$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

3 stars
5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St and Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
193 reviews
Awesome!

Great hotel right on the beach. Clean and spacious rooms. Very quiet area of Virginia Beach. Loved it. See full review

  • Chris464837r4yri8r
  • Jul 28, 2014
Excellent Location, quite and clean hotel

1. Excellent location on the beach. 2. Balcony in the room I stayed facing the ocean. 3. Chairs in... See full review

  • rahulinatlanric
  • Jul 16, 2014
Contemporary Virginia Beach hotel with fine dining and pools
The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront provides a peaceful, serene setting. The hotel is close to major Virginia Beach attractions, such as the boardwalk and Virginia Beach Convention Center. There are 244 rooms. The property appeals to vacationing families, couples and corporate clients. Amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, plus a restaurant.

Highlights
  • Seasonal bike, surfboard and kayak rentals
  • Seasonal children's activity center and boardwalk shuttle
  • Indoor-outdoor pool with Jacuzzi
  • Oceanfront dining at the Surf Club Ocean Grille

Rooms

Guest rooms at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront have either private balconies or patios. Of the 244 rooms, 166 rooms face the ocean. Spaces are designed to be airy and bright thanks to canary-colored bedding, white furniture and white lamps. Rooms include Wolfgang Puck coffee and Tazo tea and flat-screen TVs. Every room has a refrigerator, free Wi-Fi and two free bottles of water.

Dining

Circular booths set in a sunken dining area lend structural appeal to the Surf Club Ocean Grille, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront's fine dining restaurant serves regional American cuisine. It has unobstructed panoramic ocean views for up to 175 guests.

Recreation

During the summer, children at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront enjoy Kid's Cove Children's Activity Center. The hotel also provides kayak, bike and surfboard rentals on site (seasonal). The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront operates a free shuttle during the summer to the Virginia Beach boardwalk.  The indoor pool is in a room with a soaring angled ceiling. There is a Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.3 mi/19.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach oceanfront (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.2 mi/27.6 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.4 mi/27.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (43.8 mi/70.6 km)
  • Water Country USA  (44.6 mi/71.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (47.6 mi/76.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (48.9 mi/78.8 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (51.4 mi/82.8 km)

Business
  • 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Wi-Fi
  • Catering services

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Game room
Play ground
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

36.8839 -75.985
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 11.2 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 14.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 15.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 18 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (193)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 193
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debbie Birthday Girl
Middletown, Virginia
Jul 7, 2014

Perfect Holiday weekend

My husband & I were celebrating my birthday & 4th of July, we had an ocean front rm which was great for the spectacular fireworks display. We enjoyed the location, it wasn't as crowded as places on the boardwalk, but close enough where you could walk or rent a bike. We enjoyed the oceanfront restaurant & bar, everything was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LJL1122
Fredericksburg VA
Jun 23, 2014

Off the beaten path...

This hotel is nice if you don't want to be in the busy part of the boardwalk. The room was okay. Not the dirtiest place but not the cleanest either. Not sure it was worth the money but it is a Wyndham so I guess you pay for the name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lauren Taylor
Tabernacle, New Jersey
Jun 15, 2014

Couple Getaway

We had a great time here at the Wyndham! At first we were very skeptical with all the bad reviews about bed bugs, rude staff, and cleanliness. But to our surprise our room was very clean and the staff was always friendly!! They even upgraded us to an oceanfront room! It was a little ways from downtown (about a five minute drive) but the beachfront was very private. Overall we had a great experience and would definitely visit again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angelene
Virginia Beach
Jun 1, 2014

We always stay here!

Always nice it's by far the best. When we first started coming to VB we tried several but this is the best and we haven't stayed anywhere else since.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Big Sam's!

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coolwhip76
lexington, ky
May 7, 2014

cooley25

I had a really great time here at this hotel. A little disappointed it wasn't closer to the boardwalk but overall experience it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caroliicious
New York
Apr 14, 2014

Really relaxing

My boyfriend and I had a great weekend. The staff at the restaurant were really nice and attentive. The conceriges were dolls, they were really nice and helpful. Our vacation was so relaxing. We had the oceanfront room and it was amazing! #Thumbsup

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beach Lover 913
Washington DC
Apr 14, 2014

Needs TLC and lots of updating

The staff was friendly at check-in. Hotel shows major wear and tear. Outside appearance is ok but inside carpet is worn and needs to be replaced. Room was clean but smelled of strange sanitizer. Overall this hotel could be really nice again if Wyndham invests and renovates. There was a group of teenagers visiting (Spring Break) and were very loud first night. Had to call the front desk who immediately contacted security to quiet them. Friendly and helpful staff. Restaurant looks very dated also. Great location on beach and away from hustle of boardwalk but close enough for short ride. May go back if only option but probably would pay a few more $$ and stay at the Hilton or more modern facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Belvedere Coffee Shop great little find for breakfast. On the water, great view and friendly staff. Get there early, small place, limited seating. Line moves fast.

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MMechelle
Michigan
Apr 14, 2014

POOR Quailty NOT worth the money

From check-in to check out I had to ask for anything !!! From room keys that didn't work twice. Had to ask & didn't get clean glasses. The glasses in my room were there from Friday night to Tues night when I took them to the front desk. And asked why housekeeping didn't change them. Used coffee cups were left in room & NO clean ones were left. The bathroom pipes banged all night & maintenance DID NOT show up to fix. I put towels between the water hoses & this resolved the issue. Room was not vacuumed. I finally took all garbage(pizza box) & piled it up so that housekeeping would remove it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GOLIE
Richmond, VA
Jan 21, 2014

Good quiet location away from all the hustle bustle of the strip and the airplane noise of Navy.

Saw several Navy ships heading out to sea. The hot tub had not been used for awhile and was way too hot for human immersion. It seemed to cool off a bit after running the bubbler for 15 minutes. Room was nice and roomy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Heritage Store is good for health foods and Edgar Cayce products. Located on Laskin Rd.

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ruthie Sue
Petersburg Virginia
Nov 22, 2013

One Day and Night Get Away

It was a good day and night in Virginia Beach. It was a little windy but it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Christmas Mouse it a really neat place.

Back to menu Return to top