$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

Best Western Historic Area

3 stars
201 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
393 reviews
near everything

breakfast was very good. The stay was pleasant. Rooms very clean. See full review

  • mcrex
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great for Families!!!

Everything we expected and wanted and more. We will definitely stay again. See full review

  • Tiffany L.R.
  • Jun 15, 2014
Budget Williamsburg hotel near water parks, outlets and Busch Gardens
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg is ideally situated near Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg Prime Outlets, Busch Gardens and Water County USA. Renovated rooms boast modern touches such as granite countertops and free Wi-Fi. An indoor pool adds to the experience. Free continental breakfast and fresh baked cookies are signatures.

Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Indoor pool
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Colonial Williamsburg, the Jamestown Settlement and Busch Gardens
  • Renovated rooms with granite countertops, microwaves and refrigerators

Rooms
Rooms at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg feature scroll-patterned carpets, dark wood furniture and brass sconces. Printed blankets contrast with stark white linens. Guests have many conveniences at their disposal, including free Wi-Fi, cable TV, a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Features
The Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg treats guests to Southern hospitality with fresh baked cookies and a free buffet-style breakfast with make-your-own waffles. An indoor pool welcomes after tour-filled day at nearby Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg, Water Country USA and Busch Gardens. A game room entertains the kids at the Best Western Historic Area in Williamsburg.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.3 mi/63.3 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Williamsburg (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Water Country USA  (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Busch Gardens (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (6.4 mi/10.2 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.2 mi/40.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (37.8 mi/60.9 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.3 mi/61.6 km)
  • The Ghent District (37.7 mi/60.7 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.4 mi/61.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (50.3 mi/81 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (51.7 mi/83.2 km)

Hotel Map

37.2853 -76.7168
Area served
Williamsburg.
Nearby airports
Williamsburg/Newport News International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located just 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg and only five miles from Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. The College of William and Mary is 1.5 miles and outlet shopping is 3 miles. Great area golf course only minutes away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Historic Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Best Western Historic Area Rooms

Double
The bedding option for this room includes 2 double beds with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.
King
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed and 1 puulout sofa with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, remote controlled cable television, classic furnishings, granite vanity tops and high speed wireless internet access. All rooms are 100% smoke free.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (393)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Historic Area

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
393 out of 393
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warsaw
Sep 22, 2008

My review of Best Western Historic Area

Was close to Colonial Williamsburg. The breakfast area was way to cramped and the choices were very limited. We decided that we would rather eat at the restaurants close by. Also there weren't any afternoon cookies as advertised. The TV service was terrible and it was cable, but reception so snowy we couldn't watch the programs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lambertville
Sep 20, 2008

My review of Best Western Historic Area

check in was very friendly,the hot tub was not working so they upgraded our room to jacuzzi room. hot tub was fixed the next day. Our room was clean , small ,but enough for the 2 of us. very well located walked to uno for dinner . short ride to anything you wanted. hotel staff was helpful and friendly. I would use this hotel again for our next trip to williamsburg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

attractions dinning and shopping just a short car ride. some within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond
Sep 1, 2008

My review of Best Western Historic Area

We had a clean and comfortable room for a family of four. The cleaning staff and check-in staff were very friendly. The only downside was that the hallways were rather warm and the breakfast that was served wasn't a whole lot to offer but it was sufficient. There is a weird thing going on with the toaster but we dealt with it and it wasn't that big of a deal, just a little annoying. Overall, we had a nice time and would probably stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 1, 2008

Nice

It was nice. Beds where comfortable. A little small, but when your not in the room that much, it doesn't really matter. Could have been a little more cleaner. The breakfast area is small, not much room to move around. The hotel staff was nice and helpful. We probably would stay there again. Close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

close to everything. Mini golf next to hotel. K-mart next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Islip
Aug 29, 2008

Good Place on a Budget

Overall we had a good experience. The pool was good but the hot tub water had a foul odor. Breakfast in the morning was a plus. It was good to be able to leave the hotel without having to worry about stopping and eating. I wish they had more fruit and yogurt to offer. If you like Carbs, the breakfast will be perfect. The beds were very comfortable and room was quite large which again was a plus with 2 adults and 2 teenagers in the room. I was ver Dissatisfied with the house cleaning. They did not wipe down the sink or the furniture. We came back in the evening and the end table still had sticky spots on it. The never provided more papercups each day. The thing that bothered us most, after the 3rd night we dropped something behind the bed. When we went to retrieve it, we found empty bags of chips and food crumbs which did not belong to us. So we dont even know how long it was there. When we went to the front desk, they said there was no one to clean it until the morning. We had to get a broom and clean it ourselves. I suggest to anyone who reads this, when you get into a hotel room the first thing you should do is look under the bed to see how clean it is before you unpack.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an all you can eat chinese/mongolian grill restaurant right across the street. Good food for the price. Very suitable for families. Also, right down Richmond Road is a Hot Dog place that you can get with all of the fixings. The onion rings are made fresh, not frozen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leesburg
Aug 25, 2008

Great for personal travel

Nicely located for easy access to the historic area as well as Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. There are several restaurants nearby for casual dining or carryout. The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly. The breakfast was better than many of the free breakfasts I have experienced. Make sure to get down to breakfast at least 30 minutes before it ends, as they start putting the food away promptly at the end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 8, 2008

My review of Best Western Historic Area

The room was nicely decorated, and the beds were some of the most comfortable hotel beds that we have ever slept in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Colonial Williamsburg, about 2 miles away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Star, NC
Aug 6, 2008

Great Value

The Best Western Historic Area Williamsburg VA was a pleasant suprise. The room was immaculate. The staff especially the manager was very friendly and courteous and made us feel welcome. The bed was excellent, very comfortable. Internet access was great. Will stay there again. 5stars out of 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

restaraunts nearby, short walk Cicago Pizza Uno and cracker Barrell. K mart and grocery store across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Smith
Aug 5, 2008

Good value for the money

Good location-easy drive to Williamsburg and Bush Gardens. Several resturants close by. I noticed a lot of families walking to nearby resturants and stores in the evening. Seemed to be in a very safe location. Overall the stay was worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Historic Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlinton, VA
Aug 1, 2008

Very family friendly

We had a great time especially in the indoor pool. The breakfast was good. The atractions were very close and there were Restaurants and shops near the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There were differents atractions, so we could visit so many places in few days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top