$61 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

The Oceanfront Inn

3 stars
View map of 2901 Atlantic Avenue Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
146 reviews
very good value.

The hitel was very clean and pleasant. Rooms were very comfrotable. Every room has abalcony and you... See full review

  • kelsey g.
  • Jan 9, 2015
Impressive Property

Very impressed with the quality and luxury at an unbelievable price. Super clean, large bathroom... See full review

  • Don the Amtrak man
  • Dec 3, 2014
Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel with restaurant, indoor pool, balconies
Guests at the Oceanfront Inn enjoy the seaside setting right from their balconies and the boardwalk cafe. Major attractions, including the Neptune statue and the boardwalk, are within walking distance. The on-site seafood restaurant is known for its buffet and gyros. The restaurant is open seasonally. The indoor pool is a year-round indulgence.
Highlights
  • On the Virginia Beach oceanfront near the Neptune statue
  • Indoor pool
  • Boardwalk cafe
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Private balconies facing the Atlantic Ocean

Rooms
Whimsical shell patterns and sea-themed artwork create casual flair in standard rooms at the Oceanfront Inn. Private balconies show off a view of the ocean. A work desk, mini refrigerator and lounge chairs are standards amenities, as is free Wi-Fi. Honeymooners can choose the luxurious Penthouse Suite, decorated in yellow, red and blue stripes and with white cottage furniture.

Dining

Neptune's Restaurant prides itself on family-friendly dining and a seasonal seafood buffet. The restaurant's hours vary depending on the season. The authentic gyros go down nicely with panoramic views of the Atlantic at the boardwalk café.

Recreation

A cheerful mural of dolphins and ships welcomes guests to the Oceanfront Inn's heated indoor pool, which is open year-round. During the Holiday Lights at the Beach, visitors receive free car passes to cruise along the streets decorated for the season. On Labor Day weekend, guests have access to American Music Festival concerts.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (34.6 mi/55.6 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • First Landing State Park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.4 mi/28 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (50.1 mi/80.6 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (48.9 mi/78.7 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45.1 mi/72.6 km)
  • Water Country USA  (45.9 mi/73.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.2 mi/27.6 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
Business
  • Private meeting room may be available from November to February
  • Banquet facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Oceanfront Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Oceanfront Inn Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Oceanfront king - Oceanfront room with one king size bed refrigerator coffee-maker iron with ironing board hair dryer and a private balcony.
Standard
Oceanfront double double - Oceanfront room including two double beds refrigerator coffee-maker iron with ironing board hair dryer and a private balcony.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Phone service
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.5 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 3 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 5.9 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.5 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 3 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 5.9 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.6 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.6 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 16.1 mi

Dining

Neptunes On The Boardwalk Restaurant
Neptunes Restaurant our family-friendly casual and festive oceanfront restaurant with bar area and outdoor boardwalk cafe specializes in fresh seafood and seasonal seafood buffet authentic gyros and other wonderful choices to appeal to everyone in your pa

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for The Oceanfront Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 146
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ravi
Business
Vienna
Jan 28, 2015

family trip

Stayed in the hotel for the weekend. Amenities were decent. Great location accessible to local attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Forty Plus Honeymooners
Business
St. Stephens Church
Dec 16, 2014

Terrible Girls Weekend

The only thing good I can say about this hotel is that the location is great and the price wasn't bad for the off season. My shower was back and forth between scolding hot and freezing cold. I got it to the right temp and then it kept jumping back and forth. I called to tell the front desk and they said there was nothing they could do about it. The room smelled like bleach so bad that we had to open the door (in 35 degree weather) to air it out. I appreciate that they cleaned it but the food in our refrigerator smelled horrible like bleach, as did our bedding. By the way, the fridge is NOT already turned on. You have to do it yourself then wait a few hours for it to get cold before putting your food in it. All of the staff was very short and never offered to help in any way. OH...and the parking lot is AWFUL!!! There was such limited space and tight parking spaces. There weren't that many people there but the parking lot was full. I will definitely not be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Forty Plus Honeymooners
Business
St. Stephens Church
Dec 16, 2014

Terrible weekend

The only thing good I can say about this hotel is that the location is great and the price wasn't bad for the off season. My shower was back and forth between scolding hot and freezing cold. I got it to the right temp and then it kept jumping back and forth. I called to tell the front desk and they said there was nothing they could do about it. The room smelled like bleach so bad that we had to open the door (in 35 degree weather) to air it out. I appreciate that they cleaned it but the food in our refrigerator smelled horrible like bleach, as did our bedding. By the way, the fridge is NOT already turned on. You have to do it yourself then wait a few hours for it to get cold before putting your food in it. All of the staff was very short and never offered to help in any way. OH...and the parking lot is AWFUL!!! There was such limited space and tight parking spaces. There weren't that many people there but the parking lot was full. I will definitely not be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Only1 Jay87
Business
Maryland
Jun 17, 2014

Good weekend trip

Convenient to the beach and plenty of choices in restaurants surrounding the hotel. The only thing missing was the comfort in the hotel room. Could have been a little cleanier, but the staff is pleasant and helpful. I would definitely stay again for a weekend trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms Sassy
Business
Martinsville, Va
May 11, 2014

great Hotel!

I had a great experience with this hotel. Everyone was. Very friendly. I was a very clean hotel also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BDBunts
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Apr 15, 2013

Comfortable Hotel

Friendly staff, perfect view, just needed a screen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tautogs--Cottage style eatery-- delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lilpeanutgrl
Business
NORTHPOLE ALASKA
Oct 24, 2012

GREAT HOTEL AT A GREAT PRICE

24 hour friendly and helpful staff. Hotel was clean and smelled great! Beds were comfy and rooms were quiet. Pretty view of the ocean from our window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean view inn is right beside the beach and within easy walking distants of restraunts and shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HeidiAngela
Business
Harrisonburg, VA, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Ocean front and center!

This hotel was pretty nice, we went in the off season so price was good for an oceanfront room. They were able to check us in even though we got there at 11 in the morning and got us into a room. Very nice staff. Pool was heated, unfortunately no hot tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Murphy's Irish Pub is literally a block away and is a pretty nice spot to grab a beer late at night. There's a smoking section out on the patio but inside it's smoke free and there's usually a live band playing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cpg2vabp
Business
Newport News, VA, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Oceanfront Night

Short walk down to the strip, oceanfront view, guest services were great, and the beds were really comfortable. Great experience. Will be going back the next time I venture to stay on Atlantic Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a few blocks from the nightlife on the strip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Friend's beach trip
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Fun at Neptune Festival

Virginia Beach is one busy place during Neptune Festival so I can't honestly say we spent much time in our hotel room but it was clean, in a wonderful location and with a small refrigerator in the room it was perfect to stop in, rest up and fuel up as we went from one event to the next. Also, breakfast in the adjoining restaurant (Neptune's) was delicious. Overall I’d say it was a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top