$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 4, 2014 Check-out: Dec 5, 2014

Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

2 stars
1909 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
129 reviews
More Fun In Virginia Beach.

Friendly, accommodated, good service, perfect for my family. especially the breakfast. good view.... See full review

  • Junskee
  • Aug 28, 2013
great hotel, great price!,

I was very skeptical about this hotel based on other reviews, but it turned out to be well worth... See full review

  • ashley giancaterino
  • May 9, 2014
Budget rooms in Virginia Beach with microwaves and refrigerators
The Virginia Beach, Va., Travelodge caters to budget travelers seeking plenty of space and easy access to the oceanfront and boardwalk. All rooms are two-room suites with a microwave, refrigerator and private balcony boasting views of the Atlantic Ocean. Free continental breakfast and Wi-Fi enhance the stay at this Virginia Beach hotel.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi and free continental breakfast
  • One free parking space per suite
  • Located on the Virginia Beach oceanfront and boardwalk
  • Seasonal outdoor pool
  • Microwave and refrigerator in all rooms and kitchenette rooms available

Rooms

Clean spacious rooms at The Virginia Beach, Va., Travelodge incorporate neutral colors and patterned bedspreads in subtle colors. Coastal prints further the nautical theme. Standard amenities, such as free high-speed Internet, cable TV and microwaves and refrigerators, add comfort. Guests at the Virginia Beach, Va., Travelodge can also request Penthouse Rooms equipped with full kitchens and Jacuzzis.  All rooms are two-room suites overlooking the ocean.

Features

A day at the Virginia Beach, Va., Travelodge starts with a free Bear Bites breakfast in the lobby. Guests dine on pastries, bagels, hot oatmeal, fresh fruit and cereal. Fresh brewed coffee and juices round out the offerings. A seasonal outdoor pool operates from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.9 mi/20.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (34.5 mi/55.5 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Mount Trashmore (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.1 mi/27.5 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.1 mi/27.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.4 mi/28 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • Water Country USA  (45.8 mi/73.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (48.9 mi/78.7 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (50 mi/80.5 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (52.7 mi/84.8 km)
  • Williamsburg Pottery (54.9 mi/88.4 km)

Business
  • Free Wi-Fi

Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old to check in.
  • The hotel requires a credit card deposit for the first night's stay. The same credit card must be presented at check-in.
  • A $10 cancellation fee will apply to all reservations cancelled 72 hours prior to arrival. If the reservation is not cancelled 72 hours prior to arrival, the first night's deposit is forfeited. No-show reservations forfeit the first night's deposit.
  • The hotel charges $25 for early checkouts. Conditions apply.
  • No group reservations are honored between March 15 and Oct. 15.
  • The lobby is open from 7 a.m. to 12 a.m. Guests arriving after hours should contact the hotel prior to their arrival date between official lobby hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.4 mi
  • Motor World: 2.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.3 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.7 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.5 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.4 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.7 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.7 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.4 mi
  • Motor World: 2.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.3 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.7 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.5 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.4 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.7 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.7 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 129
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3

41% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kjbg
Business
kentucky
Nov 18, 2014

cheap

It was cheap. I guess we got what we paid for. It wasn't terrible, but not great. older

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gigis10Babes
Business
Nashville, TN
Aug 29, 2014

Location-Location-Location

The staff is very nice but slow to respond to needs. Our fridge was not working - we called but no one ever came to fix it. The toilet overflowed in one of the two rooms we had and they didn't really want to move us right then and we had to insist. The pool is small and right on the street with a very (VERY) small concrete area around it so it's pretty much impossible to sit out. We didn't even try the "continental breakfast." The rooms are really filthy and very old. The balcony overlooked the ocean and had 2 flimsy plastic chairs and a plastic table. The A/C was leaking so half the balcony had a stream of stinky water. The A/C in the bedroom wasn't sealed well and the outside light came thru as did the street noise until about 11 PM. There are no overhead lights so the room was really dark. BUT - for the price and location, we'll stay again. If we were hotel "snobs" we never would have stayed here. But in reality we only spent a couple hours a day in the room and it was worth the price completely for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the GO Guide and other coupon books - lots of deals!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Triplet3mom
Business
Troy pa 16947
Aug 11, 2014

Better Than Nothing with an" OCEANVIEW "

Well to start it all off with the best thing about it is it's location. All rooms are ocean view. Close to everything. But then comes the bad:; The parking is horrible! Don't take a big vehicle. Second the elevator is very, very, slow. Third and final the room is not the cleanest. .Especially the bathroom ""YUK YUK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just look out your window

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just me.
Business
Virginia
Aug 6, 2014

Only there to sleep and shower!

Staff was nice. Location is great. Not a place to stay if you are not planning on going out much. You would want something a bit more comfortable. If you are looking for some where to sleep and shower. Then this is the place. We were there very little as we went to the aquarium, zoo and on a cruise. Room did not have that nasty beach smell which I really appreciated. Simple, plain and nothing fancy. I would stay again since we aren't in the room much at all. I liked the fact that the beds were separate from the living area. Also had stovetop and mini fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MsV8pr
Business
Frederick, Md
Jun 13, 2014

Great if you bringing kids.

