$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

3 stars
5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St and Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
146 reviews
birthday vacation

I had a blast best birthday ever. it was very clean the staff was nice . its the only hotel on that... See full review

  • kekejones1
  • Aug 13, 2014
Great Getaway

elevators are small and slow and pool is surrounded by buildings so dont really feel like you are... See full review

  • Becky in Richmond
  • Jul 30, 2014
Contemporary Virginia Beach hotel with fine dining and pools
The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront provides a peaceful, serene setting. The hotel is close to major Virginia Beach attractions, such as the boardwalk and Virginia Beach Convention Center. There are 244 rooms. The property appeals to vacationing families, couples and corporate clients. Amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, plus a restaurant.

Highlights
  • Seasonal bike, surfboard and kayak rentals
  • Seasonal children's activity center and boardwalk shuttle
  • Indoor-outdoor pool with Jacuzzi
  • Oceanfront dining at the Surf Club Ocean Grille

Rooms

Guest rooms at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront have either private balconies or patios. Of the 244 rooms, 166 rooms face the ocean. Spaces are designed to be airy and bright thanks to canary-colored bedding, white furniture and white lamps. Rooms include Wolfgang Puck coffee and Tazo tea and flat-screen TVs. Every room has a refrigerator, free Wi-Fi and two free bottles of water.

Dining

Circular booths set in a sunken dining area lend structural appeal to the Surf Club Ocean Grille, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront's fine dining restaurant serves regional American cuisine. It has unobstructed panoramic ocean views for up to 175 guests.

Recreation

During the summer, children at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront enjoy Kid's Cove Children's Activity Center. The hotel also provides kayak, bike and surfboard rentals on site (seasonal). The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront operates a free shuttle during the summer to the Virginia Beach boardwalk.  The indoor pool is in a room with a soaring angled ceiling. There is a Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.3 mi/19.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach oceanfront (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.2 mi/27.6 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.4 mi/27.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (43.8 mi/70.6 km)
  • Water Country USA  (44.6 mi/71.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (47.6 mi/76.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (48.9 mi/78.8 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (51.4 mi/82.8 km)

Business
  • 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Wi-Fi
  • Catering services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 11.2 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 14.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 15.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 18 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.2

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BW Inc.
Business
New York
Jul 4, 2012

Wyndham

They had a great staff and were very accommodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Theyre food isn't the greatest at surf side in the Wyndham.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gtman
Business
beaufort sc
Jun 12, 2012

Stay as far away as possible

The worst experience in many years and I travel extensively. Started that the room wasn't ready at 5pm...and if it wasn't for some prodding and finally a kind front desk clerk we would have had to wait longer. The front desk manager was just awful. Then to top it off my wife bent down by the bed to pick something up and found a used condom and on the other side of the bed the wrapper!!!....It took an hour for someone to come and get it...and not even a phone call from the manager to check to see if it was taken care of...the same front desk clerk did check on us. It is not convenient to the boardwalk, shops, restaurants etc....big mistake staying here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Retired Sarge
Business
long island
Jun 4, 2012

Family Wedding

This has to be one of the first hotels built in Virginia Beach. It needs a lot of work. The rooms need to be all redone wallpaper had cuts in it rugs were not very clean because they allow pets so there seemed to be a lot of stains on the carpets, The pools were not very clean could be cleaner.The bed skirts were ripped , the bathrooms had some cracked tiles. The balcony's need to be painted and checked to make sure they are safe. The food was ok but 3.50 for a small o.j. is a bit much, they also need a lot more garbage pails through out the hotel and especially outside on the deck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

hotel shuttle was awesome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kitty127
Business
New York, NY
May 30, 2012

Very cozy

The hotel was perfectly off the beach. My balcony led me to a beautiful view of the beach. I had some trouble getting around back into the parking lot, maybe they should advise which floors lead to parking in the elevators but overall it was a great trip. I definitly enjoyed the pool downstairs and after some deep sun bathing I relaxed in the jacuzzi on the inside. The food was pretty good at the restuarant, it was nice to dine out, literally, catching some breeze from the beach. We even got to witness a small wedding by the beach, so sweet. The boardwalk is not too far and there are shops and diners very near. I would only recommend anyone to stay at the Wyndham!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Water Country USA very fun, family friendly water park with safe rides. Nothing too crazy, just some fun in the water on a nice hot day

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aj and TracyM
Business
Canton Michigan
May 30, 2012

Worst Experience Ever

We stayed here over memorial day weekend and will not be returning. The elevator was very hot and so were the dirty smelly hallways. The tub was dirty and the shower curtain was too long. The accent pillow on the bed was dirty and stained. If that was not enough to make our stay less than pleasurable, I was threatened, verbally abused and almost beat up by a member of the staff over parking. I even had to call the police.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J M H.
Business
Philadelphia
May 29, 2012

relaxation

Beautiful very clean hotel staff was wonderful food was wonderful very quite live band was great oceanfront view room it the only way i would stay its so peaceful very clean beach my wife join the wyndham club today you deserve 5 stars it was a wonderful experience waking up looking out from our bed on the 12fl looking at the ocean I WILL ALWAYS COME BACK HERE TO STAY thankyou

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jejehai
Business
Alexandria, Virginia
May 24, 2012

Secluded get-away

The hotel rooms are average but clean and the amenities are ok. The friendly staff and the quite area is why I've stayed here a couple of times. If you're looking to relax and not be bothered by the board walk crowd then stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Waterman's is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D Dunlap
Business
Fairfax, VA
May 24, 2012

Pleasantly Surprised.

I'm an "Expect the Worst and Hope for the Best" kind of person. I was pleasantly surprised. The room was nice, airy and I got the oceanfront view, as requested. I especially liked the bed. VERY comfortable. The staff were all super nice and helpful. ALL of them. From the check in.. to concierge... to restaurant staff (front AND back of the house)... to housekeeping and to the maintenance crew that were outside touching up the paint for the upcoming busy season. I would definitely stay their again. While I personally can't afford it during peak season; it is competitively priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you like a hearty breakfast; get the breakfast skillet. You get your money's worth.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mahogany
Business
Frederick,Md
May 15, 2012

Nice

Get place to take your pet. Nice and peaceful on the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inna K.
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 26, 2012

Nice getaway for a family

Our stay was very nice. We stayed in 2 bedroom suit with a kitchenette, place was clean and very comfortable. A reason to reserve a suit with a kitchenette was to have a family meal in the room, however, there were no plates, glasses or cups,forks and spoons. In other Wyndham (Las vegas) all what we needed was in the kitchenette ready to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Chix is the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top