$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

3 stars
View map of 5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St and Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
169 reviews
Road trip

We liked it! Room did not get cleaned without asking. See full review

  • Shannon K.
  • Aug 5, 2015
Cleanliness

We stayed for two nights and the room was not cleaned at all. We called the front desk that evening... See full review

  • Toufic A.
  • Aug 2, 2015
The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront provides a peaceful, serene setting. The hotel is close to major Virginia Beach attractions, such as the boardwalk and Virginia Beach Convention Center. There are 244 rooms. The property appeals to vacationing families, couples and corporate clients. Amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, plus a restaurant.

Dining

Circular booths set in a sunken dining area lend structural appeal to the Surf Club Ocean Grille, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront's fine dining restaurant serves regional American cuisine. It has unobstructed panoramic ocean views for up to 175 guests.

Rooms

Guest rooms at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront have either private balconies or patios. Of the 244 rooms, 166 rooms face the ocean. Spaces are designed to be airy and bright thanks to canary-colored bedding, white furniture and white lamps. Rooms include Wolfgang Puck coffee and Tazo tea and flat-screen TVs. Every room has a refrigerator, free Wi-Fi and two free bottles of water.

Highlights
  • Seasonal bike, surfboard and kayak rentals
  • Seasonal children's activity center and boardwalk shuttle
  • Indoor-outdoor pool with Jacuzzi
  • Oceanfront dining at the Surf Club Ocean Grille

Nearby attractions
  • Virginia Beach oceanfront (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.2 mi/27.6 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.4 mi/27.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (43.8 mi/70.6 km)
  • Water Country USA  (44.6 mi/71.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (47.6 mi/76.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (48.9 mi/78.8 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (51.4 mi/82.8 km)

Business
  • 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Wi-Fi
  • Catering services
Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.3 mi/19.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)

Recreation

During the summer, children at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront enjoy Kid's Cove Children's Activity Center. The hotel also provides kayak, bike and surfboard rentals on site (seasonal). The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront operates a free shuttle during the summer to the Virginia Beach boardwalk.  The indoor pool is in a room with a soaring angled ceiling. There is a Jacuzzi.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

★★★
$95
3.6 / 5 200 reviews
★★★
$116
3.5 / 5 163 reviews
★★★
$89
3.4 / 5 633 reviews
★★★★
$89
3.8 / 5 74 reviews
★★★
$122
4.1 / 5 71 reviews
★★★
$143
4.1 / 5 25 reviews
★★★
$85
3.6 / 5 143 reviews
★★
$99
3.5 / 5 54 reviews
★★
$115
2.1 / 5 36 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 11.2 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 14.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 15.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 18 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cheryl s.
Couples
N/A
Aug 25, 2015

Great getaway

The room was ready. It was oceanfront and it was an amazing view. The only issue we encountered was room service. The first day we did not get it and the second day we called and requested it and when we got back to our room it was taken care of. Other than that it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elizabeth s.
Family
N/A
Aug 16, 2015

family trip

the amenities were not good...WiFi was terrible. Kind of far from boardwalk and stores. Concierge was very unhelpful but shuttle service was good. Breakfast buffet was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Penny R.
Couples
N/A
Aug 16, 2015

The bed was to hard for me

It was ok. Even though the hotel was a little off the main strip. It was nice and quiet. Whoever, the bed was to hard, air conditioning was much to noisy. The coffee pot was broken. On my second day staff didn't leave coffee pods or cups. On the last day the electrical outlet for the microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot and TV broke. So I couldn't watch tv or make coffee in the broken pot or heat up anything in the microwave. However everyone was very nice and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kristine W.
Family
N/A
Aug 11, 2015

Definitely disappointing for a Wyndham

Website indicated continental breakfast. Breakfast was only available at cost in the restaurant. Found the room to be a little dingy. TV was only moderate size and the picture was slightly fuzzy. View was lovely but overall felt we paid too much for only a so-so experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Charles S.
Couples
N/A
Aug 8, 2015

If you like run down....

Poor cleaning and maintenance. Cockroach and spider in room. Lights burned out, ceiling in shower peeling away. Pool area dirty and littered with cigar buts. Pool overflows dump trash right into parking lot where guests walk and it wasn't cleaned. Spotty wi-fi. I will not be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shannon K.
Friends
Dalton
Aug 5, 2015

Road trip

We liked it! Room did not get cleaned without asking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Toufic A.
Family
Fredericksburg
Aug 2, 2015

Cleanliness

We stayed for two nights and the room was not cleaned at all. We called the front desk that evening and we were told that the cleaning crew already left and they would send someone with towels, coffee, and soap. When we went to check out, Toriq, asked us about our stay and we mentioned that our room was not cleaned and no apology was awarded either. He was extremely thoughtful and apologized and offered a discount for our inconvenience. I would definitely go there again because the location and amenities are great and it was great overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
N/A
Jul 31, 2015

It's okay, good time for what we had

Great location. The beach in front of the hotel is not over crowded. Beautiful view. I wasn't too much of a fan of the porch. The porch where we stayed at was not private. Fridge, sink, spacious food counter was a plus.Hotel room and porch could be renovated for the price. Overall I give this hotel a 3 out of 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nicole D.
Family
N/A
Jul 23, 2015

Very gross room and very far from everything

My first room didn't seem like it had been cleaned so they moved me. I found out that my new room was just as dirty with bugs and moldy shower curtain and leftover bread and milk in the mini fridge. It smelled like a man sprayed too much awful cologne and was definitely the worst hotel i have ever stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SUN
Family
Bear
Jul 22, 2015

liked it!

We enjoyed staying there! The staffs were very kind. Will come back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top