$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 10, 2014

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

3 stars
5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St and Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
144 reviews
birthday vacation

I had a blast best birthday ever. it was very clean the staff was nice . its the only hotel on that... See full review

  • kekejones1
  • Aug 13, 2014
Great Getaway

elevators are small and slow and pool is surrounded by buildings so dont really feel like you are... See full review

  • Becky in Richmond
  • Jul 30, 2014
Contemporary Virginia Beach hotel with fine dining and pools
The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront provides a peaceful, serene setting. The hotel is close to major Virginia Beach attractions, such as the boardwalk and Virginia Beach Convention Center. There are 244 rooms. The property appeals to vacationing families, couples and corporate clients. Amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, plus a restaurant.

Highlights
  • Seasonal bike, surfboard and kayak rentals
  • Seasonal children's activity center and boardwalk shuttle
  • Indoor-outdoor pool with Jacuzzi
  • Oceanfront dining at the Surf Club Ocean Grille

Rooms

Guest rooms at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront have either private balconies or patios. Of the 244 rooms, 166 rooms face the ocean. Spaces are designed to be airy and bright thanks to canary-colored bedding, white furniture and white lamps. Rooms include Wolfgang Puck coffee and Tazo tea and flat-screen TVs. Every room has a refrigerator, free Wi-Fi and two free bottles of water.

Dining

Circular booths set in a sunken dining area lend structural appeal to the Surf Club Ocean Grille, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront's fine dining restaurant serves regional American cuisine. It has unobstructed panoramic ocean views for up to 175 guests.

Recreation

During the summer, children at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront enjoy Kid's Cove Children's Activity Center. The hotel also provides kayak, bike and surfboard rentals on site (seasonal). The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront operates a free shuttle during the summer to the Virginia Beach boardwalk.  The indoor pool is in a room with a soaring angled ceiling. There is a Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.3 mi/19.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach oceanfront (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.2 mi/27.6 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.4 mi/27.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (43.8 mi/70.6 km)
  • Water Country USA  (44.6 mi/71.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (47.6 mi/76.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (48.9 mi/78.8 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (51.4 mi/82.8 km)

Business
  • 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Wi-Fi
  • Catering services

Hotel Map

36.8839 -75.985
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Game room
Play ground
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 11.2 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 14.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 15.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 18 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.2

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Runner
New Jersey
Sep 5, 2012

So bad we left early!

Stayed in this hotel for the Rock n'Roll VA Beach Half Marathon. It was convenient enough for the race because there were shuttles but otherwise there is nothing within walking distance to eat/shop. Could not get the wi-fi to work, even after calling the front desk twice. Hotel doesn't offer a continental breakfast but said they would provide breakfast for the runners. Should have never relied on that because all they had was pre-packaged muffins and danishes and bananas; not very nutritious for a big race! There was vomit in the elevator and feces on the floor of the lobby in the East Wing. Shower pressure was so hard it flooded the entire bathroom and actually hurt when it hit your skin. So turned off by the room, we cut our stay short and left after dinner the 2nd night. Would never go back to this hotel. Have stayed at other Wyndham's before and they have been just fine. This one was awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VirginiaFamily150
Reston, Virginia
Aug 26, 2013

Outdated, Dirty, and Poor Location

We were very disappointed at our recent stay and will not stay there again. The hotel is quite dated, with smelly old carpeting and grime in the bathroom. Insufficient lighting in the bedroom, and even a missing light bulb in the bathroom (I could have reached up and stuck my finger in the socket). We arrived after a long drive and tried to eat at the only restaurant on the premises. The hostess informed us it would be a 20-minute wait even though there were many empty tables. (We were informed that they were "short-staffed" on a Friday night at 6:45pm.) Not sure we would have enjoyed it anyway because a musician playing in the room was so loud we could not hear ourselves talk. During our second night, the hotel called my cell phone while we were at a restaurant to ask why were were a no-show -- some clerical error caused them to think we were not actually staying there. And, of course upon returning from dinner, our room keys no longer worked. Hotel is located far away from any restaurants or stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very disappointed college student.
Northern Virginia
Jul 30, 2011

Never again...

