$74 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

The Oceanfront Inn

3 stars
2901 Atlantic Avenue Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
133 reviews
AWESOME SERVICE

We arrived early morning and figured we'd have to wait til around 4pm for check-in and to our... See full review

  • Babs of VA.
  • Jun 16, 2014
Loved this place and price!!

We went in May during the "off" season in the mddle of May and got an incredible deal. Right on the... See full review

  • MsV8pr
  • May 15, 2014
Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel with restaurant, indoor pool, balconies
Guests at the Oceanfront Inn enjoy the seaside setting right from their balconies and the boardwalk cafe. Major attractions, including the Neptune statue and the boardwalk, are within walking distance. The on-site seafood restaurant is known for its buffet and gyros. The restaurant is open seasonally. The indoor pool is a year-round indulgence.
Highlights
  • On the Virginia Beach oceanfront near the Neptune statue
  • Indoor pool
  • Boardwalk cafe
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Private balconies facing the Atlantic Ocean

Rooms
Whimsical shell patterns and sea-themed artwork create casual flair in standard rooms at the Oceanfront Inn. Private balconies show off a view of the ocean. A work desk, mini refrigerator and lounge chairs are standards amenities, as is free Wi-Fi. Honeymooners can choose the luxurious Penthouse Suite, decorated in yellow, red and blue stripes and with white cottage furniture.

Dining

Neptune's Restaurant prides itself on family-friendly dining and a seasonal seafood buffet. The restaurant's hours vary depending on the season. The authentic gyros go down nicely with panoramic views of the Atlantic at the boardwalk café.

Recreation

A cheerful mural of dolphins and ships welcomes guests to the Oceanfront Inn's heated indoor pool, which is open year-round. During the Holiday Lights at the Beach, visitors receive free car passes to cruise along the streets decorated for the season. On Labor Day weekend, guests have access to American Music Festival concerts.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (34.6 mi/55.6 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • First Landing State Park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.4 mi/28 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (50.1 mi/80.6 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (48.9 mi/78.7 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45.1 mi/72.6 km)
  • Water Country USA  (45.9 mi/73.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.2 mi/27.6 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
Business
  • Private meeting room may be available from November to February
  • Banquet facilities

Hotel Map

36.8575 -75.9777
Nearby airports
Norfolk Intl Airport, (ORF), 18.00, MI, NW; Newport News Williamsburg Intl Airport, (PHF), 47.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Oceanfront Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Oceanfront Inn Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Oceanfront king - Oceanfront room with one king size bed refrigerator coffee-maker iron with ironing board hair dryer and a private balcony.
Standard
Oceanfront double double - Oceanfront room including two double beds refrigerator coffee-maker iron with ironing board hair dryer and a private balcony.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Phone service
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.5 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 3 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 5.9 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.5 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 3 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 5.9 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.6 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.6 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 16.1 mi

Dining

Neptunes On The Boardwalk Restaurant
Neptunes Restaurant our family-friendly casual and festive oceanfront restaurant with bar area and outdoor boardwalk cafe specializes in fresh seafood and seasonal seafood buffet authentic gyros and other wonderful choices to appeal to everyone in your pa

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for The Oceanfront Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
farmerkeith
Powhatan, Virginia
Aug 23, 2009

worst experience ever

Beds not properly made. trash on floor when we got there and not cleaned while we were there at all.Hair on toilet when we got there.burn spots on curtain.wort experience ever and I have been to Virginia Beach about 30 times.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spotsylvania, VA
Aug 1, 2008

My review of The Oceanfront Inn

In fact, I've stayed at motels with better service. First, our rooms smelled like smoke even though the entire hotel is smoke free. Our sheets had dried blood on them that I didn't notice before checking out. There are no microwaves, and the fridge barely worked. We decided to call for room services since very little places would deliver and for $20 we got an order of overcooked, burnt calamari, and chewy macaroni and cheese. The pool was dirty not maintained. And the showers inside the pool room didn't work- allthewhile they demand you shower before entering. Overall I will never be back. For the price I paid I could have found a better hotel with better amenities and in working condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mickey49
New York
Feb 24, 2014

Never Again

The employees here were extremely rude. The room was caked in dust. The entire place smelled like chlorine. The walls are so thin you could hear everything in the adjoining rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nice view buuuuuuuuuuuut
Texas
Aug 25, 2010

Been in worse but cannot remember when

The view from the balcony was great but that was the only good thing about this room.This hotel was listed as non smoking hotel and that is the #1 reason we chose the hotel; however you could smell smoke in the hallways and room and you could see people smoking on the balconies. The TV was not black and white but it might as well been b/c the reception was horrible. All the 110 volt outlets on one wall did not work. The ceiling looked as if had been poorly repaired several times. The maid made the bed but that was about all because we had to ask to have the coffee maker cleaned and coffee replenished. This hotel does not have a business center. The staff checking in and especially checking us out at 4am were friendly and a great asset to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
honorah
va
Dec 27, 2012

not what was advedrtised

First no room service then norestaurant on premise got refunded and moved to Holiday inn mind you 123.00 per night and leaving 50.00 dollars per night for same problem. but did not want to move again. When staying over the holidays this is crucial only thing open was mc donalds of course they do not deliver and was not what i had in mind for Xmas eve and day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

There was none!

Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Ignatius, MT
Jul 25, 2008

good location

Hotel was a little run down. but was in a prime location. Found out we could of save 30.00 dollars a nite by going throgh the Discovery Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Pondarosa has the best breakfast in town,Justa couple of blocks away.

Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Clean Kim
Virginia Beach, VA
Aug 27, 2010

Good Location, lousy room

We enjoyed our stay in Virginia Beach, despite the hotel. The picture of the hotel looked better on the internet. The room was small and rather dirty. In my opinion, the hotel was rather dirty. I would not stay at the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Justregularpeeps
NY
Oct 15, 2012

You get what you pay for

For the price I should not complain, but the room looked clean from afar, but there were toe nail clippings in the rug and the rug seemed it has never been steamed cleaned. The staff was friendly. The kids enjoyed the indoor pool. The view is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harrisonville, PA
Sep 7, 2008

Staff not friendly

When we stayed at this motel, certain staff at the front desk was not friendly until check-out. The free internet access is only in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to all the shops. Still on the boardwalk which is nice.

Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Friend of Va. Beach
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 4, 2011

Thought it would be better

My friend and I stayed one night at the hotel. First, there were no available parking spots at the hotel, so we had to park in a very tight parkade across the street. There was no elevator in the parkade, which made unloading difficult. The hotel room we stayed in was located on the fifth floor and was small, but had a nice view of the ocean. I was disappointed with the condition of the room: the cable TV was grainy, the cold water in the shower whistled loudly, and the bathroom was small. Also, the air conditioner worked sporadically. Would wake up throughout the night either extremely cold or warm. Don't think I'll stay there again, unless the price is incredibly inexpensive. Would not recommend for families because the room and bathroom so small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search