$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

3 stars
5800 Burton Station Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23455-3606
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
141 reviews
Great Hotel

The hotel staff was very friendly and welcoming. The hotel was beautiful and the room very nice.... See full review

  • Tiarra
  • Jun 23, 2014
wonderful

We had a wonderful time and w the hotel stay was great . When we got to our room it had a funny... See full review

  • mrs Collins
  • Jun 19, 2014
Affordable Virginia Beach airport hotel with free breakfast and Wi-Fi
Country casual rooms and a central location in Hampton Roads spark interest in this affordable hotel near Norfolk International Airport. A free airport shuttle serves business and leisure travelers. Free Wi-Fi and an expanded free breakfast are welcome amenities at Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport.

Highlights
  • Free breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Heated indoor pool
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Centrally located between Williamsburg and the Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Rooms
Country-inspired rooms have floral bedding, wallpaper borders and nature-themed artwork. Rooms include work desks, night stands and a cabinet that doubles as a TV table. Neutrogena bath products, Moen rainshower heads and granite counter tops enhance the bathrooms. Guests can also access Wi-Fi for free.

Features
The 93-room property addresses offers a free expanded continental breakfast and an airport shuttle serving travelers to and from Norfolk International Airport, which is just a few miles away. An indoor heated pool, fitness center and Jacuzzi invite guests to exercise and unwind.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (7.3 mi/11.8 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (27.8 mi/44.8 km)

Attractions
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (18.9 mi/30.5 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (13.9 mi/23.4 km)
  • Virginia Beach Amphitheater (7.3 mi/11.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Town Center (19.1 mi/30.8 km)
  • Nauticus  (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (41.5 mi/66.7 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (42 mi/67.7 km)
  • Busch Gardens (38.2 mi/61.5 km)
  • Water Country USA  (39.6 mi/63.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (14.7 mi/23.7 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (13.9 mi/22.3 km)
  • The Ghent District (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • MacArthur Center (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (46.1 mi/74.2 km)

Business
  • Free faxes, copies and printing in the 24-hour business center

Policies and fees

Guests must be at least 21 to check in to the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.8827 -76.188
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Lynnhaven House: 3.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 3.6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 4.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 5.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 10.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 11 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 11.3 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 11.5 mi
  • Motor World: 11.6 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 11.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 11.9 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 11.9 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 12.1 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 12.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 3.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 3.6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 4.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 5.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 10.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 11 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 11.3 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 11.5 mi
  • Motor World: 11.6 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 11.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 11.9 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 11.9 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 12.1 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 12.2 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 16.6 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 17.7 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 20.7 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 23.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Blaireva
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Jul 24, 2012

Hotel management and staff are very customer unfriendly

I was the maid of honor for the wedding for the bride who used this hotel for out of town quests and friends. I live in California. The wedding was at 6pm but the wedding party was unable to check into our rooms until 5:45pm. The wedding event was less than thirty minutes from the hotel. There was not a manger or supervisor on duty to organize or manage the staff, who worked really hard to accommodate us – but they were clearly under staffed and not motivated by the urgency of the matter. We had to eventually change rooms just to get dressed and be reasonably late for the start of the wedding. We then had to change rooms again because the battery in the smoke alarm had not been changed and was making the very annoying beeping sound. Overall we had a very bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pyrojohn
Business
rohnert park ca
Jul 23, 2012

Avoid this hotel

The elevator was broken no compusation was offered slow service and a we don't care attitude all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Quet
Clinton, MD
Jul 18, 2012

Weekend trip

I was very pleased with this hotel. Nice rooms and amenities. The staff was also very pleasant during my stay. No complaints at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RJBrown
Covington, Louisiana
Jul 17, 2012

Excellent

Everytime I go to Virginia Beach to visit my son I prefer this hotel as feel more at home in a strange way.....It has laundry, free wi-fi, indoor pool, jacuzzi, gym which is the only issue I have the equipment is run down and does not work properly other than that the staff is very curtious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
belanie medina
providence ri
Jul 15, 2012

Nice place

very clean friendly staff free breakfast was great best part of the hotel just wish it was closer to the ocean front

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daddy ABM
Virginia
Jul 9, 2012

Great value!!

We did not want to spend a lot, but ended up getting a lot for our money. The beds were a little small but it was clean and had lots of extras that made it well worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Krispy Kreme and Starbucks are across the street. It doesn't get better than that.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JY5173
Georgia
Jul 7, 2012

Extended Stay letdown

The hotel was a complete let down; I am surprised that corporate still allows them to operate under the Wyndham name. There was a leak in the ceiling in the main entrance. The problem was not fixed in the 6 days we stayed. Our room had a broken faucet handle that could sasy be fixed or replaced. The "fitness room" was a joke; it had 3 broken or rickety cardio machines & a worn out cable machine. The staff was inattentive-often chatting w each other or talking on cell phones. Trash cans outside were always full & spilling over. Breakfast was typical.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stella Blue Wave
Harrisburg, pa
Jun 22, 2012

Vacation

Overall, it is a good hotel. The wifi connection is terrible. There is one router for the entire hotel. Do not plan to have a solid connection in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is about 10 miles from north Virginia beach. If you like to avoid traffic and expensive tourist areas this is the place to check out. It is outside of first landing state park and about a 20 minute drive from the hotel. There is free parking on the street starting around 79th street.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fffffddddddd
Cleveland, OH
Jun 18, 2012

Pretty good, but security issue was not handled

The room was large, clean and very nice. However, on the second day when we returned to the room around 9pm, after being gone all day, we found the door was not locked, and had no idea how long it had been left unlocked. The door handle was left at a 45 degree angle, so I tried it without using the key. It opened without the key. I went and spoke to the desk clerk, and she directed me to talk to the 800 number. To me this is not the proper response. The neighborhood is not the best from a security point of view, I lived in this area for many years, and know the area. If it had been my personal car, I would have been concerned about leaving it in the parking lot overnight, since there is no security. Your nickname requirement is restrictive!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stronz
Atlanta, Ga
Jun 13, 2012

Close to EVERYTHING

Extremely clean!! Staff even knew my name when I checked in, just from previous phone call. The breakfast was great, coffee was better than Starbucks, fresh fruit, eggs & sausage, pastries and bagels. Room was VERY clean, large "business" desk, with high speed Internet. I will definitely stay there again, I even signed up for their rewards program. Even at 2am the front desk staff had a smile on their faces. Fresh coffee was available 24hrs!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search