$165 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

The Oceanfront Inn

3 stars
2901 Atlantic Avenue Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
189 reviews
AWESOME SERVICE

We arrived early morning and figured we'd have to wait til around 4pm for check-in and to our... See full review

  • Babs of VA.
  • Jun 16, 2014
Loved this place and price!!

We went in May during the "off" season in the mddle of May and got an incredible deal. Right on the... See full review

  • MsV8pr
  • May 15, 2014
Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel with restaurant, indoor pool, balconies
Guests at the Oceanfront Inn enjoy the seaside setting right from their balconies and the boardwalk cafe. Major attractions, including the Neptune statue and the boardwalk, are within walking distance. The on-site seafood restaurant is known for its buffet and gyros. The restaurant is open seasonally. The indoor pool is a year-round indulgence.
Highlights
  • On the Virginia Beach oceanfront near the Neptune statue
  • Indoor pool
  • Boardwalk cafe
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Private balconies facing the Atlantic Ocean

Rooms
Whimsical shell patterns and sea-themed artwork create casual flair in standard rooms at the Oceanfront Inn. Private balconies show off a view of the ocean. A work desk, mini refrigerator and lounge chairs are standards amenities, as is free Wi-Fi. Honeymooners can choose the luxurious Penthouse Suite, decorated in yellow, red and blue stripes and with white cottage furniture.

Dining

Neptune's Restaurant prides itself on family-friendly dining and a seasonal seafood buffet. The restaurant's hours vary depending on the season. The authentic gyros go down nicely with panoramic views of the Atlantic at the boardwalk café.

Recreation

A cheerful mural of dolphins and ships welcomes guests to the Oceanfront Inn's heated indoor pool, which is open year-round. During the Holiday Lights at the Beach, visitors receive free car passes to cruise along the streets decorated for the season. On Labor Day weekend, guests have access to American Music Festival concerts.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (34.6 mi/55.6 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • First Landing State Park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.4 mi/28 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (50.1 mi/80.6 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (48.9 mi/78.7 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45.1 mi/72.6 km)
  • Water Country USA  (45.9 mi/73.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.2 mi/27.6 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
Business
  • Private meeting room may be available from November to February
  • Banquet facilities

Hotel Map

36.8575 -75.9777
Nearby airports
Norfolk Intl Airport, (ORF), 18.00, MI, NW; Newport News Williamsburg Intl Airport, (PHF), 47.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Oceanfront Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Oceanfront Inn Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Oceanfront king - Oceanfront room with one king size bed refrigerator coffee-maker iron with ironing board hair dryer and a private balcony.
Standard
Oceanfront double double - Oceanfront room including two double beds refrigerator coffee-maker iron with ironing board hair dryer and a private balcony.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Phone service
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.5 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 3 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 5.9 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.5 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 3 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 5.9 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.6 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.6 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 16.1 mi

Dining

Neptunes On The Boardwalk Restaurant
Neptunes Restaurant our family-friendly casual and festive oceanfront restaurant with bar area and outdoor boardwalk cafe specializes in fresh seafood and seasonal seafood buffet authentic gyros and other wonderful choices to appeal to everyone in your pa

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (189)

Ratings and reviews for The Oceanfront Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 189
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alrkyreyr
Verona Va
Jul 2, 2014

Would go back

Average hotel stay, nothing spectacular. Can't say anything bad but no "wow" factor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ariel lyn
Annville, Pennsylvania
Jul 1, 2014

2 nights with family

The staff were wonderful. The staff allowed us to check in very early and choose our room floor. The pool was a gross cloudy. The all you could eat buffet was bland and sparse, price just insanely high. As well as down wind from one of two outdoor smoking areas. Our room had a wonderful view, but it still had a out of date vibe. The bath tub was slimy and the fan was very loud. Could of used a microwave. The room smelled a bit like burning wires near the tv.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

All along the main road were coupon books with some very good deals.

Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Babs of VA.
Manassas,VA
Jun 16, 2014

AWESOME SERVICE

We arrived early morning and figured we'd have to wait til around 4pm for check-in and to our surprise they let us check-in early!!!...Now that's hospitality! Our rooms were CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE AND THE STAFF WAS GREAT!!...The pool was clean and the restaurant food was reasonably priced and fantastic!!! . Were going to come back to the Oceanfront Inn.we had a great time there,we highly recommend them! Thank you Oceanfront!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

RIGHT ON THE BEACH!!!

Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
YNY400
Yonkers, Ny
May 28, 2014

Memorial Day Getaway

Just wanted an ocean front view. Meet expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A couple of malls that have the usual restaurants, at the price you're used too.

Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MsV8pr
Frederick, Md
May 15, 2014

Loved this place and price!!

We went in May during the "off" season in the mddle of May and got an incredible deal. Right on the beach!! Heated indoor pool was awesome on the one cloudy/rainy day we were there and the beach right out the back door was awesome on the other 2 super sunny days we were there. Great food, entertainment, and the beach all right there, and the staff was great. Even the housekeeping was nice. We brought 3 kids and had the most incredible vacation EVER! My oly complaint was the double beds were pretty small and not very comfortable but for the price we paid it was definitely worth it. We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You must eat at Capt George's seafood buffet. Not George's up the street but CAPT George's which you have to drive to. It was the absolute best seafood buffet I have eaten at and the price is not bad considering what you get. All you can eat snow crabs, Oyster's Rickafeller and just about every other seafood you can imagine. Best seafood buffet in Va Beach. You won't regret it.

Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mickey49
New York
Feb 24, 2014

Never Again

The employees here were extremely rude. The room was caked in dust. The entire place smelled like chlorine. The walls are so thin you could hear everything in the adjoining rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sal awsome mom
Virginia beach
Jan 13, 2014

awesome. weekend

Fantastic stay looking forward to comeback, spend most of the time in the heated pool playing with my family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buckethead
Washington, DC
Oct 3, 2013

Outdated and tired looking

Price was fine for what you get. The hotel has not been updated in half a century judging by the avocado green and harvest gold décor in my room. But the location is fantastic and everything else was perfectly fine. I'd get a room there again, but this time with shades on, assuming the prices stay reasonable in the low season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cruechic
Charlottesville, va
Sep 8, 2013

Another excellent stay

This is our second year at this hotel. Location is perfect, right on the beach, view is gorgeous. The staff was helpful and nice as always. The pool is always a plus. Even though the hotel was packed towards the end of th week, we only had to go across the street to the garage even though it was a small space. The only thing I would recommend is microwave ovens be placed and the beds were a little on the small side. We will definitely return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jon1761
Belmar, NJ
Aug 25, 2013

Great Value, Comfort

Ocean-front rooms at a reasonable price. Rooms clean, comfortable. Staff friendly, helpful. What's not to like?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top