$36 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

The Blue Marlin

2 stars
2411 Pacific Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
64 reviews
Vaca 2014

Good close to beach nice room ......,.,,,,,,,,,,,, See full review

  • RN vaca
  • Aug 30, 2014
Simple and wonderful

I was a bit nervous to book here as the pictures of the hotel looked so dated. But this was the... See full review

  • DCist
  • May 19, 2014
Just a 3 minute walk from the Virginia Beach Boardwalk and Atlantic Ocean, this motel offers rooms with free WiFi and flat-screen TVs. A year-round outdoor swimming pool is featured on the property. A microwave and refrigerator are included in every room at the Blue Marlin Motel. All rooms feature a laid-back decor and include a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Free parking and BBQ facilities are available to all guests of Blue Marlin Motel. The Old Coast Guard Station Museum is a 3 minute walk from this hotel. First Landing State Park is less than 8 miles away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Blue Marlin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The Blue Marlin Rooms

Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes free WiFi and a flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room comes with a microwave and a refrigerator.
Efficiency Double
Efficiency Double with two double beds includes a kitchenette and flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room features a private bathroom with a hairdryer.
Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes a flat-screen cable TV, refrigerator and microwave.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.3 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
-

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for The Blue Marlin

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 64
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jay F
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Sep 1, 2012

Don't Judge a Book By its Cover

Wow! I came in knowing that I was getting a one star motel off the beach....My family and I were not expecting much. We drove in and it was what I expected....I paid an extra 10 dollars to get the ocean view room. We stepped into the room and was instantly impressed! Everything was new and renovated! It had a nice flat screen TV, new beautiful ceramic tile, new fridge, and microwave...and the bathroom? Brand new and beautiful! I thought twice about making a review because I wanted to keep this secret to myself...but management deserves it as they know what the customer wants. The ocean view room was not bad. Highly recommend for the price, comfort, location, cleanliness of room, and amenities! Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dannyA
Business
Woodbridge, VA
Oct 9, 2012

Newly renovated, Best value for VA Beach

You can't beat the location and the renovated rooms. The room we were in looked really nice. Since it was off-season I booked a good deal online. I wish I could have stayed longer(arrived at midnight and checked out at 8am the next morning). Overall friendly staff and nice rooms, the only bad thing is there is a bar right next to the hotel but you can barely hear the noise in the rooms. Not to mention my car had a little bit of what looked like vomit on the passenger window. I don't get grossed out by little things like this; my car needed a car wash after anyway. Still 5 stars to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SisterBride
Business
Uniontown, PA
Oct 14, 2012

Exactly what we hoped for...

We read the reviews, and got exactly what we were looking for. The insides of the rooms were brand new... very clean and inviting. The only suggestion we had was warmer blankets. The bedspreads were pretty, but thin, and with the crazy winds we had this weekend it was a bit chilly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KathyBestMommyEver
Business
virginia beach
Mar 3, 2014

Family outing

It was a very nice hotel. Friendly staff. Right in the middle of everything (great location) I will book a room here for my next trip!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DCist
Business
Washington, DC, USA
May 19, 2014

Simple and wonderful

I was a bit nervous to book here as the pictures of the hotel looked so dated. But this was the best price for something close to the beach- and it's SO close to the beach at only a block away. It would have been difficult to make me happier. I was thrilled with the place before we even saw our room because the manager allowed us to park our car there way before check-in (we arrived around 9 AM), saving us plenty on parking, and every staff member greeted us and were so very nice. A woman who I think is the manager's wife was very sweet to our little one. We all felt very welcomed. I saw a sign saying that the rooms had been recently renovated and I was hoping it was a major overhaul from those pictures I'd seen online; it definitely was a big change! The walls are painted pretty shades of sand and blue. The furniture was very modern- my only complaint was of the wheels on the bottom of the beds which was a bit odd, but understandable considering the type of floor, plus how dirty it must get with sand being dragged in- I took it as a good sign that they were serious about cleaning. Speaking of which, the maid- I believe her name was Mary? Something with an M- often asked us if we needed anything and brought us plenty of extra towels and cups to start. There's a kitchen which we didn't really need, save for the fridge, but is a nice amenity if you're staying for awhile. We didn't use the pool; it's very small but very cute. I was really impressed with this place and would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RN vaca
Business
New york
Aug 30, 2014

Vaca 2014

Good close to beach nice room ......,.,,,,,,,,,,,,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BQ MOM
Business
Louisville Ky
Mar 18, 2013

GREAT STAY!

Fabulous! Stayed for only one nite for a marathon, wish could've stayed longer. They let us check in early ..room was very pleasant. Outside is very deceiving, but inside is remodeled. Close to everything! Would definately stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
creed1975
Business
Waynesboro, PA
Mar 20, 2013

Satisfied Germaphobe!

Don't let the appearance fool you! I was skeptical looking at the outside, but everything inside was new and shiny! The floors are tile, so no worries about bugs in the carpeting. The room was very clean! The staff is friendly. The walk to the beach was called a 'block', but it was more like a hop, skip and a jump! Also, if they put you on the 4th floor, you can see the ocean from the balcony. Overall for the price awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain George's Seafood Buffet!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bullpup MaMaw
Business
Dunbar WV
Apr 17, 2013

Good hospitality

have been staying here since October about once a month or so - only problem is not enough hot water sometimes - otherwise, pleasant experience and great location - 1 block from beach!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
best papa evah
Business
new hampshire
May 11, 2013

weekend getaway

great place great price just a 5 minute walk to the beach staff very nice and the rooms recently remodeled so everything is new

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top