$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

3 stars
5800 Burton Station Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23455-3606
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
139 reviews
Great Hotel

The hotel staff was very friendly and welcoming. The hotel was beautiful and the room very nice.... See full review

  • Tiarra
  • Jun 23, 2014
wonderful

We had a wonderful time and w the hotel stay was great . When we got to our room it had a funny... See full review

  • mrs Collins
  • Jun 19, 2014
Affordable Virginia Beach airport hotel with free breakfast and Wi-Fi
Country casual rooms and a central location in Hampton Roads spark interest in this affordable hotel near Norfolk International Airport. A free airport shuttle serves business and leisure travelers. Free Wi-Fi and an expanded free breakfast are welcome amenities at Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport.

Highlights
  • Free breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Heated indoor pool
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Centrally located between Williamsburg and the Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Rooms
Country-inspired rooms have floral bedding, wallpaper borders and nature-themed artwork. Rooms include work desks, night stands and a cabinet that doubles as a TV table. Neutrogena bath products, Moen rainshower heads and granite counter tops enhance the bathrooms. Guests can also access Wi-Fi for free.

Features
The 93-room property addresses offers a free expanded continental breakfast and an airport shuttle serving travelers to and from Norfolk International Airport, which is just a few miles away. An indoor heated pool, fitness center and Jacuzzi invite guests to exercise and unwind.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (7.3 mi/11.8 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (27.8 mi/44.8 km)

Attractions
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (18.9 mi/30.5 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (13.9 mi/23.4 km)
  • Virginia Beach Amphitheater (7.3 mi/11.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Town Center (19.1 mi/30.8 km)
  • Nauticus  (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (41.5 mi/66.7 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (42 mi/67.7 km)
  • Busch Gardens (38.2 mi/61.5 km)
  • Water Country USA  (39.6 mi/63.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (14.7 mi/23.7 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (13.9 mi/22.3 km)
  • The Ghent District (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • MacArthur Center (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (46.1 mi/74.2 km)

Business
  • Free faxes, copies and printing in the 24-hour business center

Policies and fees

Guests must be at least 21 to check in to the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.8827 -76.188
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Lynnhaven House: 3.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 3.6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 4.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 5.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 10.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 11 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 11.3 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 11.5 mi
  • Motor World: 11.6 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 11.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 11.9 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 11.9 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 12.1 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 12.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 3.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 3.6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 4.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 5.2 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 7.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 10.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 11 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 11.3 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 11.5 mi
  • Motor World: 11.6 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 11.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 11.9 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 11.9 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 12.1 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 12.2 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 16.6 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 17.7 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 20.7 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 23.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
DFW area
Feb 15, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

I was so close to the airport that my family had no problem locating the hotel. I could have used the hotel shuttle to tranpsort me to the airport on my departure, the schedule was so convenient. My room was clean and cozy. The staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious, but fruit would be a great addition to have, along with all the other items on the menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the museaum the "Nauticas" and the "Battleship of Wisconsin" It was reasonably priced and a wonderful experience for adults and children. It was a good value for you money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
road-warrior-geek
Business
on the road or Michigan.
Feb 4, 2011

helpful people

This was short night prior to the early morning flight. I am a travel warrior who travels 50%-60% of the weeks in the year in the US, EMEA, and Asia. I had a suitcase failure and the helpful people found me a box, helped me tape up my suitcase -- all at 3:30am. They were cheerful, thoughtful and helpful. It was a rare and wonderful moment in a long sequence of week. I was only there for a 1 night, but they treated me like family. This was on top of a nice room, a great bed, a desk, and a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive to Norfolk - for those who have the 5:35am flight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville, TN
Jan 31, 2011

The best stay ever, excellent staff.

We have stayed at many hotels before; but. this was one of the best. The staff was excellent, especially housekeeping. All our questions were answered, and all request were granted. We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything needed was close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston SC
Nov 19, 2010

Great room, great location...

Great hotel...good breakfasts...close to airport...limited non-fast-food food options though - will need a car to get around. Would stay there again. King rooms are fabulous and the price is right. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
blkbty
Reisterstown, MD
Sep 28, 2010

What's that smell?

The kids and I stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to Virginia Beach. We checked in kinda late around 1am, despite the time of night we were greeted and welcomed by a delightful check in clerk named "[...]" I think. She's the reason I'm going to change the 2 stars to a 3 stars hotel. I think customer service is the most important factor to any business and this young lady really got it right. While customer service is highly rated quality should not be lost and that's where the hotel got it wrong. We were assigned room 227. The moment the door was opened we were greeted by the worst smell I've ever smelled. The entire room smelled as if it had been dumped in the Atlantic Ocean, left there for three days, aired dyed and inserted into the hotel. The smell was so bad we had to turn off the AC unit to stop air circulation. The bathroom toilet didn't flush without holding the handle, Water shot out from the shower head onto the floor, the furniture was so dirty it looked as if a murder took place. I was mortified but not completely surprised. I didn't run back to the front desk to request a room change because I thought it was standard. I choose this hotel strictly on the reviews I usually go with Best Western because I never had a bad experience with Best Western however Best Western was booked for this weekend so I decided to choose a hotel based on the rating and reviews. This hotel received fairly decent reviews from multiple websites and I always wanted to see what it would be like to stay at a Wyndham hotel considering they're reputation for quality. I noticed a trend with a lot of comments complaining about the smell of the hotel. One reviewer even wrote the hotel is top notch once you get adjusted to the smell. So I figured it was a small odor nothing too upsetting or people would not rate it so highly. Boy was I wrong that odor is enormous! If you have sensitive noses beware. On our last night the maid service did not clean our room again so I had no choice but to march to the front desk and complain. The clerk listened and switched me to a new room. The new room was much better the odor was still there but as noticeable. The toilet and shower worked perfectly while the furniture was still dirty the quality of the room matches 3 stars. If you do book with this hotel and get a really awful room I would suggest you request a switch, I wouldn't say every room is disgusting but I have a feeling every room has an accommodating odor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a good idea to have a car if you book here all the restaurants are fast food and the food is awful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SANTA MONICA, CALIFORNIA
Sep 26, 2010

Norfolk Trip 12-23-10

OVERALL IT WAS EXCELLENT. IT WAS DIFFICULT TO LOCATE USING INSTRUCTIONS ON MAPQUEST. MOST OF THE PROBLEM WAS WITH CITY SIGNAGE AND FOLIAGE THAT BLOCKED VIEW OF THE HOTEL SIGN. IT WAS LOCATED BEHIND A STARBUCKS. THEY NEED A BIGGER SIGN VISIBLE FROM NORTHAMPTON RD. AND TO GET THAT CITY FOLIAGE ON NORTHAMPTON TRIMMED DOWN SO THAT VISITORS CAN SEE THE HOTEL COMING FROM THE AIRPORT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
columbia maryland
Sep 14, 2010

fantastic family getaway

ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
washington, dc
Sep 12, 2010

Wingate VA Beach

we reserved a rollaway bed; arrrived they said they had none, we complained since there were 3 in the room and 2 beds...they then brought a bed that had dirty linens balled in the middle. [...] check out @ front desk and they said all paid...however, they charged me for the rollaway bed later!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cat lovers
Iowa
Sep 11, 2010

I would never stay at another Wingate

We were very disappointed at the distance from the airport. The free wireless internet was hard to use. The fire alarm went off every morning at 1:55 am. The noise from other rooms made it hard to sleep. The curtains had to be tied back to use the air conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Jul 31, 2010

Do Not Stay Here!

Hotel was dirty, pool was dirty, desk clerk charged $50.00 extra per night because we used a "third party" to book.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search