$36 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 9, 2014 Check-out: Dec 12, 2014

The Blue Marlin

2 stars
2411 Pacific Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
64 reviews
Vaca 2014

Good close to beach nice room ......,.,,,,,,,,,,,, See full review

  • RN vaca
  • Aug 30, 2014
Simple and wonderful

I was a bit nervous to book here as the pictures of the hotel looked so dated. But this was the... See full review

  • DCist
  • May 19, 2014
Just a 3 minute walk from the Virginia Beach Boardwalk and Atlantic Ocean, this motel offers rooms with free WiFi and flat-screen TVs. A year-round outdoor swimming pool is featured on the property. A microwave and refrigerator are included in every room at the Blue Marlin Motel. All rooms feature a laid-back decor and include a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Free parking and BBQ facilities are available to all guests of Blue Marlin Motel. The Old Coast Guard Station Museum is a 3 minute walk from this hotel. First Landing State Park is less than 8 miles away.

Hotel Map

36.8529 -75.9774
Area served
Virginia Beach.
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport (ORF).
Area description
Virginia Beach area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Blue Marlin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The Blue Marlin Rooms

Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes free WiFi and a flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room comes with a microwave and a refrigerator.
Efficiency Double
Efficiency Double with two double beds includes a kitchenette and flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room features a private bathroom with a hairdryer.
Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes a flat-screen cable TV, refrigerator and microwave.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.3 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
-

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for The Blue Marlin

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NavyNay
Business
Kentucky
Sep 9, 2012

Lodgers Beware!!

Do NOT use the deadbolt locks in this motel. We had to be drilled out of the room, as the deadbolt lock became jammed because it was so old. The management did not acknowledge or apologize at all for this situation. Housekeeping came in once in 3 days and made up one bed out of 2, left a pile of dirty towels on the bathroom floor and never cleaned the floor. The parking lot is so limited, I cannot imagine where everyone parks during peak season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
anunsatisfiedcustomer
Business
King George, VA
Apr 29, 2013

NEVER AGAIN!

I have been to VA beach many times and have never had a problem--saw this hotel, and figured I would give it a chance because I was only going down to visit friends for one night ....IT WAS HORRIBLE! DON'T GO HERE! (if I could, I wouldn't even give it 1 star...but it won't let me) First of all, when we got there there were NO parking spaces, people were double parked, and there was barely space to park to go check in. So I got my keys, and asked the woman if I could stay parked there, and she told me "no." I asked where were there other places to park and she said around the corner. So I went around the corner....still NO spots. I had to basically park on the sidewalk, and one other person told me not to park there because the night before some guy side swiped all of the parked cars and left....great. So I had to wait over an hour to get a parking spot (it was a stakeout to see who was the first to leave) and finally got one....but all night I worried about if my car was still going to be there in the morning. The hotel beds were hard as rocks, and the whole place reeked of marijuana-- and the hotel is just too old and rundown. The elevator doesn't work, the locks barely locked...and I just didn't feel safe...at all. Trust me, it's worth the extra $100 to go stay somewhere else....my boyfriend and I didn't even stay in this hotel...it was that bad. Trust me. Not even worth a day, spend the money and go to a nice hotel. I would not recommend this experience to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed RVT
Business
Utah
Apr 28, 2013

Blew it on this One!!

It took ua 45 minutes to check in because no one paid or forwarded our reservaton to the hotel. Next, the hotel was rated 4 stars by the internet travel company and it would be generous to rate it as a 2. The rooms did not have anyplace to hang your clothes, there was a large space between the door and the door jam so the street nosie level was unbearably high, there was no coffee pot, or ice machine, and it is quite run down. I would only recomment this place to a young person who wanted to party all night and just needed a place ti crash after. The loaction, however, was quite good!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MVN NYC
Business
New York, NY
May 6, 2013

One Night Is Too Long

A soon as I walked into the office to check-in, I should have known that the price was too good to be true. There was no greeting, not even a smile from the woman at the desk and the pile of old furniture in the parking lot was scary. In our room, there were two hand towels for four adults. The room was not clean and even though we only styayed for one night, it was too long. Everything about this motel was gross - the windows, the elevator panel, the tile floor in the room and the bedspreads. At best, this is a 2-Star Motel, not a 4-Star Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bigred
Business
Sewell, NJ 08080, USA
May 12, 2013

Only there 5 minutes

After checking in at the front desk we went to our room. Upon opening the door we were greeted by two unmade beds and empty beer and wine cooler bottles. We went right back to the office and told them we were leaving. The manager wanted to show us another room but after seeing the first one we weren't interested. The manager stated that he wouldn't refund our deposit because we refused to look at the other room. We called the reservation agent and the agent called the hotel and was told the same thing. I reported the problem with the card company. If the charge appears on my statement I'll lodge a complaint. In the future I will demand to see the room before presenting my card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pocahontas restaurant was a great place for breakfast. Pancakes, waffles and egg dishes were all great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brian came to Run
Business
Paducah, KY
Sep 3, 2013

Disappointed

I read the other reviews on here before booking this room. I was SO disappointed! Room was not clean. When maid service came they only stacked towels and made bed. No trash take out or mop of slate floors. Noise and lights unbearable for sleeping. Whole area nasty. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
screw that room
Business
va
Jul 30, 2014

rude/filthy

It sucked. Worst hotel I've stayed at. Rude clerks/housekeepers. Dirty rooms. Stains on bedding and towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Liz and Co.
Business
Virginia
Aug 9, 2014

Uncomfortable beds and unwelcoming feel

The housekeeping staff wasn't allowed to give us enough towels. We had to go to the office to request them and got strange looks from the man at the desk. The room was depressing and dirty and very noisy and the beds were so uncomfortable that we couldn't sleep at all and got up in extreme pain. It was a bad experience and I'd never go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
arb2
Business
Virginia Beach, Va
Sep 16, 2012

Wonderful hideout

Amazing wonderful quite getaway fun short,perfect place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Place very clean and nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Too tired runner
Business
Charlotte, NC
Mar 18, 2013

Disappointed

This is not the type of place I normally stay, I stay at a lot of Marriott hotels for business so I tend to stay with them for personal trips as well. I was in need of a room for the marathon in VA Beach and this place popped up as a 4 star hotel at a great price close to the starting line. I had my doubts but thought I would give a try since it was only one night by myself. The reviews talk up their recent renovation. It is a little weird because I guess the renovation was fairly recent because all the old furniture and the boxes the new stuff came in are still strewn about the property. Yet the renovation is already showing signs of wear. For example, the grout in the new marble bath surround is coming out in big chunks. Overall, yes, these rooms are freshly renovated, but they were obviously done to very low standards. My door would not open more than half way because it scraped against the tile floor. The deadbolt would not lock. The sheets and cover were threadbare and ripped, I had to pull the cover off the second bed in the middle of the night to stay warm - or turn on the lights and try to figure out the heat. If a cheap beach motel is what you are looking for, then maybe this place compares well to the competition. The location was reasonable, a couple short blocks to the beach. But this place is in no way a four star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top