$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

3 stars
5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St and Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
146 reviews
birthday vacation

I had a blast best birthday ever. it was very clean the staff was nice . its the only hotel on that... See full review

  • kekejones1
  • Aug 13, 2014
Great Getaway

elevators are small and slow and pool is surrounded by buildings so dont really feel like you are... See full review

  • Becky in Richmond
  • Jul 30, 2014
Contemporary Virginia Beach hotel with fine dining and pools
The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront provides a peaceful, serene setting. The hotel is close to major Virginia Beach attractions, such as the boardwalk and Virginia Beach Convention Center. There are 244 rooms. The property appeals to vacationing families, couples and corporate clients. Amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, plus a restaurant.

Highlights
  • Seasonal bike, surfboard and kayak rentals
  • Seasonal children's activity center and boardwalk shuttle
  • Indoor-outdoor pool with Jacuzzi
  • Oceanfront dining at the Surf Club Ocean Grille

Rooms

Guest rooms at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront have either private balconies or patios. Of the 244 rooms, 166 rooms face the ocean. Spaces are designed to be airy and bright thanks to canary-colored bedding, white furniture and white lamps. Rooms include Wolfgang Puck coffee and Tazo tea and flat-screen TVs. Every room has a refrigerator, free Wi-Fi and two free bottles of water.

Dining

Circular booths set in a sunken dining area lend structural appeal to the Surf Club Ocean Grille, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront's fine dining restaurant serves regional American cuisine. It has unobstructed panoramic ocean views for up to 175 guests.

Recreation

During the summer, children at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront enjoy Kid's Cove Children's Activity Center. The hotel also provides kayak, bike and surfboard rentals on site (seasonal). The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront operates a free shuttle during the summer to the Virginia Beach boardwalk.  The indoor pool is in a room with a soaring angled ceiling. There is a Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.3 mi/19.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach oceanfront (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.2 mi/27.6 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.4 mi/27.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (43.8 mi/70.6 km)
  • Water Country USA  (44.6 mi/71.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (47.6 mi/76.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (48.9 mi/78.8 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (51.4 mi/82.8 km)

Business
  • 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Wi-Fi
  • Catering services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 11.2 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 14.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 15.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 18 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 146
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.2

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
christiesmith1227
Business
Wilmington delaware
Oct 6, 2014

birthday getaway

Absolutely beautiful hotel. Everything was wonderful. I couldn't have been happier. I will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Giggidy67
Business
Norfolk, VA
Aug 26, 2014

Great Deal

Room was great and right on the Beach. Was supposed to have a non ocean front but apparently they upgraded without me asking. First hour in room I hung out on the Balcony, watched the surf, and listened to the band playing right out my room. Awesome stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kekejones1
Business
louisburg, north Carolina
Aug 13, 2014

birthday vacation

I had a blast best birthday ever. it was very clean the staff was nice . its the only hotel on that road very peaceful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
katre726
Business
walden, ny
Aug 2, 2014

disappointed this time

We stayed here 2 yrs ago and was very impressed with everything. The room was good for price and location was wonderful. So we decided to come back this year. Whoa what a downhill slide the hotel has done. The room was no clean at all. The 1st night the sheets were stained, the second day we noticed blood stains on the sheets!!! (GROSS). Then there was a palmetto bug in our room. There was time room was cleaned and tissues were not replaced and empty box just left on the counter. Then on our last night the room was cleaned and we were left with no hand towels and no to toilet paper at all. Had to call down to get them. Also were only given 2 towels (which wasnt enough, most places give at least 3). There was garbage left in our room every day. Room was also not vacuumed every day, considering its on beach should have been done daily so that not overly sandy. The location is amazing especially if you dont want all the buzz from board walk. The shuttle is convienenent and the staff was mostly very nice. Would recommend calling before booking though if you are looking for a peaceful vacation. We got there at the same time as a camp. We do not have children and chose this location because of the quiet laid back atmosphere. It was ruined by about 150 kids all over. Could not use the pool or the hot tub because the had all the kids in pool at same time. Food quality has also went down since our last stay. Glad we paid O#$^%z price for room though and not full price, was verrrryyyyy disappointed to the point that we will not be returning to this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Beach Pub (Lasking Rd) for breakfast, Murphy's (30th St) for dinner and drinks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pekki
Business
Md
Aug 1, 2014

Family trip to beach

Sunrises were wonderful, beach was clean and very easy to access. Pool is small and dirty. Room is average and housekeeping did well cleaning. AC worked in our room but not as well in others rooms on my trip and the hallway felt heated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debbie Birthday Girl
Business
Middletown, Virginia
Jul 7, 2014

Perfect Holiday weekend

My husband & I were celebrating my birthday & 4th of July, we had an ocean front rm which was great for the spectacular fireworks display. We enjoyed the location, it wasn't as crowded as places on the boardwalk, but close enough where you could walk or rent a bike. We enjoyed the oceanfront restaurant & bar, everything was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LJL1122
Business
Fredericksburg VA
Jun 23, 2014

Off the beaten path...

This hotel is nice if you don't want to be in the busy part of the boardwalk. The room was okay. Not the dirtiest place but not the cleanest either. Not sure it was worth the money but it is a Wyndham so I guess you pay for the name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lauren Taylor
Business
Tabernacle, New Jersey
Jun 15, 2014

Couple Getaway

We had a great time here at the Wyndham! At first we were very skeptical with all the bad reviews about bed bugs, rude staff, and cleanliness. But to our surprise our room was very clean and the staff was always friendly!! They even upgraded us to an oceanfront room! It was a little ways from downtown (about a five minute drive) but the beachfront was very private. Overall we had a great experience and would definitely visit again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angelene
Business
Virginia Beach
Jun 1, 2014

We always stay here!

Always nice it's by far the best. When we first started coming to VB we tried several but this is the best and we haven't stayed anywhere else since.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Big Sam's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coolwhip76
Business
lexington, ky
May 7, 2014

cooley25

I had a really great time here at this hotel. A little disappointed it wasn't closer to the boardwalk but overall experience it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top