$53 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Nov 29, 2014

The Oceanfront Inn

3 stars
2901 Atlantic Avenue Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
138 reviews
AWESOME SERVICE

We arrived early morning and figured we'd have to wait til around 4pm for check-in and to our... See full review

  • Babs of VA.
  • Jun 16, 2014
Loved this place and price!!

We went in May during the "off" season in the mddle of May and got an incredible deal. Right on the... See full review

  • MsV8pr
  • May 15, 2014
Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel with restaurant, indoor pool, balconies
Guests at the Oceanfront Inn enjoy the seaside setting right from their balconies and the boardwalk cafe. Major attractions, including the Neptune statue and the boardwalk, are within walking distance. The on-site seafood restaurant is known for its buffet and gyros. The restaurant is open seasonally. The indoor pool is a year-round indulgence.
Highlights
  • On the Virginia Beach oceanfront near the Neptune statue
  • Indoor pool
  • Boardwalk cafe
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Private balconies facing the Atlantic Ocean

Rooms
Whimsical shell patterns and sea-themed artwork create casual flair in standard rooms at the Oceanfront Inn. Private balconies show off a view of the ocean. A work desk, mini refrigerator and lounge chairs are standards amenities, as is free Wi-Fi. Honeymooners can choose the luxurious Penthouse Suite, decorated in yellow, red and blue stripes and with white cottage furniture.

Dining

Neptune's Restaurant prides itself on family-friendly dining and a seasonal seafood buffet. The restaurant's hours vary depending on the season. The authentic gyros go down nicely with panoramic views of the Atlantic at the boardwalk café.

Recreation

A cheerful mural of dolphins and ships welcomes guests to the Oceanfront Inn's heated indoor pool, which is open year-round. During the Holiday Lights at the Beach, visitors receive free car passes to cruise along the streets decorated for the season. On Labor Day weekend, guests have access to American Music Festival concerts.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (34.6 mi/55.6 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • First Landing State Park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.4 mi/28 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (50.1 mi/80.6 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (48.9 mi/78.7 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45.1 mi/72.6 km)
  • Water Country USA  (45.9 mi/73.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.2 mi/27.6 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
Business
  • Private meeting room may be available from November to February
  • Banquet facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Oceanfront Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Oceanfront Inn Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Oceanfront king - Oceanfront room with one king size bed refrigerator coffee-maker iron with ironing board hair dryer and a private balcony.
Standard
Oceanfront double double - Oceanfront room including two double beds refrigerator coffee-maker iron with ironing board hair dryer and a private balcony.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Phone service
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.5 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 3 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 5.9 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.5 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 3 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 5.9 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.6 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.6 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 16.1 mi

Dining

Neptunes On The Boardwalk Restaurant
Neptunes Restaurant our family-friendly casual and festive oceanfront restaurant with bar area and outdoor boardwalk cafe specializes in fresh seafood and seasonal seafood buffet authentic gyros and other wonderful choices to appeal to everyone in your pa

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (138)

Ratings and reviews for The Oceanfront Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fisherman44564
Business
Northern VA
Dec 11, 2011

Friendly staff. Good view.

Nice enough place. Parking is a tad tricky though, even in winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sipriano
Business
Lansing, MI, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Great romantic getaway

The view to the ocean from the room balcony was awsome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the boardwalk. Enjoy the view to your destination.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Friend's beach trip
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Fun at Neptune Festival

Virginia Beach is one busy place during Neptune Festival so I can't honestly say we spent much time in our hotel room but it was clean, in a wonderful location and with a small refrigerator in the room it was perfect to stop in, rest up and fuel up as we went from one event to the next. Also, breakfast in the adjoining restaurant (Neptune's) was delicious. Overall I’d say it was a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MS. Traveler
Business
Mississippi, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Good value Great location

Good place to stay! Would come back! Not as fancy as some of the places nearby, but very adequate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KFM1
Business
Virginia, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Hurricaine Irene

The hotel is very clean and in a great location. Within walking distance for lots to do. We had to leave early due to the weather. The hotel management was very helpful with me getting my refund for the 2 days we didn't stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to the Hilton for dinner and listen to music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. CH
Business
Bryantown, MD
Aug 22, 2011

Oceanfront Inn

The hotel staff was helpful and friendly, the resturant was good and the location perfect. The rooms are average, but clean. The hallways were neglected which at first gives the impression that perhaps the rooms will be the same way. Overall it was a good stay and I will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dgpatjen
Business
Alexandria, VA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Great views, close to everything.

The hotel was a typical beachfront hotel that caters to families. Slightly dingy but kept up but when you walked into your room all was forgotten or forgiven as you look straight out to an unobstructed view of the ocean. Sounds included. Personally the pillows were like rocks but still slept well, probably the ocean sounds helped there. All in all we would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Avoid driving into town through the tunnels at any time that even feels like potential rush hour. The back up is not fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Friend of Va. Beach
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 4, 2011

Thought it would be better

My friend and I stayed one night at the hotel. First, there were no available parking spots at the hotel, so we had to park in a very tight parkade across the street. There was no elevator in the parkade, which made unloading difficult. The hotel room we stayed in was located on the fifth floor and was small, but had a nice view of the ocean. I was disappointed with the condition of the room: the cable TV was grainy, the cold water in the shower whistled loudly, and the bathroom was small. Also, the air conditioner worked sporadically. Would wake up throughout the night either extremely cold or warm. Don't think I'll stay there again, unless the price is incredibly inexpensive. Would not recommend for families because the room and bathroom so small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VA Beach Vacationer
Business
Buffalo, NY
Aug 3, 2011

Virginia Beach Vacation

We were returning for a second time to Virginia Beach. This was our first time staying at the Oceanfront Inn. The location was great--right near everything and right on the beach. We enjoyed the balcony overlooking the ocean. Our only complaints were that the housekeeping skipped our room twice and when we called to get towels, they did not send them up. We had to get towels from the pool for our room. I also wish the room had a microwave. Overall, it was a clean hotel and a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
3 Harners
Business
Fishersville, VA
Jul 16, 2011

Great, Clean place to stay!

Nice, clean, great hotel. Rooms were clean, loved the balcony, and staff very nice and helpful! We will most definately stay here again! Very impressed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Giovanni's is our favorite place to eat! They are located on 20th Atlantic! The BEST pizza!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top