The Blue Marlin

2 stars
2411 Pacific Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
64 reviews
Simple and wonderful

I was a bit nervous to book here as the pictures of the hotel looked so dated. But this was the... See full review

  • DCist
  • May 19, 2014
Family outing

It was a very nice hotel. Friendly staff. Right in the middle of everything (great location) I will... See full review

  • KathyBestMommyEver
  • Mar 3, 2014
Just a 3 minute walk from the Virginia Beach Boardwalk and Atlantic Ocean, this motel offers rooms with free WiFi and flat-screen TVs. A year-round outdoor swimming pool is featured on the property. A microwave and refrigerator are included in every room at the Blue Marlin Motel. All rooms feature a laid-back decor and include a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Free parking and BBQ facilities are available to all guests of Blue Marlin Motel. The Old Coast Guard Station Museum is a 3 minute walk from this hotel. First Landing State Park is less than 8 miles away.

The Blue Marlin Rooms

Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes free WiFi and a flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room comes with a microwave and a refrigerator.
Efficiency Double
Efficiency Double with two double beds includes a kitchenette and flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room features a private bathroom with a hairdryer.
Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes a flat-screen cable TV, refrigerator and microwave.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

36.8529 -75.9774
Area served
Virginia Beach.
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport (ORF).
Area description
Virginia Beach area.

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.3 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
-

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for The Blue Marlin

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KathyBestMommyEver
virginia beach
Mar 3, 2014

Family outing

It was a very nice hotel. Friendly staff. Right in the middle of everything (great location) I will book a room here for my next trip!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jay F
Virginia Beach, VA
Sep 1, 2012

Don't Judge a Book By its Cover

Wow! I came in knowing that I was getting a one star motel off the beach....My family and I were not expecting much. We drove in and it was what I expected....I paid an extra 10 dollars to get the ocean view room. We stepped into the room and was instantly impressed! Everything was new and renovated! It had a nice flat screen TV, new beautiful ceramic tile, new fridge, and microwave...and the bathroom? Brand new and beautiful! I thought twice about making a review because I wanted to keep this secret to myself...but management deserves it as they know what the customer wants. The ocean view room was not bad. Highly recommend for the price, comfort, location, cleanliness of room, and amenities! Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LongBoarderVa
757
Sep 22, 2012

Perfect

You are greeted with smiles from everyone there, they are glad to see you and remember who you are. This is the only place you want to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Familiarize yourself with where you are at so you can pick the spot you really want to go to. And beware of the panhandlers on the boardwalk. I think if someone can drink all night and wake up at sunrise, they can work for their own money.

Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dannyA
Woodbridge, VA
Oct 9, 2012

Newly renovated, Best value for VA Beach

You can't beat the location and the renovated rooms. The room we were in looked really nice. Since it was off-season I booked a good deal online. I wish I could have stayed longer(arrived at midnight and checked out at 8am the next morning). Overall friendly staff and nice rooms, the only bad thing is there is a bar right next to the hotel but you can barely hear the noise in the rooms. Not to mention my car had a little bit of what looked like vomit on the passenger window. I don't get grossed out by little things like this; my car needed a car wash after anyway. Still 5 stars to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SisterBride
Uniontown, PA
Oct 14, 2012

Exactly what we hoped for...

We read the reviews, and got exactly what we were looking for. The insides of the rooms were brand new... very clean and inviting. The only suggestion we had was warmer blankets. The bedspreads were pretty, but thin, and with the crazy winds we had this weekend it was a bit chilly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bcFenix
Alexandria, VA
Oct 15, 2012

Excellent Bang for your Buck

If you're heading to VA beach and need a room just to stay in, the Blue Marlin is the way to go. It's small, cheap, and very comfy. Located right on Pacific Ave and just a very short walk to the shoreline. The room I stayed in was recently renovated. The typical 2 bed, 1 bathroom set up but with an LCD tv on top of a modern cabinet set up, complete with microwave and fridge. Temperature control was a large unit underneath the main window and worked flawlessly. Bathroom was small but very clean. Toilet is of industrial quality/strength so you don't have to worry about clogging. Staff was non-existent, which is how it should be, because there was nothing that required the staff to be present. I only had one run in with house keeping. The motel did not receive my updated reservation, but the person behind the desk said he'd take care of it and I checked - in/out without any problems. The walls are a bit thin. I could hear plumbing coming from next door and upstairs, as well as conversations outside my door. And that being said, you'll definitely hear the occasional fighter jet making it's circle around VA Beach from the nearby Naval Base. These weren't a problem for me as I was hardly in the room to begin with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
horusx7
newport news va
Jan 19, 2013

great location

this location is close to all night time activities in the area. rooms are awesome hotel just switched hands so some upgrading is going on but this is a great hotel inside

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

shakas and peabodys

Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shauna1101
Virginia Beach, VA
Jun 24, 2013

AMAZING HOTEL!

we were worried about this particular place, but then we got there and they had an amazing room for us right near the beach. it was GREAT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

bargain!!

Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shauna1101
Virginia Beach, VA
Jun 24, 2013

Amazing Hotel

my fiancé and I stayed here for 4 nights & we were skeptical about it at first, but once we saw the room we were amazed and so happy about how close it is to the beach. it's an amazing place to stay and I would recommend it for EVERYONE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

bargain when you can! :)

Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DCist
Washington, DC, USA
May 19, 2014

Simple and wonderful

I was a bit nervous to book here as the pictures of the hotel looked so dated. But this was the best price for something close to the beach- and it's SO close to the beach at only a block away. It would have been difficult to make me happier. I was thrilled with the place before we even saw our room because the manager allowed us to park our car there way before check-in (we arrived around 9 AM), saving us plenty on parking, and every staff member greeted us and were so very nice. A woman who I think is the manager's wife was very sweet to our little one. We all felt very welcomed. I saw a sign saying that the rooms had been recently renovated and I was hoping it was a major overhaul from those pictures I'd seen online; it definitely was a big change! The walls are painted pretty shades of sand and blue. The furniture was very modern- my only complaint was of the wheels on the bottom of the beds which was a bit odd, but understandable considering the type of floor, plus how dirty it must get with sand being dragged in- I took it as a good sign that they were serious about cleaning. Speaking of which, the maid- I believe her name was Mary? Something with an M- often asked us if we needed anything and brought us plenty of extra towels and cups to start. There's a kitchen which we didn't really need, save for the fridge, but is a nice amenity if you're staying for awhile. We didn't use the pool; it's very small but very cute. I was really impressed with this place and would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top