$45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

The Blue Marlin

2 stars
2411 Pacific Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
45 reviews
Family outing

It was a very nice hotel. Friendly staff. Right in the middle of everything (great location) I will... See full review

  • KathyBestMommyEver
  • Mar 3, 2014
AMAZING HOTEL!

we were worried about this particular place, but then we got there and they had an amazing room for... See full review

  • Shauna1101
  • Jun 24, 2013
Just a 3 minute walk from the Virginia Beach Boardwalk and Atlantic Ocean, this motel offers rooms with free WiFi and flat-screen TVs. A year-round outdoor swimming pool is featured on the property. A microwave and refrigerator are included in every room at the Blue Marlin Motel. All rooms feature a laid-back decor and include a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Free parking and BBQ facilities are available to all guests of Blue Marlin Motel. The Old Coast Guard Station Museum is a 3 minute walk from this hotel. First Landing State Park is less than 8 miles away.

The Blue Marlin Rooms

Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes free WiFi and a flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room comes with a microwave and a refrigerator.
Efficiency Double
Efficiency Double with two double beds includes a kitchenette and flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room features a private bathroom with a hairdryer.
Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes a flat-screen cable TV, refrigerator and microwave.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Blue Marlin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.8529 -75.9774
Area served
Virginia Beach.
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport (ORF).
Area description
Virginia Beach area.

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.3 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
-

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for The Blue Marlin

Overall score

3 / 5
6 out of 45
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
horusx7
newport news va
Jan 19, 2013

great location

this location is close to all night time activities in the area. rooms are awesome hotel just switched hands so some upgrading is going on but this is a great hotel inside

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

shakas and peabodys

Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

4
Steven Roebuck
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Feb 10, 2013

overnight getaway

I had a great experience....the room decor was tasteful, the facilities were very comfortable, and the location was convenient, and close to the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

4
Virginig Beach Fan
Williamsburg, VA
Feb 19, 2013

Excellent value

Convinient to dinning, clean, and excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

2
Too tired runner
Charlotte, NC
Mar 18, 2013

Disappointed

This is not the type of place I normally stay, I stay at a lot of Marriott hotels for business so I tend to stay with them for personal trips as well. I was in need of a room for the marathon in VA Beach and this place popped up as a 4 star hotel at a great price close to the starting line. I had my doubts but thought I would give a try since it was only one night by myself. The reviews talk up their recent renovation. It is a little weird because I guess the renovation was fairly recent because all the old furniture and the boxes the new stuff came in are still strewn about the property. Yet the renovation is already showing signs of wear. For example, the grout in the new marble bath surround is coming out in big chunks. Overall, yes, these rooms are freshly renovated, but they were obviously done to very low standards. My door would not open more than half way because it scraped against the tile floor. The deadbolt would not lock. The sheets and cover were threadbare and ripped, I had to pull the cover off the second bed in the middle of the night to stay warm - or turn on the lights and try to figure out the heat. If a cheap beach motel is what you are looking for, then maybe this place compares well to the competition. The location was reasonable, a couple short blocks to the beach. But this place is in no way a four star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

2
George T Va.
Arlington, Va
Mar 20, 2013

Adequate for one night

The room was clean and odor-free. Good location, close to beach and restaurants. Had to park in a garage area cluttered with old tv stands and other broken furniture. Office smelled very strongly of curry. Some deficiencies in the room: · no toilet paper (though I could "come and get some" in the office)--and then toilet-roll dispenser broke, · two broken drawer handles, · no electrical outlet covers, · no blanket (but "come and get one" in the office), · heater blew open curtains, · soap fell apart upon opening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tautog's and Doc Taylor's are both nearby and offer excellent food in a restored, vintage setting.

Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
Brian came to Run
Paducah, KY
Sep 3, 2013

Disappointed

I read the other reviews on here before booking this room. I was SO disappointed! Room was not clean. When maid service came they only stacked towels and made bed. No trash take out or mop of slate floors. Noise and lights unbearable for sleeping. Whole area nasty. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top