$36 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

2 stars
1909 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
128 reviews
More Fun In Virginia Beach.

Friendly, accommodated, good service, perfect for my family. especially the breakfast. good view.... See full review

  • Junskee
  • Aug 28, 2013
great hotel, great price!,

I was very skeptical about this hotel based on other reviews, but it turned out to be well worth... See full review

  • ashley giancaterino
  • May 9, 2014
Budget rooms in Virginia Beach with microwaves and refrigerators
The Virginia Beach, Va., Travelodge caters to budget travelers seeking plenty of space and easy access to the oceanfront and boardwalk. All rooms are two-room suites with a microwave, refrigerator and private balcony boasting views of the Atlantic Ocean. Free continental breakfast and Wi-Fi enhance the stay at this Virginia Beach hotel.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi and free continental breakfast
  • One free parking space per suite
  • Located on the Virginia Beach oceanfront and boardwalk
  • Seasonal outdoor pool
  • Microwave and refrigerator in all rooms and kitchenette rooms available

Rooms

Clean spacious rooms at The Virginia Beach, Va., Travelodge incorporate neutral colors and patterned bedspreads in subtle colors. Coastal prints further the nautical theme. Standard amenities, such as free high-speed Internet, cable TV and microwaves and refrigerators, add comfort. Guests at the Virginia Beach, Va., Travelodge can also request Penthouse Rooms equipped with full kitchens and Jacuzzis.  All rooms are two-room suites overlooking the ocean.

Features

A day at the Virginia Beach, Va., Travelodge starts with a free Bear Bites breakfast in the lobby. Guests dine on pastries, bagels, hot oatmeal, fresh fruit and cereal. Fresh brewed coffee and juices round out the offerings. A seasonal outdoor pool operates from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.9 mi/20.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (34.5 mi/55.5 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Mount Trashmore (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.1 mi/27.5 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.1 mi/27.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.4 mi/28 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • Water Country USA  (45.8 mi/73.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (48.9 mi/78.7 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (50 mi/80.5 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (52.7 mi/84.8 km)
  • Williamsburg Pottery (54.9 mi/88.4 km)

Business
  • Free Wi-Fi

Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old to check in.
  • The hotel requires a credit card deposit for the first night's stay. The same credit card must be presented at check-in.
  • A $10 cancellation fee will apply to all reservations cancelled 72 hours prior to arrival. If the reservation is not cancelled 72 hours prior to arrival, the first night's deposit is forfeited. No-show reservations forfeit the first night's deposit.
  • The hotel charges $25 for early checkouts. Conditions apply.
  • No group reservations are honored between March 15 and Oct. 15.
  • The lobby is open from 7 a.m. to 12 a.m. Guests arriving after hours should contact the hotel prior to their arrival date between official lobby hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.8479 -75.9745
Area description
Entertainment district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.4 mi
  • Motor World: 2.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.3 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.7 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.5 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.4 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.7 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.7 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.4 mi
  • Motor World: 2.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.3 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.7 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.5 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.4 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.7 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.7 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
virginia beach, va
Nov 12, 2010

Travelodge on the Beach

The room was comfortable and overlooked the beach. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful when I asked about good places to eat and interesting places to visit. There were numerous local dining places that had wonderful food and great local color. I would definately book with this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There were alot of offers for dolphin watching cruises and deep sea fishing cruises along with para-sailing and other types of beach activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
virginia beach, va
Nov 5, 2010

had to move because of roaches

[...] there was a couple of roaches on the wall..we killed those. then around 3 am went into the kitchen and little roaches were running everywhere..the desk clerk came and sprayed..then later that evening the room was sprayed again using some type of sprayer...roaches started coming out from everywhere..at this point i asked for another room and was given one. did not see any more roaches after that..don't think i'll stay there again...the second time there and the second time disappointed..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nurse2Be
Lynchburg, Virginia
Oct 18, 2010

Great view for the price!

We stayed 3 nights and 4 days. We were allowed to check in early which was great! Excellent view from our room, excellent price and a good location. There are a few minor repairs that could improve the appearance of the hotel and the elevator could use some work as well. But overall a good place to stay for the price and view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakers Hotel has an excellent breakfast for a very reasonable price and only a short walk up the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lynchburg, Va
Oct 12, 2010

OK

Very noisy, room not the best, smelled of smoke & when got home, clothes smelled of smoke as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Different Light Deb
The Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia
Aug 30, 2010

