$66 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

3 stars
5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St and Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
146 reviews
birthday vacation

I had a blast best birthday ever. it was very clean the staff was nice . its the only hotel on that... See full review

  • kekejones1
  • Aug 13, 2014
Great Getaway

elevators are small and slow and pool is surrounded by buildings so dont really feel like you are... See full review

  • Becky in Richmond
  • Jul 30, 2014
Contemporary Virginia Beach hotel with fine dining and pools
The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront provides a peaceful, serene setting. The hotel is close to major Virginia Beach attractions, such as the boardwalk and Virginia Beach Convention Center. There are 244 rooms. The property appeals to vacationing families, couples and corporate clients. Amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, plus a restaurant.

Highlights
  • Seasonal bike, surfboard and kayak rentals
  • Seasonal children's activity center and boardwalk shuttle
  • Indoor-outdoor pool with Jacuzzi
  • Oceanfront dining at the Surf Club Ocean Grille

Rooms

Guest rooms at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront have either private balconies or patios. Of the 244 rooms, 166 rooms face the ocean. Spaces are designed to be airy and bright thanks to canary-colored bedding, white furniture and white lamps. Rooms include Wolfgang Puck coffee and Tazo tea and flat-screen TVs. Every room has a refrigerator, free Wi-Fi and two free bottles of water.

Dining

Circular booths set in a sunken dining area lend structural appeal to the Surf Club Ocean Grille, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront's fine dining restaurant serves regional American cuisine. It has unobstructed panoramic ocean views for up to 175 guests.

Recreation

During the summer, children at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront enjoy Kid's Cove Children's Activity Center. The hotel also provides kayak, bike and surfboard rentals on site (seasonal). The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront operates a free shuttle during the summer to the Virginia Beach boardwalk.  The indoor pool is in a room with a soaring angled ceiling. There is a Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.3 mi/19.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach oceanfront (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.2 mi/27.6 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.4 mi/27.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (43.8 mi/70.6 km)
  • Water Country USA  (44.6 mi/71.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (47.6 mi/76.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (48.9 mi/78.8 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (51.4 mi/82.8 km)

Business
  • 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Wi-Fi
  • Catering services

Hotel Map

36.8839 -75.985
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 11.2 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 14.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 15.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 18 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.2

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very disappointed college student.
Business
Northern Virginia
Jul 30, 2011

Never again...

Got to VA beach a little early (2 pm) and the hotel did not have my room ready so hit the beach. I was told to come back at check in time (4 pm). Tried to check in at 4:15 and they still was not able to check in. Had to go to our show dirty and sandy. They did have the room ready by 10:30 that night. Very rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 20, 2011

Wyndam 57th street VB Oceanfront

Came into town for a weekend during the summer and chose this hotel because of the location and the Wyndham name. I was pretty disappointed with the whole experience. First, we couldn't check in until 4:30, because our room was not ready. Not a big deal they offered to hold our bags. What was the worst was paying $250/night for a room across from the kiddie and video game room - directly across in a first floor room that hadn't been updated since the 70's. There was mold on the wall of the bathroom, and the paint was peeling off of the bathtub and clogging the drain. The bathroom flooded when showering, the carpets were old damp and musty and the curtains didn't close right so sun came streaming into the room at 6AM. The hotel sheets were stained. I would expect this from a Motel 8 or something, but we booked a Wyndham expecting more than what we got for $250/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
debidoo
Business
lynchburg, va
Jun 15, 2011

Nice overnight

My friend and I went for an overnight mother's get-a-way. The hotel was very nice. Upon arrival our room was not ready (because we were very early) but they gave us a pass to park the car and feel free to use the accomadations. We went to the lounge and sat outside enjoying the sun, breeze and view of the ocean while eating lunch and being served by Jeremy, who was very friendly and sincere. The crab bisque was nothing to brag about. The room was very clean and neat. We had an overview of the pool which was nicer than a parking lot view. Staff was also friendly and helpful. I would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Apr 23, 2011

nice location but shabby and dirty

The hotel was dirty. Garbage can in the room and coffee maker was not clean. Common area like lobby and elevators were dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lisa king
Business
Virginia beach, VA
Feb 22, 2011

getaway

It was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at, and I travel often, the rooms were dirty and small, the bathroom was so small i could not turnaround it, I called housekeeping 4 times, never got the service. tryed to cancel and get a refund as soon as i saw the room and was told they did not give refunds, ended up checking out a day early and lost $80 because i could not take it anymore, Run from the Wyndham in virginia beach, Nothing like another Wyndham i have stayed at

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Josh the UNSATISFIED CUSTOMER
Business
Emmaus, PA
Sep 26, 2010

Nothing Premium about our stay

From the beginning, the staff at the check-in desk was not friendly and personable. They were slowwww! When we finally got to our room we discovered that it was not what we made reservations for. We reserved a PREMIUM King suite and they gave us a 2 double bed suite. So I called the front desk to let them know that we received the wrong roon and they told us that it was all they had left. So I called [...] and miraculously they found another room for us. The new room was a king suite but very small and nothing premium about it, the bed was one of those beds that folds up into the wall. The next day my wife cut her foot on the exposed metal of the bed. It was missing an end cap for the corner. The worst part about that is that we went to the front desk to get some first aid stuff to clean and bandage her foot and they told us they didnt have a first aid kit. They did end up getting her a bandaid eventually. The drains were also really slow in both showers. I dont usually complain but im really unsatisfied with my stay especially because of the amount of money I paid

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

buy a time share!!!! You don't have to always use it at the same place and your money goes toward owning a property

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington D.C.
Sep 22, 2010

First and last time staying here!

Our stay was from 9/1 - 9/5 for a friend's wedding and our experience at this hotel was horrible. The rooms were not clean and the staff was unprofessional. The shower curtains smelled like cigarette smoke and there are cigarette burn holes on the furniture in the guest room. When we first arrived to hotel room and opened the door, the cleaning person was in the room watching TV. She quickly turned the TV off and walked out of the room after I informed her that we are checking in. After we checked out on 9/5, we left some clothing items behind in one of the drawers. To this date, I had made 5 phone calls to both the head of the Housekeeping and even talked to the General Manager of the hotel [...] but did not receive any phone calls back about our items. The front desk was helpful and the bartender at the Surfclub Grille was pleasant but the rest of the staff, including the GM, was unprofessional and unresponsive. This was our first time staying at the Wyndham and definitely will be the last. We will be sure to write a letter regarding this awful experience and the unprofessionalism of the hotel staff to the Wyndham Corporate office. We definitely do not and will not recomment this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dada man
Business
Richmond va
Aug 31, 2010

very relaxing

Ff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Va. Beach native
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 30, 2010

Best Location

If you want quiet time at the beach, away from the tourist area, The Wyndham has the best location by far. Otherwise it's just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For a very casual, family friendly dinner, the Beach Pub on Laskin Rd. is a good choice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Jun 14, 2010

Vriginia Beach Vacation

Beach area was great and quiet. What disturbed me was; while parking in the garage, someone on the 5th floor spit on my car. Hotel desk associates were informed and nothing was done. Not even a complimentary car was. We stayed from Friday and checked out on Monday. Our room keys were not set for the entire stay. On Sunday after spending time on the beach we had to go to the front desk while wet to have the keys re-activated(annoying).Our room was on the 12th floor, so we had to go all the way back down to the 1st floor and across to the check in building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top