$74 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

3 stars
View map of 5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St and Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
169 reviews
Road trip

We liked it! Room did not get cleaned without asking. See full review

  • Shannon K.
  • Aug 5, 2015
Cleanliness

We stayed for two nights and the room was not cleaned at all. We called the front desk that evening... See full review

  • Toufic A.
  • Aug 2, 2015
The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront provides a peaceful, serene setting. The hotel is close to major Virginia Beach attractions, such as the boardwalk and Virginia Beach Convention Center. There are 244 rooms. The property appeals to vacationing families, couples and corporate clients. Amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, plus a restaurant.

Dining

Circular booths set in a sunken dining area lend structural appeal to the Surf Club Ocean Grille, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront's fine dining restaurant serves regional American cuisine. It has unobstructed panoramic ocean views for up to 175 guests.

Rooms

Guest rooms at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront have either private balconies or patios. Of the 244 rooms, 166 rooms face the ocean. Spaces are designed to be airy and bright thanks to canary-colored bedding, white furniture and white lamps. Rooms include Wolfgang Puck coffee and Tazo tea and flat-screen TVs. Every room has a refrigerator, free Wi-Fi and two free bottles of water.

Highlights
  • Seasonal bike, surfboard and kayak rentals
  • Seasonal children's activity center and boardwalk shuttle
  • Indoor-outdoor pool with Jacuzzi
  • Oceanfront dining at the Surf Club Ocean Grille

Nearby attractions
  • Virginia Beach oceanfront (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.2 mi/27.6 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.4 mi/27.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (43.8 mi/70.6 km)
  • Water Country USA  (44.6 mi/71.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (47.6 mi/76.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (48.9 mi/78.8 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (51.4 mi/82.8 km)

Business
  • 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Wi-Fi
  • Catering services
Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.3 mi/19.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)

Recreation

During the summer, children at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront enjoy Kid's Cove Children's Activity Center. The hotel also provides kayak, bike and surfboard rentals on site (seasonal). The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront operates a free shuttle during the summer to the Virginia Beach boardwalk.  The indoor pool is in a room with a soaring angled ceiling. There is a Jacuzzi.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

★★★
$95
3.6 / 5 200 reviews
★★★
$116
3.5 / 5 163 reviews
★★★
$89
3.4 / 5 633 reviews
★★★★
$89
3.8 / 5 74 reviews
★★★
$122
4.1 / 5 71 reviews
★★★
$143
4.1 / 5 25 reviews
★★★
$85
3.6 / 5 143 reviews
★★
$99
3.5 / 5 54 reviews
★★
$115
2.1 / 5 36 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 11.2 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 14.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 15.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 18 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 169
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.2

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cheryl s.
Couples
N/A
Aug 25, 2015

Great getaway

The room was ready. It was oceanfront and it was an amazing view. The only issue we encountered was room service. The first day we did not get it and the second day we called and requested it and when we got back to our room it was taken care of. Other than that it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Penny R.
Couples
N/A
Aug 16, 2015

The bed was to hard for me

It was ok. Even though the hotel was a little off the main strip. It was nice and quiet. Whoever, the bed was to hard, air conditioning was much to noisy. The coffee pot was broken. On my second day staff didn't leave coffee pods or cups. On the last day the electrical outlet for the microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot and TV broke. So I couldn't watch tv or make coffee in the broken pot or heat up anything in the microwave. However everyone was very nice and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Charles S.
Couples
N/A
Aug 8, 2015

If you like run down....

Poor cleaning and maintenance. Cockroach and spider in room. Lights burned out, ceiling in shower peeling away. Pool area dirty and littered with cigar buts. Pool overflows dump trash right into parking lot where guests walk and it wasn't cleaned. Spotty wi-fi. I will not be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
N/A
Jul 31, 2015

It's okay, good time for what we had

Great location. The beach in front of the hotel is not over crowded. Beautiful view. I wasn't too much of a fan of the porch. The porch where we stayed at was not private. Fridge, sink, spacious food counter was a plus.Hotel room and porch could be renovated for the price. Overall I give this hotel a 3 out of 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nolan S.
Couples
N/A
Jul 16, 2015

Never again

This hotel has become the classic story of big business. Cut every corner possible. It's so apparent that no money is reinvested into this hotel. The staff has low morale , if you just need somewhere to lay your head. Here is fine. If you need an experience go elsewhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hipster traveler
Couples
Brooklyn
Jun 2, 2015

Couples get away

Come back to VA beach to visit family and friends. The hotel is far from the tourist put of the strips, which has its pros and cons. Much quieter and more space and privacy at the beach but no restaurants or bars in walkable distance. Did not have much interaction with the staff but seemed good enough. the bartender at the bar downstairs was great. Dog friendly was key.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Usher
Couples
N/A
Apr 8, 2015

Not very happy

We had booked the room requesting a beach view. Unfortunately we did not know that the beach side of the hotel was where people with animals stayed. We would not have chosen this side. The housekeeping manager, Sheron, was very helpful. We will make sure that the next time we book a hotel that we check to see which side is for non animal people and which side is animal friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CoreyK
Couples
Belleville
Apr 6, 2015

Couple Fun!!!!

I had a great experience at the Wyndham in Virginia Beach. Great beach front location. Hotel was very clean and I had no problems. Overall a great hotel and excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Victor S.
Couples
Greenfield
Mar 17, 2015

Virginia Beach

Nice Location. Wish we would have used the shuttle services since parking near the Boardwalk was difficult.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amanda B.
Couples
Virginia Beach
Mar 11, 2015

Good stay

Top floor ocean front room was very nice and clean. Hotel was quiet and the food was good at the restaurant. Keep coming back. Could have used a real coffee maker but they do make a mess outside of a kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top