$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

3 stars
5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St and Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
140 reviews
birthday vacation

I had a blast best birthday ever. it was very clean the staff was nice . its the only hotel on that... See full review

  • kekejones1
  • Aug 13, 2014
Great Getaway

elevators are small and slow and pool is surrounded by buildings so dont really feel like you are... See full review

  • Becky in Richmond
  • Jul 30, 2014
Contemporary Virginia Beach hotel with fine dining and pools
The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront provides a peaceful, serene setting. The hotel is close to major Virginia Beach attractions, such as the boardwalk and Virginia Beach Convention Center. There are 244 rooms. The property appeals to vacationing families, couples and corporate clients. Amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, plus a restaurant.

Highlights
  • Seasonal bike, surfboard and kayak rentals
  • Seasonal children's activity center and boardwalk shuttle
  • Indoor-outdoor pool with Jacuzzi
  • Oceanfront dining at the Surf Club Ocean Grille

Rooms

Guest rooms at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront have either private balconies or patios. Of the 244 rooms, 166 rooms face the ocean. Spaces are designed to be airy and bright thanks to canary-colored bedding, white furniture and white lamps. Rooms include Wolfgang Puck coffee and Tazo tea and flat-screen TVs. Every room has a refrigerator, free Wi-Fi and two free bottles of water.

Dining

Circular booths set in a sunken dining area lend structural appeal to the Surf Club Ocean Grille, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront's fine dining restaurant serves regional American cuisine. It has unobstructed panoramic ocean views for up to 175 guests.

Recreation

During the summer, children at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront enjoy Kid's Cove Children's Activity Center. The hotel also provides kayak, bike and surfboard rentals on site (seasonal). The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront operates a free shuttle during the summer to the Virginia Beach boardwalk.  The indoor pool is in a room with a soaring angled ceiling. There is a Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.3 mi/19.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach oceanfront (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.2 mi/27.6 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.4 mi/27.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (43.8 mi/70.6 km)
  • Water Country USA  (44.6 mi/71.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (47.6 mi/76.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (48.9 mi/78.8 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (51.4 mi/82.8 km)

Business
  • 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Wi-Fi
  • Catering services

Hotel Map

36.8839 -75.985
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Game room
Play ground
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 11.2 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 14.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 15.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 18 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.2

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D Dunlap
Fairfax, VA
May 24, 2012

Pleasantly Surprised.

I'm an "Expect the Worst and Hope for the Best" kind of person. I was pleasantly surprised. The room was nice, airy and I got the oceanfront view, as requested. I especially liked the bed. VERY comfortable. The staff were all super nice and helpful. ALL of them. From the check in.. to concierge... to restaurant staff (front AND back of the house)... to housekeeping and to the maintenance crew that were outside touching up the paint for the upcoming busy season. I would definitely stay their again. While I personally can't afford it during peak season; it is competitively priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you like a hearty breakfast; get the breakfast skillet. You get your money's worth.

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mahogany
Frederick,Md
May 15, 2012

Nice

Get place to take your pet. Nice and peaceful on the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inna K.
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 26, 2012

Nice getaway for a family

Our stay was very nice. We stayed in 2 bedroom suit with a kitchenette, place was clean and very comfortable. A reason to reserve a suit with a kitchenette was to have a family meal in the room, however, there were no plates, glasses or cups,forks and spoons. In other Wyndham (Las vegas) all what we needed was in the kitchenette ready to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Chix is the best!

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Len01
Georgetown, Delaware
Apr 12, 2012

Affordable beachfront

Check in was easy and problem free. Staff upgraded me to a partial view of the ocean. Staff was courteous and accommodating. Room was not immaculate, there was Chinese food on the floor from prior occupants. There was also dust on the floor where things should have been moved and vaccuumed. Was an overall good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Need Another Vacation
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Apr 8, 2012

Dirties Hotel I have EVER Stayed in!!!

Don't let the name Wyndam fool you! Have traveled around the world...even to 3rd world countries and have never complained about a hotel room before now. They had to change our room because of how dirty it was. I refused to give my children showers until room was changed. The pool was cloudy and crowded. When I took off my bathing suit after going in the hot tub and pool I had dirt and hair all over my chest....discusting!!!! Far away from Main attractions. Who wants to spend their vacation dealing with this mess? NO ONE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dough Boys California Pizza on 33rd! The Pizza was great, atmosphere and service was AWESOME! And the Orange Crush cocktail I had ROCKED!! really felt like I was on vacation eating at this place. Gave us coupons for Ben and Jerry's next door. THEY ROCK!

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nata31
Greenville, NC, USA
Apr 4, 2012

romantica getaway

it was a wonderful experience,staff was very friendly,helpful..... LUVED IT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

GHIRROD2, ITS VERY NICE,TOP OF THE LINE..

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Coop1966
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 31, 2012

Family

Room was not what we were told it would be cleaning service clean our room once in 4 nights asked for cleaning 3 times overall not happy at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sashbash
Buffalo, NY, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Not great

Utilities present but not accessible. pool closed, no complimentary breakfast, when asked for beach ball declined saying only provided during summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

nice view

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Adrian79
Norfolk, VA
Nov 17, 2011

Nice, but tricky

I booked a room on the club floor and they tried to give me a room on the second floor. I called about it and they gave me a room on the 8th floor. Far from the 16th club floor. Not even the 15th. I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fredow
Richmond, VA, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Great weekend getaway

we ended up at this hotel because every other hotel on the strip was booked. We were pleasantly surprised by how much we liked it. It's quiet, comfortable and away from the craziness of the strip. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant was excellent

Back to menu Return to top

Change search