Choose somewhere else to stay

I had *just* stayed overnight at a brand new Hilton Garden Inn the night before I arrived here at the Travel Lodge, and boy... did this hotel suffer in comparison. It's ancient. It smells kinda funny. No restroom in the lobby for patrons - you have to walk three blocks to the nearest public restroom. The hotel has one pretty small elevator, and since we were only on the second floor, and right by the stairs, we opted to walk after the first elevator ride. The air-conditioning was good. The room(s) are very oddly laid out, and the bathroom was really tiny. Literally, the toilet is set into a wall at a 45 degree angle to the tub - your knees practically touch the tub while you are on the toilet. Tub had mold on the grout, but the towels were clean-looking and the beds seemed clean. Room had 2 burner stove, but no pots or pans (really, do YOU travel with pots and pans?) or any dishes or any other accoutrements. The air conditioning unit in the main room had a lot of condensation leakage out the back, and onto the balcony - but it DID keep the unit cool. There was a lot of street noise, audible even over the fan of the A/C unit in the bedroom. There was no closet in the bedroom, but there was an iron and ironing board. We checked in a couple of hours earlier than the 4:00 check-in time (thanks to a pained, but trying-to-please desk clerk) and we checked out a day earlier than we'd planned, in part because of the grungy hotel. Didn't ask for a refund, as we were checking out after the regular check-out time, and before our stay was due to end. Wasn't offered a refund either - but that's okay. The doors don't close well - there is only a single slide-lock to keep the door to the balcony closed, which was marred by rust; the main door to the room had to be slammed to close completely. The furniture was pretty badly beaten up, with the fabric on the couch having snags and melted spots on it. I would not stay here again, and I would not recommend this to ANYONE other than the absolute weariest travelers who have absolutely NO other options. There WAS free wi-fi. Yay. The pool was definitely not inviting - didn't even think about trying it. Tiny and kinda grungy looking. The continental breakfast included 2 containers of coffee, and small boxes of cereal. No sitting area at all in which to have your coffee... get it, and get OUT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rather than pay $15 a day to rent an umbrella from the vendors on the beach, do yourself a favor and go to the Virginia Beach Gift Shop, one block south of the hotel - you can get a perfectly fine umbrella for $7.50. It even comes with its own clear vinyl carrying case.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ape
Cleveland, OH
Aug 9, 2010

Not our cup of tea!

I am not sure if my husband and I are spoiled from the numerous all-inclusive resorts we have been to but this hotel was not up to my standards! THe elevator broke often - there was only one for 8 floors! The hallway to our room smelled of urine... When I asked if we were going to get our room cleaned one day, the cleaning staff told the front desk they didn't go in because we had our do not disturb thing on (WE DIDN'T EVER HAVE ONE!!!). I told them not to worry about it (I didn't want the cleaning people getting angry) and just asked for clean towels at least. We would have left a day early if we thought we could have gotten out of paying for the room in anyway but I didn't want to ruin the trip more. The pool is small but it's ok - unless you have a bunch of unsupervised teenagers being obnoxious like we did one afternoon. The location is nice but I believe the norhtern end of the strip is a little classier! And the continental breakfast... who are they kidding? The coffee cups were the size of espresso cups and the food looked like something out of a box. OH, and the balcony.. well, they were only separated by painted pieces of plywood. Normally my husband and I spend a lot of time outside if we have a balcony... not here. The AC blew hot air on to you. So, the room was cool but you couldn't hear or get comfy outside because of the inside. The bedroom is in complete darkness minus the light from the front room- which isn't much. The bathroom was small but that didn't bother us too much (we had read that the toilets were too small and we are tall people). The cleanliness of the bathroom on the other hand... there was mold on the shower curtain! I have never complained about a stay anywhere before but this place was NOT good and I would definitely NOT recommend this to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Beckley, W.V.
Aug 8, 2010

was nice but needed an extra something

was nice but needed something extra but would stay there again for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Decatur, PA
Jul 21, 2010

Good location

Great location right on the beach. Hotel could have been cleaner and updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Amy 86
richmond, va
Jul 18, 2010

One night stay

The televisions are outdated and the bathroom was tiny. It was adequate for a one or 2 night stay but if you are staying for longer than that...stay somewhere else! long wait for the elevator that had a max capacacity of 6 people...6 floors...you do the math. The tv in the bedroom made crackling sounds, like some kind of electrical short. If you are going to just to see the sights and don't care about the comfort of the hotel, then this place will do. The balcony was nice with a great ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: In Hotel

pick up all the coupon books in the lobby...lots of coupons for shops and dining

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ayedemi17
Dallas, TX
Jul 13, 2010

Ok

It was a one night stay, well worth it. But if I was to stay longer, I would probably have chosen a different location as the parking was not great and we had two cars and one could only be on location. The location of the bathroom was not convenient for a longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search