The hotel is located right on the beach in the center of the action on Virginia Beach. Location could not get much better. The rooms are nice and big with a living area and seperate bedroom. Has a door that can be shut to seperate the 2 which is great is you are bringing kids and need to get a break from them. I brought my 3 kids all under 5 and it was perfect. Has a little kitchen like area wth microwave, sink, and cupboards and drawers. Also great for kids. The room is not the best and is accurately rated a 2 star hotel but it was pretty clean, a good size and the price was not bad. The staff was friendly especially the overnight staff that was there when we got our "free breakfast" in the morning. I will say the coffee is horrid!! I am a big coffee drinker and had to go to Subway accross the street to get some drinkable coffee. The breakfast is cold creeal, some muffins, or an apple/banana/ orange. The pool we were not able to use because it does not have stairs for the kids to stand on and is just a drop in at 3 ft pool. My kids are all 5 and under so it was too deep for all of them. Not the nicest hotel in Va Beach but if you need a little more room than the average hotel room offers you might consider staying here. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place but not bad for a 2 star hotel and we were satisfied with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are looking for the best seafood buffet in VA B head to george's. It is not right at the beach but you will not regret it. Best buffet I have ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Junskee
Business
Washington, DC.
Aug 28, 2013

More Fun In Virginia Beach.

Friendly, accommodated, good service, perfect for my family. especially the breakfast. good view. We love to come back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

so much Entertainment every night for free. Excellent hotels and good Dining's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Virginia Mother
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Aug 11, 2013

Worst Hotel I've Ever Stayed In

**WARNING - DO NOT STAY HERE** One word: Terrible!!! I booked this hotel online via a third party even after reading unsatisfactory reviews. I thought, how bad can it be at $170+/night and on the oceanfront? Perhaps previous guests were exaggerating... I was taken aback immediately after entering the hotel lobby - this hotel is disgusting. After hesitantly checking in my family we went upstairs to the room & flipped the light switch. The lights didn't turn on. Ok, we went to another light, which also failed to turn on...then another with the same issue. Fourth light was the charm but maybe it was better to have the lights off. As soon as I could see the room I cringed - it was disgusting. There was this filthy grime over everything. The kids looked at me and said they were scared, which would have been funny if I hadn't also felt we were in a seedy motel room in the middle of the projects or something. I was furious as I felt the website misrepresented the place I had my family in. Immediately I picked up the room phone to call the front desk and guess what? The "0" on the phone didn't work so I wasn't able to actually contact them that way at all. By this point I'd already had it so went downstairs & told the front desk clerk I wanted a refund to go someplace else because I didn't want my family to sleep here overnight and felt the website misinterpreted the actual hotel. The clerk advised since I made the reservations online and had already charged my credit card I couldn't be issued a refund; he even contacted his manager by phone who said the same thing. I seriously wanted to cry. I reluctantly went back upstairs because there's no way I could afford the $200 at this hotel, then go elsewhere down the oceanfront and pay another rate at another hotel on top of it. I was just grateful we were only staying in VA Beach one night and I hadn't booked it for the entire weekend! The kids and I immediately left the hotel and walked the boardwalk and toured the shops until 1am in the morning so we didn't have to be in the hotel room, slept on top of the blankets when we did go back #the kids kept saying they thought we'd get bed bugs on us#, then packed and readied ourselves for the beach almost as soon as the sun came up to limit our actual time in the hotel room. I never thought I'd write a hotel review but thought I'd warn others about this hotel. Seriously, it should be condemned. The management clearly doesn't care about the internal condition. I advise anyone to choose another location, as I wish now I'd taken the extra $20-30 and made a reservation elsewhere, even if it wasn't oceanfront. I've already told family and friends about the horrible experience - no one I know will stay here in the future. If nothing else, I've learned to thoroughly research and take heed to reviews provided by others, even for a 1 night stay in what seems to be a "decent" hotel chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. Ashley
Business
Richmond, Va
Aug 6, 2013

Family getaway

Enjoyed my stay..the location was perfect! Wonderful view of the ocean. Excellent places to shop and eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
High class
Business
Connecticut
Aug 5, 2013

Awfull experience

Totally disagree and disappoint of what is saw online

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BoogieWoogie
Business
Henderson, NC
Jul 9, 2013

Worst Hotel Experience

I don't know where to start the rooms is out dated the first room we was in the toilet was broken it kept flushing so they gave us another room in this was around 10:30 pm so we was tired we had 4 kids with us so when we got to the other room pulls out the sofabed an it had bugs crawling all on it so we just threw in the towel we ask for the manger the front desk said they cant call him and he was there onlychain of command asyou know most we all hotels has an assistant manger so it was a done deal we just pack the kids up an drove 4 hours back home..Listen To Me Dont Stay Here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top