$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

2 stars
1909 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
129 reviews
More Fun In Virginia Beach.

Friendly, accommodated, good service, perfect for my family. especially the breakfast. good view.... See full review

  • Junskee
  • Aug 28, 2013
great hotel, great price!,

I was very skeptical about this hotel based on other reviews, but it turned out to be well worth... See full review

  • ashley giancaterino
  • May 9, 2014
Budget rooms in Virginia Beach with microwaves and refrigerators
The Virginia Beach, Va., Travelodge caters to budget travelers seeking plenty of space and easy access to the oceanfront and boardwalk. All rooms are two-room suites with a microwave, refrigerator and private balcony boasting views of the Atlantic Ocean. Free continental breakfast and Wi-Fi enhance the stay at this Virginia Beach hotel.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi and free continental breakfast
  • One free parking space per suite
  • Located on the Virginia Beach oceanfront and boardwalk
  • Seasonal outdoor pool
  • Microwave and refrigerator in all rooms and kitchenette rooms available

Rooms

Clean spacious rooms at The Virginia Beach, Va., Travelodge incorporate neutral colors and patterned bedspreads in subtle colors. Coastal prints further the nautical theme. Standard amenities, such as free high-speed Internet, cable TV and microwaves and refrigerators, add comfort. Guests at the Virginia Beach, Va., Travelodge can also request Penthouse Rooms equipped with full kitchens and Jacuzzis.  All rooms are two-room suites overlooking the ocean.

Features

A day at the Virginia Beach, Va., Travelodge starts with a free Bear Bites breakfast in the lobby. Guests dine on pastries, bagels, hot oatmeal, fresh fruit and cereal. Fresh brewed coffee and juices round out the offerings. A seasonal outdoor pool operates from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.9 mi/20.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (34.5 mi/55.5 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Mount Trashmore (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.1 mi/27.5 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.1 mi/27.6 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.4 mi/28 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • Water Country USA  (45.8 mi/73.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (48.9 mi/78.7 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (50 mi/80.5 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (52.7 mi/84.8 km)
  • Williamsburg Pottery (54.9 mi/88.4 km)

Business
  • Free Wi-Fi

Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old to check in.
  • The hotel requires a credit card deposit for the first night's stay. The same credit card must be presented at check-in.
  • A $10 cancellation fee will apply to all reservations cancelled 72 hours prior to arrival. If the reservation is not cancelled 72 hours prior to arrival, the first night's deposit is forfeited. No-show reservations forfeit the first night's deposit.
  • The hotel charges $25 for early checkouts. Conditions apply.
  • No group reservations are honored between March 15 and Oct. 15.
  • The lobby is open from 7 a.m. to 12 a.m. Guests arriving after hours should contact the hotel prior to their arrival date between official lobby hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.4 mi
  • Motor World: 2.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.3 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.7 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.5 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.4 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.7 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.7 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.4 mi
  • Motor World: 2.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 3.3 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.7 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.5 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.4 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.7 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 8.7 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Suitecase Sister
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Oct 16, 2011

You get what you pay for.

The view from the oceanfront room and price was fabulous. The bathroom was small but it served our needs. This place could use some attention to the upkeep. We didn't pay much so we were not disapointed. The room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Captain Groovys on Shore Drive route 60. It is a local place. The food was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
clcs
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Sep 11, 2011

It was SOOOO bad we couldnt stay !

We checked in took one wiff looked around and checked out. BAD BAD BAD. It smelled like vomit , the floor was squishy there were flies every where the lights didnt work the beds were barely made the pool was small and dirty. Please trust me and Do yourself a favor spend the extra and enjoy your time on the beach. This place is not fit for farm animals!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
va
Jul 26, 2011

disgusting

it was the worse hotel i ever stayed in. It ruined my birthday. The hallways smelled like urine & the room still had trash from the last guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

check when the hotel was built

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
richmond, va
Jul 24, 2011

va beach travel lodge

Hotel had a foul smell in the room. Great view and very convenient though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
northern NY
Jun 6, 2011

nasty hotel

This hotel was a garbage hole the rooms are in bad repair an smell even worse. I would not recomened them to anyone.There wasnt even a name sign on the front of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Neptunes plater has a great seafood buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seeking R&R
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 29, 2011

Great stay considering the low cost!.

