$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

The Blue Marlin

2 stars
View map of 2411 Pacific Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Hotel Overview

The-Blue-Marlin-Guest-Room
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
67 reviews
Great valie

Great value. Very nice for the price. Clean and neat. Nice kitchen See full review

  • Blaze
  • Mar 10, 2015
Friends

I love the Blue Marlin. It is one of the best hotels to stay in Virginia Beach. Awesome location... See full review

  • Brier w
  • Jan 9, 2015
Just a 3 minute walk from the Virginia Beach Boardwalk and Atlantic Ocean, this motel offers rooms with free WiFi and flat-screen TVs. A year-round outdoor swimming pool is featured on the property. A microwave and refrigerator are included in every room at the Blue Marlin Motel. All rooms feature a laid-back decor and include a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Free parking and BBQ facilities are available to all guests of Blue Marlin Motel. The Old Coast Guard Station Museum is a 3 minute walk from this hotel. First Landing State Park is less than 8 miles away.

Top hotels

The Blue Marlin Rooms

Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes free WiFi and a flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room comes with a microwave and a refrigerator.
Efficiency Double
Efficiency Double with two double beds includes a kitchenette and flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room features a private bathroom with a hairdryer.
Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes a flat-screen cable TV, refrigerator and microwave.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.3 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
-

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Blue Marlin

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 67
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
horusx7
Business
newport news va
Jan 19, 2013

great location

this location is close to all night time activities in the area. rooms are awesome hotel just switched hands so some upgrading is going on but this is a great hotel inside

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

shakas and peabodys

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steven Roebuck
Business
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Feb 10, 2013

overnight getaway

I had a great experience....the room decor was tasteful, the facilities were very comfortable, and the location was convenient, and close to the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Virginig Beach Fan
Business
Williamsburg, VA
Feb 19, 2013

Excellent value

Convinient to dinning, clean, and excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crunchyspart
Business
Richmond
Oct 21, 2014

meh

Good *location was 1 block from the ocean *the price is very cheap *they did well on dusting the furniture *toilets are set to kill *bed was comfy *AC unit worked well. *fridge and microwave Bad *dirty sheets *dirty looking towels *grimy tiled floor, glad i wore socks. *Long black hair in the shower. *neighboring lot had very bright lights entering the small window I was debating between this hotel and 3 others. My two search criteria were location to the convention center, and price. Of the 4 hotels within my criteria, this one did not charge extra for parking, did not charge for a maid fee, and the other one had more bad reviews than the Marlin. Since I drove there, and because of the poor reviews, I decided to take my sleeping bag, pillow, and towel with me. I am glad I did. No, you shouldn't have to go to those lengths to feel comfortable in a hotel, but then again, you get what you pay for. For the price, I'd stay there again repeating the same process.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Too tired runner
Business
Charlotte, NC
Mar 18, 2013

Disappointed

This is not the type of place I normally stay, I stay at a lot of Marriott hotels for business so I tend to stay with them for personal trips as well. I was in need of a room for the marathon in VA Beach and this place popped up as a 4 star hotel at a great price close to the starting line. I had my doubts but thought I would give a try since it was only one night by myself. The reviews talk up their recent renovation. It is a little weird because I guess the renovation was fairly recent because all the old furniture and the boxes the new stuff came in are still strewn about the property. Yet the renovation is already showing signs of wear. For example, the grout in the new marble bath surround is coming out in big chunks. Overall, yes, these rooms are freshly renovated, but they were obviously done to very low standards. My door would not open more than half way because it scraped against the tile floor. The deadbolt would not lock. The sheets and cover were threadbare and ripped, I had to pull the cover off the second bed in the middle of the night to stay warm - or turn on the lights and try to figure out the heat. If a cheap beach motel is what you are looking for, then maybe this place compares well to the competition. The location was reasonable, a couple short blocks to the beach. But this place is in no way a four star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
George T Va.
Business
Arlington, Va
Mar 20, 2013

Adequate for one night

The room was clean and odor-free. Good location, close to beach and restaurants. Had to park in a garage area cluttered with old tv stands and other broken furniture. Office smelled very strongly of curry. Some deficiencies in the room: · no toilet paper (though I could "come and get some" in the office)--and then toilet-roll dispenser broke, · two broken drawer handles, · no electrical outlet covers, · no blanket (but "come and get one" in the office), · heater blew open curtains, · soap fell apart upon opening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tautog's and Doc Taylor's are both nearby and offer excellent food in a restored, vintage setting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brian came to Run
Business
Paducah, KY
Sep 3, 2013

Disappointed

I read the other reviews on here before booking this room. I was SO disappointed! Room was not clean. When maid service came they only stacked towels and made bed. No trash take out or mop of slate floors. Noise and lights unbearable for sleeping. Whole area nasty. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top