during the day. Even after telling the young lady on nightshift at the front desk nothing was done. Our TV had a steady black line that ran down the left side of the screen. Beds very small, not big enough for 2 people in my opinion. Hey but we did have hot water in the shower even though the bathrooms are small. Oh where do I begin with the swimming pool, my advice to anyone who stays here STAY OUT OF THE POOL. The water was very very cloudy and thad no chlorine in the pool at all. The staff stated that the maintenance guy takes care of the pool but said he has no clue what he is doing. My advice go stay elsewhere dont waste your money here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurant named "Food For Thought". Very good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dad outing
Business
Baltimore Md
Aug 28, 2012

Family getaway

I loved the in door pool. I was expecting more out of the breakfast. The hospitality was great. Room was either to hot or to cold. Couldn't even it out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jayavine
Business
Willamsburg, VA
Aug 20, 2012

Staff

The day of checking out, the check out time was 11:00 AM, Someone is banging the door at 8:30 am and we are still sleeping then they opened the door I guess they saw that all are things is still inside. Then around 10:00 someone is knocking again. When I open the door it was the cleaning lady and she told me that she will be back to clean the room. I did not appreciate that they should check on the system if we check out alraedy instead of banging the door and opening it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mommmyyy
Business
virginia
Aug 17, 2012

summer trip

One of the best indoor pools. The pool was clean and well ventilated. Not stuffy and hot like most indoor pools. Rooms were clean and staff were nice and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GeeGee2
Business
Mebane, NC
Aug 12, 2012

Rest adn Recup

The hotel was ideally situated between historic Williamsburg, Yorktown, and Jamestown. The room was clean and in good repair. The bedding (mattress and pillows) need replacing. I would recommend this hotel as a nice comfortable place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Very good Italian restaurant. Many restaurants wihin walking or short driving distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoeFam80
Business
Northern Virginia
Aug 12, 2012

As Expected

This hotel was close to Busch Gardens which was a plus for my family. Lots of close restaurants which was really nice. The hotel itself was clean and the room was nice. Overall good but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Busch Gardens

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dv2012
Business
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
May 23, 2012

summer break

nice place, convenient, right near restaurants and attractions great staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chesapeake Traveler
Business
Chesapeake
May 19, 2012

Disappointed

There are many hotels in W'burg with much lower rates - but I wanted a touch of "luxury" for my one business travel ovenight. The decor is dated and dark. Staff were certainly pleasant and room was very well equipped (fridge, microwave and coffee maker). Even though b'fast was included, I don't think I got anything extra for the price. TV was not flat screen! B'fast was unpleasant because there was a bus of teens in the dining space - staff couldn't keep up with the demand for food - other guests couldn't get to the food through all the kids!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top