$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 21, 2015

The Blue Marlin

2 stars
View map of 2411 Pacific Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
74 reviews
Great valie

Great value. Very nice for the price. Clean and neat. Nice kitchen See full review

  • Blaze
  • Mar 10, 2015
Friends

I love the Blue Marlin. It is one of the best hotels to stay in Virginia Beach. Awesome location... See full review

  • Brier w
  • Jan 9, 2015
Just a 3 minute walk from the Virginia Beach Boardwalk and Atlantic Ocean, this motel offers rooms with free WiFi and flat-screen TVs. A year-round outdoor swimming pool is featured on the property. A microwave and refrigerator are included in every room at the Blue Marlin Motel. All rooms feature a laid-back decor and include a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Free parking and BBQ facilities are available to all guests of Blue Marlin Motel. The Old Coast Guard Station Museum is a 3 minute walk from this hotel. First Landing State Park is less than 8 miles away.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Blue Marlin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Blue Marlin Rooms

Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes free WiFi and a flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room comes with a microwave and a refrigerator.
Efficiency Double
Efficiency Double with two double beds includes a kitchenette and flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room features a private bathroom with a hairdryer.
Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes a flat-screen cable TV, refrigerator and microwave.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.3 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
-

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Blue Marlin

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bcFenix
Alexandria, VA
Oct 15, 2012

Excellent Bang for your Buck

If you're heading to VA beach and need a room just to stay in, the Blue Marlin is the way to go. It's small, cheap, and very comfy. Located right on Pacific Ave and just a very short walk to the shoreline. The room I stayed in was recently renovated. The typical 2 bed, 1 bathroom set up but with an LCD tv on top of a modern cabinet set up, complete with microwave and fridge. Temperature control was a large unit underneath the main window and worked flawlessly. Bathroom was small but very clean. Toilet is of industrial quality/strength so you don't have to worry about clogging. Staff was non-existent, which is how it should be, because there was nothing that required the staff to be present. I only had one run in with house keeping. The motel did not receive my updated reservation, but the person behind the desk said he'd take care of it and I checked - in/out without any problems. The walls are a bit thin. I could hear plumbing coming from next door and upstairs, as well as conversations outside my door. And that being said, you'll definitely hear the occasional fighter jet making it's circle around VA Beach from the nearby Naval Base. These weren't a problem for me as I was hardly in the room to begin with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blaze
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Great valie

Great value. Very nice for the price. Clean and neat. Nice kitchen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brier w
Business
Bumpass
Jan 9, 2015

Friends

I love the Blue Marlin. It is one of the best hotels to stay in Virginia Beach. Awesome location and very good for the money you spend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sandra C.
Business
N/A
Jan 9, 2015

relaxing

I was very relaxed the staff was nice beautiful view I would stay there again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crunchyspart
Business
Richmond
Oct 21, 2014

meh

Good *location was 1 block from the ocean *the price is very cheap *they did well on dusting the furniture *toilets are set to kill *bed was comfy *AC unit worked well. *fridge and microwave Bad *dirty sheets *dirty looking towels *grimy tiled floor, glad i wore socks. *Long black hair in the shower. *neighboring lot had very bright lights entering the small window I was debating between this hotel and 3 others. My two search criteria were location to the convention center, and price. Of the 4 hotels within my criteria, this one did not charge extra for parking, did not charge for a maid fee, and the other one had more bad reviews than the Marlin. Since I drove there, and because of the poor reviews, I decided to take my sleeping bag, pillow, and towel with me. I am glad I did. No, you shouldn't have to go to those lengths to feel comfortable in a hotel, but then again, you get what you pay for. For the price, I'd stay there again repeating the same process.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDa RN
Business
Burke, Va
Sep 22, 2014

Good , clean

Close to the beach, garage parking, close to the beach, 7/11 right across

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
McGuck
Business
Wilmington, Delaware
Sep 1, 2014

Blue Marlin

You get what you pay for here, decent room in a decent location. Its not waterfront but again your not paying waterfront prices. Staff was friendly and accommodating but the cleaning staff needs to step their game up. I would stay there again if I was tight on cash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RN vaca
Business
New york
Aug 30, 2014

Vaca 2014

Good close to beach nice room ......,.,,,,,,,,,,,,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
key 68
Business
Virginia beach
Aug 28, 2014

to visit Virginia Beach

everything was very well and pleasantwe had a nice view to look at the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

just a close walk to everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jay Dogg
Business
Virginia Beach
Aug 16, 2014

DJ Love Goin & Comin

The location was very for the beach,room needs new bed that are comfortable,no breakfast. The STAFF was nice,price good for peak vacation season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mother of Miss 5am
Business
Pittsburgh
Aug 11, 2014

Great room, great location

I would definitely go back!!!! Great time!!! Perfect for the price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bartenders at CP Shuckers were a blast. Had a great time there!!!! Very friendly. Hope to visit again soon!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top