$43 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

The Blue Marlin

2 stars
2411 Pacific Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
63 reviews
Vaca 2014

Good close to beach nice room ......,.,,,,,,,,,,,, See full review

  • RN vaca
  • Aug 30, 2014
Simple and wonderful

I was a bit nervous to book here as the pictures of the hotel looked so dated. But this was the... See full review

  • DCist
  • May 19, 2014
Just a 3 minute walk from the Virginia Beach Boardwalk and Atlantic Ocean, this motel offers rooms with free WiFi and flat-screen TVs. A year-round outdoor swimming pool is featured on the property. A microwave and refrigerator are included in every room at the Blue Marlin Motel. All rooms feature a laid-back decor and include a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Free parking and BBQ facilities are available to all guests of Blue Marlin Motel. The Old Coast Guard Station Museum is a 3 minute walk from this hotel. First Landing State Park is less than 8 miles away.

Hotel Map

36.8529 -75.9774
Area served
Virginia Beach.
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport (ORF).
Area description
Virginia Beach area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Blue Marlin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The Blue Marlin Rooms

Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes free WiFi and a flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room comes with a microwave and a refrigerator.
Efficiency Double
Efficiency Double with two double beds includes a kitchenette and flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room features a private bathroom with a hairdryer.
Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes a flat-screen cable TV, refrigerator and microwave.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.3 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
-

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for The Blue Marlin

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 63
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RN vaca
New york
Aug 30, 2014

Vaca 2014

Good close to beach nice room ......,.,,,,,,,,,,,,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jay F
Virginia Beach, VA
Sep 1, 2012

Don't Judge a Book By its Cover

Wow! I came in knowing that I was getting a one star motel off the beach....My family and I were not expecting much. We drove in and it was what I expected....I paid an extra 10 dollars to get the ocean view room. We stepped into the room and was instantly impressed! Everything was new and renovated! It had a nice flat screen TV, new beautiful ceramic tile, new fridge, and microwave...and the bathroom? Brand new and beautiful! I thought twice about making a review because I wanted to keep this secret to myself...but management deserves it as they know what the customer wants. The ocean view room was not bad. Highly recommend for the price, comfort, location, cleanliness of room, and amenities! Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DCist
Washington, DC, USA
May 19, 2014

Simple and wonderful

I was a bit nervous to book here as the pictures of the hotel looked so dated. But this was the best price for something close to the beach- and it's SO close to the beach at only a block away. It would have been difficult to make me happier. I was thrilled with the place before we even saw our room because the manager allowed us to park our car there way before check-in (we arrived around 9 AM), saving us plenty on parking, and every staff member greeted us and were so very nice. A woman who I think is the manager's wife was very sweet to our little one. We all felt very welcomed. I saw a sign saying that the rooms had been recently renovated and I was hoping it was a major overhaul from those pictures I'd seen online; it definitely was a big change! The walls are painted pretty shades of sand and blue. The furniture was very modern- my only complaint was of the wheels on the bottom of the beds which was a bit odd, but understandable considering the type of floor, plus how dirty it must get with sand being dragged in- I took it as a good sign that they were serious about cleaning. Speaking of which, the maid- I believe her name was Mary? Something with an M- often asked us if we needed anything and brought us plenty of extra towels and cups to start. There's a kitchen which we didn't really need, save for the fridge, but is a nice amenity if you're staying for awhile. We didn't use the pool; it's very small but very cute. I was really impressed with this place and would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SisterBride
Uniontown, PA
Oct 14, 2012

Exactly what we hoped for...

We read the reviews, and got exactly what we were looking for. The insides of the rooms were brand new... very clean and inviting. The only suggestion we had was warmer blankets. The bedspreads were pretty, but thin, and with the crazy winds we had this weekend it was a bit chilly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dannyA
Woodbridge, VA
Oct 9, 2012

Newly renovated, Best value for VA Beach

You can't beat the location and the renovated rooms. The room we were in looked really nice. Since it was off-season I booked a good deal online. I wish I could have stayed longer(arrived at midnight and checked out at 8am the next morning). Overall friendly staff and nice rooms, the only bad thing is there is a bar right next to the hotel but you can barely hear the noise in the rooms. Not to mention my car had a little bit of what looked like vomit on the passenger window. I don't get grossed out by little things like this; my car needed a car wash after anyway. Still 5 stars to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KathyBestMommyEver
virginia beach
Mar 3, 2014

Family outing

It was a very nice hotel. Friendly staff. Right in the middle of everything (great location) I will book a room here for my next trip!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lala w
roanoke, VA
Jun 17, 2014

staff was the only problem...

Overall the hotel was beautiful! Looking at it from the outside you wouldn't think the rooms would be as stylish as they are, but they were great. Nice and spacious. The pool was clean. It was within walking distance of 2 stores. The only issue was the staff. I had a "run in" with the man working the front desk. Granted we did check in late, but i already had the room reserved and paid for. The man told me my card declined, but i had not received an email or phone call to tell me that. I immediately checked my balance, and told him the room was most definitely charged to my card. He then proceeds to tell me to give him my card and he'll charge it again! I refused and told him that he would have to give me a refund.. Miraculously he found that i did indeed pay for the room. I was not the only person he tried this with. I ran into a couple at the pool who had the same issue. Also a man staying by himself experienced the same problem. Another issue i had was with room service. We asked specifically for face washcloths because there were 5 adults in the room and only 2 washcloths. She gave us towels instead of washcloths and when we asked for just washcloths she said there were too many guests to give us anymore. The hotel had a bunch of vacancies. So rather than argue we made due with what we had. My only recommendation would be to train the staff better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Ry hookah bar & lounge was a good place to have a good time. It's right before the carnival there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bullpup MaMaw
Dunbar WV
Apr 17, 2013

Good hospitality

have been staying here since October about once a month or so - only problem is not enough hot water sometimes - otherwise, pleasant experience and great location - 1 block from beach!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chrissy from Columbus
Columbus, Ohio
May 31, 2013

Great Location! Great Price!

The Blue Marlin was the perfect fit for our vacation! The price was very affordable and well worth it. If they continue to keep up the great work we will surely stay here again. The beach was literally a walk across the street, near shops and restaurants, with on site parking. The rooms were newly remodeled, clean, and had tile floors which put us at ease, due to the ability to be thoroughly cleaned between guests. The owners were very nice and it was obvious that the profits they made went straight back to improving the hotel. It looks a little rough from the outside, but most definitely a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
best papa evah
new hampshire
May 11, 2013

weekend getaway

great place great price just a 5 minute walk to the beach staff very nice and the rooms recently remodeled so everything is new

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search