$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 15, 2015

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

3 stars
View map of 5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St and Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.2

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LAWJLR
Business
Virginia
Jul 19, 2014

Not What I Expected

Based on the promotion I read, I though my room (not just the hotel) was ocean front. The room size was fine but the bathroom was small and the shower was awful. To get a bearable shower temperature the water only trickled. To get a decent spray the water was way too HOT. The hallways were very warm (hot) and the ice maker on our floor was broken. It was nice to have a shuttle to the boardwalk area but the van was not easy to enter or exit for older folks. Probably wont stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rahulinatlanric
Business
Washington DC
Jul 16, 2014

Excellent Location, quite and clean hotel

1. Excellent location on the beach. 2. Balcony in the room I stayed facing the ocean. 3. Chairs in the hotel for relaxing. 4. Right outside the hotel, a person rents umbrella and chairs, which is quite convienent. 5. Now very far from broadwalk. 6. Not a lot of foot traffic on the beach outside the hotel so can relax easily. 7. Good food in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean is the most major attraction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debbie Birthday Girl
Business
Middletown, Virginia
Jul 7, 2014

Perfect Holiday weekend

My husband & I were celebrating my birthday & 4th of July, we had an ocean front rm which was great for the spectacular fireworks display. We enjoyed the location, it wasn't as crowded as places on the boardwalk, but close enough where you could walk or rent a bike. We enjoyed the oceanfront restaurant & bar, everything was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stickleyw
Business
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Jun 29, 2014

Empty Promises

The hotel itself was clean and in a nice location I had zero complaints there. However, I reserved 2 rooms weeks in advance and had reserved a roll away bed for both rooms. When my group arrived there we were told that the hotel had ZERO roll away beds and that they could provide a pillow and blanket instead so that 1 person in each room could sleep on the floor. The staff found this to be an acceptable response and were otherwise completely unhelpful and highly unapologetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lolo620
Business
Nc
Jun 23, 2014

Weekend get away

The staff was extremely nice. We only had issues with the air in the room, it was either too hot or too cold no in between. Also the air in the hallway was extremely hot, close to over bearing, besides that great view, clean and worth my money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LJL1122
Business
Fredericksburg VA
Jun 23, 2014

Off the beaten path...

This hotel is nice if you don't want to be in the busy part of the boardwalk. The room was okay. Not the dirtiest place but not the cleanest either. Not sure it was worth the money but it is a Wyndham so I guess you pay for the name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yeni Penny
Business
Sterling, VA
Jun 21, 2014

If it werent for the incident caused then everything would have been great!

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights the first night we brought in all the food we had brought to snack on so we wouldn't have to eat out all the time. While the house keepers were cleaning the room that same afternoon we got to the room and somewhat of our food was missing. We went to the front desk and the manager on duty said that they throw out what is thought that is trash? If they use the brains they don't have its packaged, untouched. therefore why was there the need to throw it away? We in fact had a bag separately for TRASH! The manager refused to do a single thing about it. I gave him an example of how would he feel like if someone were to go to his room and just throw things that he needs because it isn't fair, if the money that is spent on what you bought is being thrown away. He answered me back saying "oh once that happened to me in fact". So what I understood from that was just because I So technically what I got out of what he kept saying to me was whatever is on the floor is considered trash. I'm surprised they didn't throw my personal things as well I mean the luggage was on the floor. Everything of this hotel was fine until that day. I don't know if I really would want to come back and it is all because of the staff! Considering the fact that the manager kept saying he wasn't going to do anything about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Neptune's Restaurant. The buffet is GREAT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RSS82
Business
charlottesville, va
Jun 17, 2014

nice place, nice stay

The staff was courteous, the room was clean. my daughter loved the pools and the beach access was perfect. no complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BK99
Business
Va,
Jun 16, 2014

Pets Allowed!!

I was not informed that pets were allowed in this Hotel!! I have pretty sever allergies and the thought of sleeping in a room that previously had pets was disturbing. What was very annoying was: 1. There was barking on & off on my floor. The last time was at 11:00 Pm!! 2. The guy at the desk couldn't tell me if there were designated floors for pets..... I will not be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lauren Taylor
Business
Tabernacle, New Jersey
Jun 15, 2014

Couple Getaway

We had a great time here at the Wyndham! At first we were very skeptical with all the bad reviews about bed bugs, rude staff, and cleanliness. But to our surprise our room was very clean and the staff was always friendly!! They even upgraded us to an oceanfront room! It was a little ways from downtown (about a five minute drive) but the beachfront was very private. Overall we had a great experience and would definitely visit again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top