$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

3 stars
View map of 5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St and Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
157 reviews
Really great time!!!

My room had a balcony which had a view of the beach, a pool and hot tub. It was on the quiet side... See full review

  • Adrienne M.
  • May 5, 2015
Couple Fun!!!!

I had a great experience at the Wyndham in Virginia Beach. Great beach front location. Hotel was... See full review

  • CoreyK
  • Apr 6, 2015
Contemporary Virginia Beach hotel with fine dining and pools
The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront provides a peaceful, serene setting. The hotel is close to major Virginia Beach attractions, such as the boardwalk and Virginia Beach Convention Center. There are 244 rooms. The property appeals to vacationing families, couples and corporate clients. Amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, plus a restaurant.

Highlights
  • Seasonal bike, surfboard and kayak rentals
  • Seasonal children's activity center and boardwalk shuttle
  • Indoor-outdoor pool with Jacuzzi
  • Oceanfront dining at the Surf Club Ocean Grille

Rooms

Guest rooms at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront have either private balconies or patios. Of the 244 rooms, 166 rooms face the ocean. Spaces are designed to be airy and bright thanks to canary-colored bedding, white furniture and white lamps. Rooms include Wolfgang Puck coffee and Tazo tea and flat-screen TVs. Every room has a refrigerator, free Wi-Fi and two free bottles of water.

Dining

Circular booths set in a sunken dining area lend structural appeal to the Surf Club Ocean Grille, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront's fine dining restaurant serves regional American cuisine. It has unobstructed panoramic ocean views for up to 175 guests.

Recreation

During the summer, children at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront enjoy Kid's Cove Children's Activity Center. The hotel also provides kayak, bike and surfboard rentals on site (seasonal). The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront operates a free shuttle during the summer to the Virginia Beach boardwalk.  The indoor pool is in a room with a soaring angled ceiling. There is a Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.3 mi/19.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach oceanfront (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.2 mi/27.6 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.4 mi/27.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (43.8 mi/70.6 km)
  • Water Country USA  (44.6 mi/71.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (47.6 mi/76.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (48.9 mi/78.8 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (51.4 mi/82.8 km)

Business
  • 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Wi-Fi
  • Catering services

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 11.2 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 14.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 15.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 18 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 157
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.8

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adrienne M.
Business
N/A
May 5, 2015

Really great time!!!

My room had a balcony which had a view of the beach, a pool and hot tub. It was on the quiet side of Virginia Beach near the single family homes which I prefer. The hotel had an excellent restaurant and bicycles available for rental. A bus which runs along Atlantic Avenue would bring you to the amusements at the other end of Virginia Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Adrian79
Business
Norfolk, VA
Nov 17, 2011

Nice, but tricky

I booked a room on the club floor and they tried to give me a room on the second floor. I called about it and they gave me a room on the 8th floor. Far from the 16th club floor. Not even the 15th. I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lisa king
Business
Virginia beach, VA
Feb 22, 2011

getaway

It was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at, and I travel often, the rooms were dirty and small, the bathroom was so small i could not turnaround it, I called housekeeping 4 times, never got the service. tryed to cancel and get a refund as soon as i saw the room and was told they did not give refunds, ended up checking out a day early and lost $80 because i could not take it anymore, Run from the Wyndham in virginia beach, Nothing like another Wyndham i have stayed at

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stuarts Draft, VA
Apr 19, 2010

Wonderful Getaway

I went for a quick restful getaway and couldn't have been happier. The room was clean and very comfortable and the staff made sure I had everything I needed. The relaxation was just what I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John Deere
Business
KY
Oct 23, 2009

An OK stay

The room appeared to be tired. They had added some newer features but old decor and worn paint was noted. It was far from what I would have expected for an ocean side hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
May 19, 2009

Good experience, quiet end of the strip

The property is at the north-end of "the strip", just out of the tourist frenzy. The staff was VERY friendly, knowledgeable and responsive. Room service was on-time with the correct order and the food quality was above what I expected. On check-in, I found that my room was spotless, very comfortable bed with quality linens, but two lights in my room were not working and the shower curtain was in bad shape...eyelets pulled from the rings at both ends. Both were fixed on notification. My last night was disrupted by a VERY LOUD post-wedding room party two doors down but hotel security and police quickly resolved the problem by evicting them all from the hotel. Appropriate action and not the fault of the hotel at all. Overall, a good value for an ocean front hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Perfect if you want a nice hotel that is out of "party central".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 25, 2007

Friendly Quality Hotel

The hotel has a very nice atmosphere, even the guests were friendly enough to say good morning, good evening or just hello. I felt very comfortable staying there. My room was very nice, comfortable and clean. It was just as clean the second day as it was when I first checked in. My view of the ocean was terrific, very pleasant to sit back,relax and enjoy the view. I also found the hotel room magazines about entertainment, dining and various attractions very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are a number of good restaurants serving seafood and Italian cusine away from the crowds within a short drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 22, 2007

Convience

The Wynham Oceanfront at Va Beach was a very pleasent experience. There is something to do for everybody in your family. The rooms are nice and the people were pleasent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

walk out on to the beach with a resteraunt and lounge with live entertainment right there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top