Considering the cost of the hotel, our stay was supreme. Every room has a balcony that oversees the oceanfront. The rooms are large with a living room area (couch, tv) and kitchen (sink, small fridge, microwave). There is another tv in the bedroom, which was convenient since my friend and I enjoy watching different shows at times. This is not your five star hotel. With that said, the paint is chipped/rusted in areas, and the bathroom is small, but functional and clean. The carpets are a bit worn, but our stay was comfortable and better than we expected. We enjoyed going to the beach and hotel pool on a daily basis. The pool only goes to 5ft. which is child friendly. We also enjoyed daily bike rides along the boardwalk and in the neighboring communities. The bike rental is conveniently located between the hotel and the beach. Rollerskates and skateboards are available for rental at other locations along the boardwalk. One thing I should add is that on our first night stay, there was a storm that cut the electricity for a two block radius. Other hotels/shops had back up generators, but this hotel did not. Thus we were in the dark from 6pm-4am. This would have been a real party pooper if we had party plans that night and had to get ready in the dark, but because we just got off the road, we went out to eat, played pool, and went to a karaoke bar until about midnight and then just went to bed. Overall, we were very satisfied with our experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlottesville, VA
May 24, 2011

You Get What You Pay For

This is the second year I have stayed at this motel for vacation. I had read previous reviews and I was skeptical. It turned out not to be as horrible as others have said it was. The motel is an old building. The rooms were very clean. All of the appliances worked, and the view was beautiful. The elevator needs some work. With the rate I paid, I was satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Edgar Cayce follower
Business
Washington, DC
May 16, 2011

Great View

When we first arrived the deadbolt was locked and we couldn't get in. The maintenance immediately responded and we were put in an exact room 2 doors down. Great view! Loved the 2 room suite with kitchenette. Toilet ran alot, but the place was fine. Nice size balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice little gay bar down the street a few blocks, The Voodoo Lounge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Mar 28, 2011

Worst Hotel EVER

The Travelodge Suites, Virginia Beach, is by far the WORST hotel/motel that I have ever stayed in. The rooms were large, but the walls were all concrete and it felt more like a jail cell than a "suite". They have a window box a/c unit that faces the street (called the strip) and it brings all the sounds of the street right into the room. The outdoor hallways leading to the rooms were very scary. They are shaped like a "Y" and there are two rooms attached to the ends of the "Y". My concern, in this less than superb area, was that I would walk towards my room and someone could follow me, trap me, and force their way into my room without anyone seeing. Also, the "continental breakfast" consists of bad coffee and a few mini-muffins. The next major issue was the elevator. We were on the 7th floor and the elevator was so shaky. The next morning, the elevator didn't work at all. We we returned in the evening, they had fixed the elevator, but the lights were not working. We rode 7 floors in a shaky elevator in the pitch dark! We seriously could not see our hands in front of our faces, nor the buttons to select our floor. The bathroom was super tiny! Prepare to have your legs in the bathtub as you sit on the commode. We were in town for the Shamrock 8k and the Marathon. We will not be staying here, ever, ever, again! There were 2 positives to this stay: the view and the fact that our kids were safe at home with Grandma.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
joey da unsatisfied man
Business
moneta virginia
Mar 24, 2011

it was the worst trip to the beach ever

we cleaned our own bathtub, hair in tub and clogged drain with hair we also cleaned.very small bathroom toilet is sideways and you cant sit straight. had to buy incense room smelled like a wet dog floor near bath where carpet met tile was torn, looked like dog dug it up.as a result cut my foot on tack strip thanks.no seal on door to balcony very breezy and/or cold, it was cold for us stuffed blanket around door. vending machine on 2nd floor broken. motel needs mantaince.thanks but no thanks. will use the yard gnome next time heard good reveiws.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

great food at abbey rd. 21st. best ever. lynnhaven mall area and red lobster in lynnhaven area has the best servers for a great dining experience. visit the visitor center on 31 st. for the best attraction prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top