$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Oceanfront Inn

3 stars
View map of 2901 Atlantic Avenue Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
156 reviews
Awesome time!!

This was a great family vacation. The housekeepers we're very tidy! And did an excellent job! I... See full review

  • richard m.
  • Apr 12, 2015
very good value.

The hitel was very clean and pleasant. Rooms were very comfrotable. Every room has abalcony and you... See full review

  • kelsey g.
  • Jan 9, 2015
Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel with restaurant, indoor pool, balconies
Guests at the Oceanfront Inn enjoy the seaside setting right from their balconies and the boardwalk cafe. Major attractions, including the Neptune statue and the boardwalk, are within walking distance. The on-site seafood restaurant is known for its buffet and gyros. The restaurant is open seasonally. The indoor pool is a year-round indulgence.
Highlights
  • On the Virginia Beach oceanfront near the Neptune statue
  • Indoor pool
  • Boardwalk cafe
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Private balconies facing the Atlantic Ocean

Rooms
Whimsical shell patterns and sea-themed artwork create casual flair in standard rooms at the Oceanfront Inn. Private balconies show off a view of the ocean. A work desk, mini refrigerator and lounge chairs are standards amenities, as is free Wi-Fi. Honeymooners can choose the luxurious Penthouse Suite, decorated in yellow, red and blue stripes and with white cottage furniture.

Dining

Neptune's Restaurant prides itself on family-friendly dining and a seasonal seafood buffet. The restaurant's hours vary depending on the season. The authentic gyros go down nicely with panoramic views of the Atlantic at the boardwalk café.

Recreation

A cheerful mural of dolphins and ships welcomes guests to the Oceanfront Inn's heated indoor pool, which is open year-round. During the Holiday Lights at the Beach, visitors receive free car passes to cruise along the streets decorated for the season. On Labor Day weekend, guests have access to American Music Festival concerts.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (34.6 mi/55.6 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • First Landing State Park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.4 mi/28 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (50.1 mi/80.6 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (48.9 mi/78.7 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45.1 mi/72.6 km)
  • Water Country USA  (45.9 mi/73.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.2 mi/27.6 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
Business
  • Private meeting room may be available from November to February
  • Banquet facilities

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Oceanfront Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Oceanfront Inn Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Oceanfront king - Oceanfront room with one king size bed refrigerator coffee-maker iron with ironing board hair dryer and a private balcony.
Standard
Oceanfront double double - Oceanfront room including two double beds refrigerator coffee-maker iron with ironing board hair dryer and a private balcony.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Phone service
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.5 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 3 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 5.9 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.5 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 3 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 5.9 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.6 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.6 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 16.1 mi

Dining

Neptunes On The Boardwalk Restaurant
Neptunes Restaurant our family-friendly casual and festive oceanfront restaurant with bar area and outdoor boardwalk cafe specializes in fresh seafood and seasonal seafood buffet authentic gyros and other wonderful choices to appeal to everyone in your pa

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Oceanfront Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mickey49
Business
New York
Feb 24, 2014

Never Again

The employees here were extremely rude. The room was caked in dust. The entire place smelled like chlorine. The walls are so thin you could hear everything in the adjoining rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
honorah
Business
va
Dec 27, 2012

not what was advedrtised

First no room service then norestaurant on premise got refunded and moved to Holiday inn mind you 123.00 per night and leaving 50.00 dollars per night for same problem. but did not want to move again. When staying over the holidays this is crucial only thing open was mc donalds of course they do not deliver and was not what i had in mind for Xmas eve and day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There was none!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
farmerkeith
Business
Powhatan, Virginia
Aug 23, 2009

worst experience ever

Beds not properly made. trash on floor when we got there and not cleaned while we were there at all.Hair on toilet when we got there.burn spots on curtain.wort experience ever and I have been to Virginia Beach about 30 times.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spotsylvania, VA
Aug 1, 2008

