$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

3 stars
5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St and Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
146 reviews
birthday vacation

I had a blast best birthday ever. it was very clean the staff was nice . its the only hotel on that... See full review

  • kekejones1
  • Aug 13, 2014
Great Getaway

elevators are small and slow and pool is surrounded by buildings so dont really feel like you are... See full review

  • Becky in Richmond
  • Jul 30, 2014
Contemporary Virginia Beach hotel with fine dining and pools
The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront provides a peaceful, serene setting. The hotel is close to major Virginia Beach attractions, such as the boardwalk and Virginia Beach Convention Center. There are 244 rooms. The property appeals to vacationing families, couples and corporate clients. Amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, plus a restaurant.

Highlights
  • Seasonal bike, surfboard and kayak rentals
  • Seasonal children's activity center and boardwalk shuttle
  • Indoor-outdoor pool with Jacuzzi
  • Oceanfront dining at the Surf Club Ocean Grille

Rooms

Guest rooms at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront have either private balconies or patios. Of the 244 rooms, 166 rooms face the ocean. Spaces are designed to be airy and bright thanks to canary-colored bedding, white furniture and white lamps. Rooms include Wolfgang Puck coffee and Tazo tea and flat-screen TVs. Every room has a refrigerator, free Wi-Fi and two free bottles of water.

Dining

Circular booths set in a sunken dining area lend structural appeal to the Surf Club Ocean Grille, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront's fine dining restaurant serves regional American cuisine. It has unobstructed panoramic ocean views for up to 175 guests.

Recreation

During the summer, children at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront enjoy Kid's Cove Children's Activity Center. The hotel also provides kayak, bike and surfboard rentals on site (seasonal). The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront operates a free shuttle during the summer to the Virginia Beach boardwalk.  The indoor pool is in a room with a soaring angled ceiling. There is a Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.3 mi/19.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach oceanfront (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.2 mi/27.6 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.4 mi/27.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (43.8 mi/70.6 km)
  • Water Country USA  (44.6 mi/71.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (47.6 mi/76.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (48.9 mi/78.8 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (51.4 mi/82.8 km)

Business
  • 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Wi-Fi
  • Catering services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 11.2 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 14.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 15.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 18 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.2

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katre726
Business
walden, ny
Sep 7, 2012

great location!!

this was a kinda last min vacation and this was only thing available that we could afford. Location to beach was awesome and the beach was not crowded at all. The room was very tight and house keeping was slow but staff was wonderful everywhere we went.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Beach Pub, great ma pa place great food and cheap prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Runner
Business
New Jersey
Sep 5, 2012

So bad we left early!

Stayed in this hotel for the Rock n'Roll VA Beach Half Marathon. It was convenient enough for the race because there were shuttles but otherwise there is nothing within walking distance to eat/shop. Could not get the wi-fi to work, even after calling the front desk twice. Hotel doesn't offer a continental breakfast but said they would provide breakfast for the runners. Should have never relied on that because all they had was pre-packaged muffins and danishes and bananas; not very nutritious for a big race! There was vomit in the elevator and feces on the floor of the lobby in the East Wing. Shower pressure was so hard it flooded the entire bathroom and actually hurt when it hit your skin. So turned off by the room, we cut our stay short and left after dinner the 2nd night. Would never go back to this hotel. Have stayed at other Wyndham's before and they have been just fine. This one was awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Madmom
Business
Virginia
Aug 29, 2012

Awful getaway

When we first checked in, they gave us a room that was not cleaned. Once we notified the front desk, they gave us a room overtaken with nets. That room they sprayed with us in it, horrible. The flying critters just kept coming, they were in the hall and elevator. All this after Brenan at the desk checked us in, never told us which way to go and we carried our bags through the building that houses the ballrooms and to both rooms. Will never stay at this far away, unprofessional place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
worst room ever
Business
virgirna beach va
Aug 28, 2012

never again

had to get staff to make the bed as it still had alot of someones hair in it when we got there then it took 3 of them about 2 hours to redo the bed . we showed them the glasses that had cig ashes in them as they never changed our glasses. the wifi only worked about 1 hour and even after calling several times it was never fixed our time there . the room was in bad need of fixing and the elavator was in bad need also actully the whole hotel that i seen was in need of fixing will never stay there again and at $288 plus usd i feel we got robbed and will be trying to get this price reduced as i have stayed in $50 motels that were very much nicer than the wyadham at virgina beach va

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

rockofellers seafood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shivam H
Business
Philadelphia PA
Aug 28, 2012

Great quiet location

Good facilities but general cleanliness was lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yeru
Business
Arlington, VA
Aug 20, 2012

Poor guest service

We had a negative experience at this hotel. Since it's located few blocks away from the board walk, we're trying to find a way to get to the board walk. We asked a staff the easiest way to get to the board walk but the staff didn't inform us that there is a shuttle service from the hotel to the board walk so we had to walk over a mile in the dark the first night, very poor customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sam and Driver Ed
Business
Spencerport, NY
Jul 10, 2012

needs inprovement

After calling the hotel twice to get adjoining rooms with another couple that traveled with us I was told that we would have to wait upon arrival, but they would put a note on the reservation that we were requesting the adjoining rooms. When we arrived we couldn't get adjoining rooms but did get rooms just down the hall from each other. Their vending machines were out of order for two of the three days of our stay, considering it was well into the 90's, bottled water was not available unless you went to the resturant and the water was more expensive. We were also charged an extra tax when we checked out. Bugs were found in both rooms, we were asked if we would like to change rooms, as we all know, when one is found more than likely they're in every room. On the good side, the resturant was very good and the staff was very freindly.They also advertise the boardwalk being only a couple of blocks away, it was more like 8 to 10 blocks, but they did have a shuttle service to take you there and bring you back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The boardwalk was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ezzeldin S. Ezzeldin
Business
Ashburn, VA
Jul 8, 2012

4th of July Trip

1. Didn't get the Ocean Front rooms 2. The hotel was toooooo far from the boardwalk 3. The restaurant equipment didn't work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michelle718
Business
new york, new york
Jul 8, 2012

Wonderful!!

MY family had a wonderful time staying here would stay here again. The staff was so pleasant. The room was always clean and we had a terrific maid named Tia that went out of her way to make our stay great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Real Mom
Business
Stafford, Virginia
Jul 6, 2012

Such a disappointment!

We picked this hotel because it was a big name and we felt it was a place we could trust but upon check-in, we realized we made a mistake. Not only was the hotel off the boardwalk, but it was run down. Getting our luggage up the steep ramps to our room was a pain. When we opened the door to our room we found it OCCUPIED! A janitor (very nice man) stayed with me and my children the whole time and helped us into another room and even got the keys for us. Once in the room we found the bed linens dirty and just an overall lack of building care. A few minutes later there was a load noise in the hall--the room across from us FLOODED! We requested a crib three times before someone brought one to us, and music played in the hallway all night, making it difficult to sleep. Nevermind the lack of air conditioned elevators and dirty floors in the halls! The hotel staff was very friendly, the only reason this received a two-star rating instead of one! We will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top