$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

The Blue Marlin

2 stars
2411 Pacific Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
52 reviews
Simple and wonderful

I was a bit nervous to book here as the pictures of the hotel looked so dated. But this was the... See full review

  • DCist
  • May 19, 2014
Family outing

It was a very nice hotel. Friendly staff. Right in the middle of everything (great location) I will... See full review

  • KathyBestMommyEver
  • Mar 3, 2014
Just a 3 minute walk from the Virginia Beach Boardwalk and Atlantic Ocean, this motel offers rooms with free WiFi and flat-screen TVs. A year-round outdoor swimming pool is featured on the property. A microwave and refrigerator are included in every room at the Blue Marlin Motel. All rooms feature a laid-back decor and include a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Free parking and BBQ facilities are available to all guests of Blue Marlin Motel. The Old Coast Guard Station Museum is a 3 minute walk from this hotel. First Landing State Park is less than 8 miles away.

The Blue Marlin Rooms

Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes free WiFi and a flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room comes with a microwave and a refrigerator.
Efficiency Double
Efficiency Double with two double beds includes a kitchenette and flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room features a private bathroom with a hairdryer.
Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes a flat-screen cable TV, refrigerator and microwave.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Blue Marlin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.8529 -75.9774
Area served
Virginia Beach.
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport (ORF).
Area description
Virginia Beach area.

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.3 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
-

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for The Blue Marlin

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NavyNay
Kentucky
Sep 9, 2012

Lodgers Beware!!

Do NOT use the deadbolt locks in this motel. We had to be drilled out of the room, as the deadbolt lock became jammed because it was so old. The management did not acknowledge or apologize at all for this situation. Housekeeping came in once in 3 days and made up one bed out of 2, left a pile of dirty towels on the bathroom floor and never cleaned the floor. The parking lot is so limited, I cannot imagine where everyone parks during peak season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bigred
Sewell, NJ 08080, USA
May 12, 2013

Only there 5 minutes

After checking in at the front desk we went to our room. Upon opening the door we were greeted by two unmade beds and empty beer and wine cooler bottles. We went right back to the office and told them we were leaving. The manager wanted to show us another room but after seeing the first one we weren't interested. The manager stated that he wouldn't refund our deposit because we refused to look at the other room. We called the reservation agent and the agent called the hotel and was told the same thing. I reported the problem with the card company. If the charge appears on my statement I'll lodge a complaint. In the future I will demand to see the room before presenting my card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pocahontas restaurant was a great place for breakfast. Pancakes, waffles and egg dishes were all great.

Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brian came to Run
Paducah, KY
Sep 3, 2013

Disappointed

I read the other reviews on here before booking this room. I was SO disappointed! Room was not clean. When maid service came they only stacked towels and made bed. No trash take out or mop of slate floors. Noise and lights unbearable for sleeping. Whole area nasty. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed RVT
Utah
Apr 28, 2013

Blew it on this One!!

It took ua 45 minutes to check in because no one paid or forwarded our reservaton to the hotel. Next, the hotel was rated 4 stars by the internet travel company and it would be generous to rate it as a 2. The rooms did not have anyplace to hang your clothes, there was a large space between the door and the door jam so the street nosie level was unbearably high, there was no coffee pot, or ice machine, and it is quite run down. I would only recomment this place to a young person who wanted to party all night and just needed a place ti crash after. The loaction, however, was quite good!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MVN NYC
New York, NY
May 6, 2013

One Night Is Too Long

A soon as I walked into the office to check-in, I should have known that the price was too good to be true. There was no greeting, not even a smile from the woman at the desk and the pile of old furniture in the parking lot was scary. In our room, there were two hand towels for four adults. The room was not clean and even though we only styayed for one night, it was too long. Everything about this motel was gross - the windows, the elevator panel, the tile floor in the room and the bedspreads. At best, this is a 2-Star Motel, not a 4-Star Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
anunsatisfiedcustomer
King George, VA
Apr 29, 2013

NEVER AGAIN!

I have been to VA beach many times and have never had a problem--saw this hotel, and figured I would give it a chance because I was only going down to visit friends for one night ....IT WAS HORRIBLE! DON'T GO HERE! (if I could, I wouldn't even give it 1 star...but it won't let me) First of all, when we got there there were NO parking spaces, people were double parked, and there was barely space to park to go check in. So I got my keys, and asked the woman if I could stay parked there, and she told me "no." I asked where were there other places to park and she said around the corner. So I went around the corner....still NO spots. I had to basically park on the sidewalk, and one other person told me not to park there because the night before some guy side swiped all of the parked cars and left....great. So I had to wait over an hour to get a parking spot (it was a stakeout to see who was the first to leave) and finally got one....but all night I worried about if my car was still going to be there in the morning. The hotel beds were hard as rocks, and the whole place reeked of marijuana-- and the hotel is just too old and rundown. The elevator doesn't work, the locks barely locked...and I just didn't feel safe...at all. Trust me, it's worth the extra $100 to go stay somewhere else....my boyfriend and I didn't even stay in this hotel...it was that bad. Trust me. Not even worth a day, spend the money and go to a nice hotel. I would not recommend this experience to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Steve Mac
NY
Apr 7, 2013

not so good

Was under construction Out of the way off the strip. Wasn't what I expected Staff was nice. Needs some work Inside of room was nice outside needs work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
arb2
Virginia Beach, Va
Sep 16, 2012

Wonderful hideout

Amazing wonderful quite getaway fun short,perfect place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Place very clean and nice

Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mimi1128
north ridgeville ohio
May 26, 2013

you get what you pay for

It was ok. the second building looks very run down. not as clean as i would of liked. not very personable staff. would not stay again. couldnt wait to check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach

Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
famfourth of July getaway
Virginia Beach
Jul 5, 2014

Family of four Fourth of July beach trip

Well let me say this I was skeptical booking this hotel online because it doesn't have any pictures to go off of. And granted this was a last minute thing on my part so i didn't have the luxury of a full property research beforehand. My first impression was negative I called the hotel before booking just to make sure things were on the up and up, which almost cancelled our trip. The first time a man answered with a middle eastern accent and said that he only had one room and for the fourth holiday and it was $300 he then stated he couldn't understand me and hung up the phone. So I waited a few minutes and called back thia time the same person answered then telling me he had availability and quoted the same price I saw online then immediately hung up the phone. I then went ahead and booke a room though stit skeptical, but like I s as id this was a last minute tripso I ddidn't have a lot of options. So once booked and we got there while pulling up my son looked at the place and said I hope this isn't where we're staying based on how old and raggedy it looked on the outside. We checked in with out to many problems, once we got to the room I will say that the inside looked better than thw outside. And on the way to the room i realized that he lied abour having only and that we were the only ones on the top floor until we checked out.But it was still sub par, the room was half cleaned dirt smears on walls, lamps etc.No house keeping finally got some towels at about 5 in evening. The pillows were hard and stained, the bed wasn't steady and the fridge didn't get cold. It was so much more but im tired, I probably won't stay here again unless there was nothing else available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top