My review of The Oceanfront Inn

In fact, I've stayed at motels with better service. First, our rooms smelled like smoke even though the entire hotel is smoke free. Our sheets had dried blood on them that I didn't notice before checking out. There are no microwaves, and the fridge barely worked. We decided to call for room services since very little places would deliver and for $20 we got an order of overcooked, burnt calamari, and chewy macaroni and cheese. The pool was dirty not maintained. And the showers inside the pool room didn't work- allthewhile they demand you shower before entering. Overall I will never be back. For the price I paid I could have found a better hotel with better amenities and in working condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nice view buuuuuuuuuuuut
Business
Texas
Aug 25, 2010

Been in worse but cannot remember when

The view from the balcony was great but that was the only good thing about this room.This hotel was listed as non smoking hotel and that is the #1 reason we chose the hotel; however you could smell smoke in the hallways and room and you could see people smoking on the balconies. The TV was not black and white but it might as well been b/c the reception was horrible. All the 110 volt outlets on one wall did not work. The ceiling looked as if had been poorly repaired several times. The maid made the bed but that was about all because we had to ask to have the coffee maker cleaned and coffee replenished. This hotel does not have a business center. The staff checking in and especially checking us out at 4am were friendly and a great asset to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Forty Plus Honeymooners
Business
St. Stephens Church
Dec 16, 2014

Terrible Girls Weekend

The only thing good I can say about this hotel is that the location is great and the price wasn't bad for the off season. My shower was back and forth between scolding hot and freezing cold. I got it to the right temp and then it kept jumping back and forth. I called to tell the front desk and they said there was nothing they could do about it. The room smelled like bleach so bad that we had to open the door (in 35 degree weather) to air it out. I appreciate that they cleaned it but the food in our refrigerator smelled horrible like bleach, as did our bedding. By the way, the fridge is NOT already turned on. You have to do it yourself then wait a few hours for it to get cold before putting your food in it. All of the staff was very short and never offered to help in any way. OH...and the parking lot is AWFUL!!! There was such limited space and tight parking spaces. There weren't that many people there but the parking lot was full. I will definitely not be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Forty Plus Honeymooners
Business
St. Stephens Church
Dec 16, 2014

Terrible weekend

The only thing good I can say about this hotel is that the location is great and the price wasn't bad for the off season. My shower was back and forth between scolding hot and freezing cold. I got it to the right temp and then it kept jumping back and forth. I called to tell the front desk and they said there was nothing they could do about it. The room smelled like bleach so bad that we had to open the door (in 35 degree weather) to air it out. I appreciate that they cleaned it but the food in our refrigerator smelled horrible like bleach, as did our bedding. By the way, the fridge is NOT already turned on. You have to do it yourself then wait a few hours for it to get cold before putting your food in it. All of the staff was very short and never offered to help in any way. OH...and the parking lot is AWFUL!!! There was such limited space and tight parking spaces. There weren't that many people there but the parking lot was full. I will definitely not be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Justregularpeeps
Business
NY
Oct 15, 2012

You get what you pay for

For the price I should not complain, but the room looked clean from afar, but there were toe nail clippings in the rug and the rug seemed it has never been steamed cleaned. The staff was friendly. The kids enjoyed the indoor pool. The view is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pdnn60
Business
NORTH CAROLINA
Jul 13, 2013

FUN WITH FAMILY

Ocean Front view was nice. There should have been warning at the sliding doors to prevent guest from tripping over the bottom of metal barrier in doorway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
turbolwf
Business
Virginia
Nov 25, 2013

If you are a smoker not your place even on Balcony

Below is a paste of what I ordered and even though special requests are not always given according to this website you would at least expect to be able to smoke outside the room outside on the balcony. Guest(s) 2 | Night(s): 1 Room description: Oceanfront with private balcony 2 double beds with fridge and coffee maker Special requests: Smoking *Special requests are sent to the hotel but cannot be guaranteed.Provider recommends that you contact the hotel directly to ensure your request can be accommodated. I am not a smoker but my travel partner was so this was frustrating to be threated with a 125.00 fine if you smoke on the balcony. Most smokers are very aware of their habit and would never throw trash over the balcony. I think they are afraid of losing business so they are not going to let you know up front that you can't smoke outside on a balcony. If you are a non-smoker or everyone in your party is then this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top