$33 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 12, 2014

The Blue Marlin

2 stars
2411 Pacific Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
63 reviews
Vaca 2014

Good close to beach nice room ......,.,,,,,,,,,,,, See full review

  • RN vaca
  • Aug 30, 2014
Simple and wonderful

I was a bit nervous to book here as the pictures of the hotel looked so dated. But this was the... See full review

  • DCist
  • May 19, 2014
Just a 3 minute walk from the Virginia Beach Boardwalk and Atlantic Ocean, this motel offers rooms with free WiFi and flat-screen TVs. A year-round outdoor swimming pool is featured on the property. A microwave and refrigerator are included in every room at the Blue Marlin Motel. All rooms feature a laid-back decor and include a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Free parking and BBQ facilities are available to all guests of Blue Marlin Motel. The Old Coast Guard Station Museum is a 3 minute walk from this hotel. First Landing State Park is less than 8 miles away.

Hotel Map

36.8529 -75.9774
Area served
Virginia Beach.
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport (ORF).
Area description
Virginia Beach area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Blue Marlin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The Blue Marlin Rooms

Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes free WiFi and a flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room comes with a microwave and a refrigerator.
Efficiency Double
Efficiency Double with two double beds includes a kitchenette and flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room features a private bathroom with a hairdryer.
Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes a flat-screen cable TV, refrigerator and microwave.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.3 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
-

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for The Blue Marlin

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 63
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RN vaca
Business
New york
Aug 30, 2014

Vaca 2014

Good close to beach nice room ......,.,,,,,,,,,,,,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
key 68
Business
Virginia beach
Aug 28, 2014

to visit Virginia Beach

everything was very well and pleasantwe had a nice view to look at the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

just a close walk to everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mother of Miss 5am
Business
Pittsburgh
Aug 11, 2014

Great room, great location

I would definitely go back!!!! Great time!!! Perfect for the price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bartenders at CP Shuckers were a blast. Had a great time there!!!! Very friendly. Hope to visit again soon!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Liz and Co.
Business
Virginia
Aug 9, 2014

Uncomfortable beds and unwelcoming feel

The housekeeping staff wasn't allowed to give us enough towels. We had to go to the office to request them and got strange looks from the man at the desk. The room was depressing and dirty and very noisy and the beds were so uncomfortable that we couldn't sleep at all and got up in extreme pain. It was a bad experience and I'd never go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mami6
Business
Virginia
Aug 9, 2014

Great hotel

Enjoyed our stay. Close enough to walk to the boardwalk and beach. Staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
screw that room
Business
va
Jul 30, 2014

rude/filthy

It sucked. Worst hotel I've stayed at. Rude clerks/housekeepers. Dirty rooms. Stains on bedding and towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MALWAYS GOIN
Business
MANASSAS, VA
Jul 21, 2014

KIDS LOVED IT

GOOD EXPERIENCE, THE ROOM WAS CLEAN AND SMELLED GOOD. I GOT THERE EARLY SO THEY GAVE METHE PARKING PASS AND TOLD ME THEY WOULD CALL ONCE THE ROOM WAS READY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

CLOSE TO EVERYTHING

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
famfourth of July getaway
Business
Virginia Beach
Jul 5, 2014

Family of four Fourth of July beach trip

Well let me say this I was skeptical booking this hotel online because it doesn't have any pictures to go off of. And granted this was a last minute thing on my part so i didn't have the luxury of a full property research beforehand. My first impression was negative I called the hotel before booking just to make sure things were on the up and up, which almost cancelled our trip. The first time a man answered with a middle eastern accent and said that he only had one room and for the fourth holiday and it was $300 he then stated he couldn't understand me and hung up the phone. So I waited a few minutes and called back thia time the same person answered then telling me he had availability and quoted the same price I saw online then immediately hung up the phone. I then went ahead and booke a room though stit skeptical, but like I s as id this was a last minute tripso I ddidn't have a lot of options. So once booked and we got there while pulling up my son looked at the place and said I hope this isn't where we're staying based on how old and raggedy it looked on the outside. We checked in with out to many problems, once we got to the room I will say that the inside looked better than thw outside. And on the way to the room i realized that he lied abour having only and that we were the only ones on the top floor until we checked out.But it was still sub par, the room was half cleaned dirt smears on walls, lamps etc.No house keeping finally got some towels at about 5 in evening. The pillows were hard and stained, the bed wasn't steady and the fridge didn't get cold. It was so much more but im tired, I probably won't stay here again unless there was nothing else available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LJ13
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Jul 1, 2014

Glad it was a short stay

My husband and I lucked out and got a larger room with a kitchen area (Room 106) for the same price as a regular 2 double bed room. The room would've been perfect if only it was cleaner! The floors are tiled instead of carpeted, which I like in hotels - better chance of them being thoroughly cleaned. Unfortunately, that logic didn't hold up for this place. After a few passes around the room, I looked down and saw the bottom of my feet were completely black. Disgusting! My husband and I started wearing either socks or flip flops around the room after that. The fridge was also dirty - pieces of food were left over from the last guest. We didn't hang out at the pool but walked past it - it was very small. There was a sign stating that the max occupancy of the pool was 20 people. That would be 20 very crowded people! The location was great, it was a block from the beach. There were lots of shops and places to eat in the area. Parking at the hotel was also difficult but when I checked in, the front desk manager said something about extra parking being available on the next block. All in all, I'm glad we were just there for 2 nights. My mom stayed a couple days longer and had some rude run-ins with the staff but I'll leave that up to her to review. We didn't have any problems with the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Red420
Business
Va beach
Jun 30, 2014

Weekend at beach

The staff was great and for what I pay for the room was nice would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top