$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 15, 2015

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

3 stars
View map of 5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St and Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.2

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ems2008
Business
Wyoming, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Would not stay at this hotel again, or reccomend!!

I had to switch rooms 3 times before I got a room that did not smell of animal urine. The rooms were disgustingly dirty. Mold and Mildew covered the bathroom surfaces and the wallpaper in the main living area was coming off the wall. Even though booking a trip through Orbitz states all tax and fees are included the hotel still charged "extra" fees upon check out. I even upgraded to a nicer hotel room with an ocean front view, I had a LOT higher expectations!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SR15
Business
Alexandria, VA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Not bad, but not as good as hoping

I've stayed at Wyndhams before, this was not your typical Wyndham. It was a bit old. The tower reminded me of something out of the Soviet Union. The location was good on the one hand: on the beach, but FAR from the boardwalk, clubs, restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not a complainer
Business
Durham, NC
Aug 8, 2011

Vacation Weekend

-Hotel was average -Pools needs to be bigger and redone; water was dirty -People that worked their were friendly -Had to call for extra wash clothes on the first day because it was only one there (when it was three of us)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Entertainment and nightlife is a short drive but long walk. The boardwalk funtime is a 27 block walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very disappointed college student.
Business
Northern Virginia
Jul 30, 2011

Never again...

Got to VA beach a little early (2 pm) and the hotel did not have my room ready so hit the beach. I was told to come back at check in time (4 pm). Tried to check in at 4:15 and they still was not able to check in. Had to go to our show dirty and sandy. They did have the room ready by 10:30 that night. Very rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 20, 2011

Wyndam 57th street VB Oceanfront

Came into town for a weekend during the summer and chose this hotel because of the location and the Wyndham name. I was pretty disappointed with the whole experience. First, we couldn't check in until 4:30, because our room was not ready. Not a big deal they offered to hold our bags. What was the worst was paying $250/night for a room across from the kiddie and video game room - directly across in a first floor room that hadn't been updated since the 70's. There was mold on the wall of the bathroom, and the paint was peeling off of the bathtub and clogging the drain. The bathroom flooded when showering, the carpets were old damp and musty and the curtains didn't close right so sun came streaming into the room at 6AM. The hotel sheets were stained. I would expect this from a Motel 8 or something, but we booked a Wyndham expecting more than what we got for $250/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
debidoo
Business
lynchburg, va
Jun 15, 2011

Nice overnight

My friend and I went for an overnight mother's get-a-way. The hotel was very nice. Upon arrival our room was not ready (because we were very early) but they gave us a pass to park the car and feel free to use the accomadations. We went to the lounge and sat outside enjoying the sun, breeze and view of the ocean while eating lunch and being served by Jeremy, who was very friendly and sincere. The crab bisque was nothing to brag about. The room was very clean and neat. We had an overview of the pool which was nicer than a parking lot view. Staff was also friendly and helpful. I would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Apr 23, 2011

nice location but shabby and dirty

The hotel was dirty. Garbage can in the room and coffee maker was not clean. Common area like lobby and elevators were dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lisa king
Business
Virginia beach, VA
Feb 22, 2011

getaway

It was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at, and I travel often, the rooms were dirty and small, the bathroom was so small i could not turnaround it, I called housekeeping 4 times, never got the service. tryed to cancel and get a refund as soon as i saw the room and was told they did not give refunds, ended up checking out a day early and lost $80 because i could not take it anymore, Run from the Wyndham in virginia beach, Nothing like another Wyndham i have stayed at

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Josh the UNSATISFIED CUSTOMER
Business
Emmaus, PA
Sep 26, 2010

Nothing Premium about our stay

From the beginning, the staff at the check-in desk was not friendly and personable. They were slowwww! When we finally got to our room we discovered that it was not what we made reservations for. We reserved a PREMIUM King suite and they gave us a 2 double bed suite. So I called the front desk to let them know that we received the wrong roon and they told us that it was all they had left. So I called [...] and miraculously they found another room for us. The new room was a king suite but very small and nothing premium about it, the bed was one of those beds that folds up into the wall. The next day my wife cut her foot on the exposed metal of the bed. It was missing an end cap for the corner. The worst part about that is that we went to the front desk to get some first aid stuff to clean and bandage her foot and they told us they didnt have a first aid kit. They did end up getting her a bandaid eventually. The drains were also really slow in both showers. I dont usually complain but im really unsatisfied with my stay especially because of the amount of money I paid

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

buy a time share!!!! You don't have to always use it at the same place and your money goes toward owning a property

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington D.C.
Sep 22, 2010

First and last time staying here!

Our stay was from 9/1 - 9/5 for a friend's wedding and our experience at this hotel was horrible. The rooms were not clean and the staff was unprofessional. The shower curtains smelled like cigarette smoke and there are cigarette burn holes on the furniture in the guest room. When we first arrived to hotel room and opened the door, the cleaning person was in the room watching TV. She quickly turned the TV off and walked out of the room after I informed her that we are checking in. After we checked out on 9/5, we left some clothing items behind in one of the drawers. To this date, I had made 5 phone calls to both the head of the Housekeeping and even talked to the General Manager of the hotel [...] but did not receive any phone calls back about our items. The front desk was helpful and the bartender at the Surfclub Grille was pleasant but the rest of the staff, including the GM, was unprofessional and unresponsive. This was our first time staying at the Wyndham and definitely will be the last. We will be sure to write a letter regarding this awful experience and the unprofessionalism of the hotel staff to the Wyndham Corporate office. We definitely do not and will not recomment this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top