$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

3 stars
5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St and Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
146 reviews
birthday vacation

I had a blast best birthday ever. it was very clean the staff was nice . its the only hotel on that... See full review

  • kekejones1
  • Aug 13, 2014
Great Getaway

elevators are small and slow and pool is surrounded by buildings so dont really feel like you are... See full review

  • Becky in Richmond
  • Jul 30, 2014
Contemporary Virginia Beach hotel with fine dining and pools
The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront provides a peaceful, serene setting. The hotel is close to major Virginia Beach attractions, such as the boardwalk and Virginia Beach Convention Center. There are 244 rooms. The property appeals to vacationing families, couples and corporate clients. Amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, plus a restaurant.

Highlights
  • Seasonal bike, surfboard and kayak rentals
  • Seasonal children's activity center and boardwalk shuttle
  • Indoor-outdoor pool with Jacuzzi
  • Oceanfront dining at the Surf Club Ocean Grille

Rooms

Guest rooms at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront have either private balconies or patios. Of the 244 rooms, 166 rooms face the ocean. Spaces are designed to be airy and bright thanks to canary-colored bedding, white furniture and white lamps. Rooms include Wolfgang Puck coffee and Tazo tea and flat-screen TVs. Every room has a refrigerator, free Wi-Fi and two free bottles of water.

Dining

Circular booths set in a sunken dining area lend structural appeal to the Surf Club Ocean Grille, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront's fine dining restaurant serves regional American cuisine. It has unobstructed panoramic ocean views for up to 175 guests.

Recreation

During the summer, children at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront enjoy Kid's Cove Children's Activity Center. The hotel also provides kayak, bike and surfboard rentals on site (seasonal). The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront operates a free shuttle during the summer to the Virginia Beach boardwalk.  The indoor pool is in a room with a soaring angled ceiling. There is a Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.3 mi/19.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach oceanfront (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.2 mi/27.6 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.4 mi/27.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (43.8 mi/70.6 km)
  • Water Country USA  (44.6 mi/71.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (47.6 mi/76.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (48.9 mi/78.8 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (51.4 mi/82.8 km)

Business
  • 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Wi-Fi
  • Catering services

Hotel Map

36.8839 -75.985
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 11.2 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 14.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 15.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 18 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 146
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.7

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
F Robinson
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 1, 2014

Great Hotel!!! But needs better customer service...

The room was great! A breathtaking oceanfront view! But very poor customer service. No concierge to show you which way to navigate to your room once you check in (the hotel is huge!). I didn't have this issue last year but I also stayed on a lower level that didn't require the elevator. This year I was on the 15th floor. The Seafood grill restaurant has very good food and drinks. The salmon was very tasty and the restaurant staff was very kind and professional. I will definitely eat there again. Very pet friendly too! I take my Chi with me every year and he loves the sand. All the dogs are on the beach around sunrise and there's a designated dog area right before the beach equipped with baggies. Overall I had a nice stay and definitely come back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Whitner's BBQ over on Lynnhaven. This is the best BBQ I have had in long time. Good stuff!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelerEmily
Business
Washington, D.C.
Aug 23, 2014

Great Beach Getaway

The hotel was in a good location, about three-quarters of a mile away from the main boardwalk. The beach outside the hotel was great. The room was clean and well-kept. Only complaint was that the main door was hard to close and the patio door handle was broken (it was still usable, though). Staff was friendly and courteous. The staff member who checked us in actually upgraded us to a semi-beachfront room at no charge, and the cleaning staff let us stay a little later than the actual checkout time, which was great. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a trip to Virginia Beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LAWJLR
Business
Virginia
Jul 19, 2014

Not What I Expected

Based on the promotion I read, I though my room (not just the hotel) was ocean front. The room size was fine but the bathroom was small and the shower was awful. To get a bearable shower temperature the water only trickled. To get a decent spray the water was way too HOT. The hallways were very warm (hot) and the ice maker on our floor was broken. It was nice to have a shuttle to the boardwalk area but the van was not easy to enter or exit for older folks. Probably wont stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stickleyw
Business
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Jun 29, 2014

Empty Promises

The hotel itself was clean and in a nice location I had zero complaints there. However, I reserved 2 rooms weeks in advance and had reserved a roll away bed for both rooms. When my group arrived there we were told that the hotel had ZERO roll away beds and that they could provide a pillow and blanket instead so that 1 person in each room could sleep on the floor. The staff found this to be an acceptable response and were otherwise completely unhelpful and highly unapologetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yeni Penny
Business
Sterling, VA
Jun 21, 2014

If it werent for the incident caused then everything would have been great!

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights the first night we brought in all the food we had brought to snack on so we wouldn't have to eat out all the time. While the house keepers were cleaning the room that same afternoon we got to the room and somewhat of our food was missing. We went to the front desk and the manager on duty said that they throw out what is thought that is trash? If they use the brains they don't have its packaged, untouched. therefore why was there the need to throw it away? We in fact had a bag separately for TRASH! The manager refused to do a single thing about it. I gave him an example of how would he feel like if someone were to go to his room and just throw things that he needs because it isn't fair, if the money that is spent on what you bought is being thrown away. He answered me back saying "oh once that happened to me in fact". So what I understood from that was just because I So technically what I got out of what he kept saying to me was whatever is on the floor is considered trash. I'm surprised they didn't throw my personal things as well I mean the luggage was on the floor. Everything of this hotel was fine until that day. I don't know if I really would want to come back and it is all because of the staff! Considering the fact that the manager kept saying he wasn't going to do anything about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Neptune's Restaurant. The buffet is GREAT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
curtis n
Business
Virginia beach
May 19, 2014

horrible experience

worst experience I ever had the service was terrible especially at the restaurant . the staff was no help at all. and the rooms very dirty the only good part was the beds are very comfortable . this was my first time booking with o r b i t z not sure if I will use them again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

captain George's is a must to eat at

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shivam H
Business
Philadelphia PA
Aug 28, 2012

Great quiet location

Good facilities but general cleanliness was lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sam and Driver Ed
Business
Spencerport, NY
Jul 10, 2012

needs inprovement

After calling the hotel twice to get adjoining rooms with another couple that traveled with us I was told that we would have to wait upon arrival, but they would put a note on the reservation that we were requesting the adjoining rooms. When we arrived we couldn't get adjoining rooms but did get rooms just down the hall from each other. Their vending machines were out of order for two of the three days of our stay, considering it was well into the 90's, bottled water was not available unless you went to the resturant and the water was more expensive. We were also charged an extra tax when we checked out. Bugs were found in both rooms, we were asked if we would like to change rooms, as we all know, when one is found more than likely they're in every room. On the good side, the resturant was very good and the staff was very freindly.They also advertise the boardwalk being only a couple of blocks away, it was more like 8 to 10 blocks, but they did have a shuttle service to take you there and bring you back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The boardwalk was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sashbash
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Not great

Utilities present but not accessible. pool closed, no complimentary breakfast, when asked for beach ball declined saying only provided during summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

nice view

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SR15
Business
Alexandria, VA, USA
Sep 9, 2011

Great Hotel, far from the boardwalk

It was nice if you want a place far from the boardwalk. I was hoping it would be a bit closer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top