$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

3 stars
5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St and Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
140 reviews
birthday vacation

I had a blast best birthday ever. it was very clean the staff was nice . its the only hotel on that... See full review

  • kekejones1
  • Aug 13, 2014
Great Getaway

elevators are small and slow and pool is surrounded by buildings so dont really feel like you are... See full review

  • Becky in Richmond
  • Jul 30, 2014
Contemporary Virginia Beach hotel with fine dining and pools
The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront provides a peaceful, serene setting. The hotel is close to major Virginia Beach attractions, such as the boardwalk and Virginia Beach Convention Center. There are 244 rooms. The property appeals to vacationing families, couples and corporate clients. Amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, plus a restaurant.

Highlights
  • Seasonal bike, surfboard and kayak rentals
  • Seasonal children's activity center and boardwalk shuttle
  • Indoor-outdoor pool with Jacuzzi
  • Oceanfront dining at the Surf Club Ocean Grille

Rooms

Guest rooms at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront have either private balconies or patios. Of the 244 rooms, 166 rooms face the ocean. Spaces are designed to be airy and bright thanks to canary-colored bedding, white furniture and white lamps. Rooms include Wolfgang Puck coffee and Tazo tea and flat-screen TVs. Every room has a refrigerator, free Wi-Fi and two free bottles of water.

Dining

Circular booths set in a sunken dining area lend structural appeal to the Surf Club Ocean Grille, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront's fine dining restaurant serves regional American cuisine. It has unobstructed panoramic ocean views for up to 175 guests.

Recreation

During the summer, children at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront enjoy Kid's Cove Children's Activity Center. The hotel also provides kayak, bike and surfboard rentals on site (seasonal). The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront operates a free shuttle during the summer to the Virginia Beach boardwalk.  The indoor pool is in a room with a soaring angled ceiling. There is a Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.3 mi/19.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach oceanfront (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.2 mi/27.6 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.4 mi/27.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (43.8 mi/70.6 km)
  • Water Country USA  (44.6 mi/71.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (47.6 mi/76.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (48.9 mi/78.8 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (51.4 mi/82.8 km)

Business
  • 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Wi-Fi
  • Catering services

Hotel Map

36.8839 -75.985
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Game room
Play ground
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 11.2 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 14.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 15.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 18 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.2

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BW Inc.
New York
Jul 4, 2012

Wyndham

They had a great staff and were very accommodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Theyre food isn't the greatest at surf side in the Wyndham.

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rich Travelen
Stafford, Virginia
Aug 18, 2014

Nice Location / Ok Hotel

The elevators and hallway were not air conditioned, which wasn't that big of a deal, when we got to the actual room there were three burned out bulbs. I attempted to call the front desk, and let the phone ring for two solid minutes; with no response so I walked back to the front desk and told them about the problem. Once notified they DID fix the issue. The beach is absolutely amazing at the hotel, the view is spectacular. It is off the main strip which is good and bad, if you enjoy the strip; its not for you. If you are like me and want to avoid the throngs of people, this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Murphy's. Very nice atmosphere, good food at good prices, really enjoyed it.

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
a opJewelsulesa
Virginia beach
Aug 14, 2014

I

The hotel was nice. The only really disappointing part was arriving at the hotel at 0100 after an 8 hour drive and not having the rollaway bed that was promised to be already set up in our room. I spoke with someone prior to our arrival and also requested the extra bed during booking and it still was not brought to our room until after our arrival. There was a king size bed 5 that was nice, but the room was for my 17 year old daughter, my 23 year old son, and myself. The first vacation we were able to spend together as a family in about 8 years. The staff was hospitable and the view was amazing. A little on the high price end, but otherwise comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check your mobile entertainment apps.

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kekejones1
louisburg, north Carolina
Aug 13, 2014

birthday vacation

I had a blast best birthday ever. it was very clean the staff was nice . its the only hotel on that road very peaceful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
katre726
walden, ny
Aug 2, 2014

disappointed this time

We stayed here 2 yrs ago and was very impressed with everything. The room was good for price and location was wonderful. So we decided to come back this year. Whoa what a downhill slide the hotel has done. The room was no clean at all. The 1st night the sheets were stained, the second day we noticed blood stains on the sheets!!! (GROSS). Then there was a palmetto bug in our room. There was time room was cleaned and tissues were not replaced and empty box just left on the counter. Then on our last night the room was cleaned and we were left with no hand towels and no to toilet paper at all. Had to call down to get them. Also were only given 2 towels (which wasnt enough, most places give at least 3). There was garbage left in our room every day. Room was also not vacuumed every day, considering its on beach should have been done daily so that not overly sandy. The location is amazing especially if you dont want all the buzz from board walk. The shuttle is convienenent and the staff was mostly very nice. Would recommend calling before booking though if you are looking for a peaceful vacation. We got there at the same time as a camp. We do not have children and chose this location because of the quiet laid back atmosphere. It was ruined by about 150 kids all over. Could not use the pool or the hot tub because the had all the kids in pool at same time. Food quality has also went down since our last stay. Glad we paid O#$^%z price for room though and not full price, was verrrryyyyy disappointed to the point that we will not be returning to this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Beach Pub (Lasking Rd) for breakfast, Murphy's (30th St) for dinner and drinks

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pekki
Md
Aug 1, 2014

Family trip to beach

Sunrises were wonderful, beach was clean and very easy to access. Pool is small and dirty. Room is average and housekeeping did well cleaning. AC worked in our room but not as well in others rooms on my trip and the hallway felt heated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Becky in Richmond
Richmond, VA
Jul 30, 2014

Great Getaway

elevators are small and slow and pool is surrounded by buildings so dont really feel like you are at thew beach, but i would definitely stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris464837r4yri8r
Maryland
Jul 28, 2014

Awesome!

Great hotel right on the beach. Clean and spacious rooms. Very quiet area of Virginia Beach. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennifer 14
West Virginia
Jul 26, 2014

Just fantastic

This hotel was just great... loved how it was away from the boardwalk noise when you wanted to be but yet close enough to drive and park to enjoy all the activities. The staff was helpful, room was cleaned dally, view was spectacular! Definitely will stay again. ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angel27
Virgina Beach
Jul 21, 2014

Getaway

Overall, the hôtel is average. Needs updating. Enjoyed the Oceanfront view. Requires hôtel shuttle service to get to the boardwalk. If you want to be close to the boardwalk, stay in another hôtel along the boardwalk (17th - 31st off Atlantic Ave).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tamjoshjim
Mount pleasant pa
Jul 19, 2014

Stayed there twice and had a great time

We stayed there twice and had a great time. The room was clean and spacious. They allow pets which is extra awesome not to mention that it is oceanfront. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Pennbrooke mall very nice

Back to menu Return to top

Change search