Got to VA beach a little early (2 pm) and the hotel did not have my room ready so hit the beach. I was told to come back at check in time (4 pm). Tried to check in at 4:15 and they still was not able to check in. Had to go to our show dirty and sandy. They did have the room ready by 10:30 that night. Very rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lisa king
Virginia beach, VA
Feb 22, 2011

getaway

It was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at, and I travel often, the rooms were dirty and small, the bathroom was so small i could not turnaround it, I called housekeeping 4 times, never got the service. tryed to cancel and get a refund as soon as i saw the room and was told they did not give refunds, ended up checking out a day early and lost $80 because i could not take it anymore, Run from the Wyndham in virginia beach, Nothing like another Wyndham i have stayed at

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Beavs
Newport News, VA
Sep 10, 2009

Not Exactly What We Expected

Me and my wife decided to go to the beach for a couple days while i was home on RR from Afgahnistan! Well we decided to get a fairly nice room and what was supposed to be a three star hotel and when we got there reality set in and we realized that even though we thought we saved over 300 dollars we actually got less than we paid for at a discounted rate! First the room we ended up with was nothing like the pictures we saw yes it had a king bed and yes it had two room but no sink no cabinets no table and chairs we did have a fridge in the corner of one of the rooms and we had a microwave beside the tv and we had a 1 cup coffee maker the bath room was dirty and the recliner that was in the room was broken if you put your legs up you would surely get scratched. The alarm clock that was in the room wasnt plugged in as it was missing the plug and when we got a new one it worked it just didnt have and alarm on it that worked! The housekeeping staff didnt show up the second day we were there untill 4pm and then gave us dirty looks cause we were in the room and we felt so uncomfortable we left and had an early dinner, only to find when we got back their idea of squeekie clean (as they say) wasnt any clean that i have ever seen more like a mask or lets just pull the covers up and hope they dont notice that we didnt give them any more toilet paper or towels or vacume of even spray something in the shower at least to make it smell clean! My only praise for this hotel is the resturant while we only drank at the bar it was beautiful and both bartenders were very friendly while i will NEVER EVER stay at the Whyndham hotel i will visit the bar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

go into town in the off season you will find many different resturants that offer the best of sea and land!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 20, 2011

Wyndam 57th street VB Oceanfront

Came into town for a weekend during the summer and chose this hotel because of the location and the Wyndham name. I was pretty disappointed with the whole experience. First, we couldn't check in until 4:30, because our room was not ready. Not a big deal they offered to hold our bags. What was the worst was paying $250/night for a room across from the kiddie and video game room - directly across in a first floor room that hadn't been updated since the 70's. There was mold on the wall of the bathroom, and the paint was peeling off of the bathtub and clogging the drain. The bathroom flooded when showering, the carpets were old damp and musty and the curtains didn't close right so sun came streaming into the room at 6AM. The hotel sheets were stained. I would expect this from a Motel 8 or something, but we booked a Wyndham expecting more than what we got for $250/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gtman
beaufort sc
Jun 12, 2012

Stay as far away as possible

The worst experience in many years and I travel extensively. Started that the room wasn't ready at 5pm...and if it wasn't for some prodding and finally a kind front desk clerk we would have had to wait longer. The front desk manager was just awful. Then to top it off my wife bent down by the bed to pick something up and found a used condom and on the other side of the bed the wrapper!!!....It took an hour for someone to come and get it...and not even a phone call from the manager to check to see if it was taken care of...the same front desk clerk did check on us. It is not convenient to the boardwalk, shops, restaurants etc....big mistake staying here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Firefighter Joe
Houston, Texas
Jul 12, 2009

Dont waste money - stay at hilton = $

Found condoms on dresser, mold in bathroom, ceiling needs paint - not offered compensation for same - they said I could take it up with Orbitz as I had prepaid....I would have to get $ from Orbitz? Yeah right! They offered me no receipt, said use internet confirmation from Orbitz as receipt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
peanut1111
baltimore, md
Sep 11, 2012

Horrible Hotel

If you are only looking for a place to lay your head, then this is the spot. This hotel surely did not fit the quality repretable name it. It had the worse dirties bathtub & toilet I have ever seen. We made sure she showered with shoes on. The room was very small & cramped. The only good thing was the location--on the path behind the beach. We went off site for breakfast-i think the name was Pocohonas something--within walking distance. The food & portion size was great; however, would not return due to TOOOOOO Many flies; you couldnt even enjoy your food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
curtis n
Virginia beach
May 19, 2014

horrible experience

worst experience I ever had the service was terrible especially at the restaurant . the staff was no help at all. and the rooms very dirty the only good part was the beds are very comfortable . this was my first time booking with o r b i t z not sure if I will use them again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

captain George's is a must to eat at

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search