$58 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

The Blue Marlin

2 stars
2411 Pacific Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
64 reviews
Simple and wonderful

I was a bit nervous to book here as the pictures of the hotel looked so dated. But this was the... See full review

  • DCist
  • May 19, 2014
Family outing

It was a very nice hotel. Friendly staff. Right in the middle of everything (great location) I will... See full review

  • KathyBestMommyEver
  • Mar 3, 2014
Just a 3 minute walk from the Virginia Beach Boardwalk and Atlantic Ocean, this motel offers rooms with free WiFi and flat-screen TVs. A year-round outdoor swimming pool is featured on the property. A microwave and refrigerator are included in every room at the Blue Marlin Motel. All rooms feature a laid-back decor and include a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Free parking and BBQ facilities are available to all guests of Blue Marlin Motel. The Old Coast Guard Station Museum is a 3 minute walk from this hotel. First Landing State Park is less than 8 miles away.

Hotel Map

36.8529 -75.9774
Area served
Virginia Beach.
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport (ORF).
Area description
Virginia Beach area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Blue Marlin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

The Blue Marlin Rooms

Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes free WiFi and a flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room comes with a microwave and a refrigerator.
Efficiency Double
Efficiency Double with two double beds includes a kitchenette and flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room features a private bathroom with a hairdryer.
Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes a flat-screen cable TV, refrigerator and microwave.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.3 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
-

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for The Blue Marlin

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bcFenix
Alexandria, VA
Oct 15, 2012

Excellent Bang for your Buck

If you're heading to VA beach and need a room just to stay in, the Blue Marlin is the way to go. It's small, cheap, and very comfy. Located right on Pacific Ave and just a very short walk to the shoreline. The room I stayed in was recently renovated. The typical 2 bed, 1 bathroom set up but with an LCD tv on top of a modern cabinet set up, complete with microwave and fridge. Temperature control was a large unit underneath the main window and worked flawlessly. Bathroom was small but very clean. Toilet is of industrial quality/strength so you don't have to worry about clogging. Staff was non-existent, which is how it should be, because there was nothing that required the staff to be present. I only had one run in with house keeping. The motel did not receive my updated reservation, but the person behind the desk said he'd take care of it and I checked - in/out without any problems. The walls are a bit thin. I could hear plumbing coming from next door and upstairs, as well as conversations outside my door. And that being said, you'll definitely hear the occasional fighter jet making it's circle around VA Beach from the nearby Naval Base. These weren't a problem for me as I was hardly in the room to begin with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mother of Miss 5am
Pittsburgh
Aug 11, 2014

Great room, great location

I would definitely go back!!!! Great time!!! Perfect for the price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bartenders at CP Shuckers were a blast. Had a great time there!!!! Very friendly. Hope to visit again soon!!!!

Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Liz and Co.
Virginia
Aug 9, 2014

Uncomfortable beds and unwelcoming feel

The housekeeping staff wasn't allowed to give us enough towels. We had to go to the office to request them and got strange looks from the man at the desk. The room was depressing and dirty and very noisy and the beds were so uncomfortable that we couldn't sleep at all and got up in extreme pain. It was a bad experience and I'd never go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mami6
Virginia
Aug 9, 2014

Great hotel

Enjoyed our stay. Close enough to walk to the boardwalk and beach. Staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alliegirl1234
kent, ohio
Aug 4, 2014

not worth the money, and there were stains on the bed sheets!

Not worth the money. Bedsheets had stains and bed was not comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants within walking distance

Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GCLB
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Aug 4, 2014

quiet get away

Was great stay wish the bed was more comfortable but over all location and entire experience was wonderful within walking distance too everything ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Must visit Captain George's it's the best of the Beach.

Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The traveling m's
Stafford va
Aug 2, 2014

Good hotel for short stay.

Close enough to the beach, walking distance. 4th floor has ocean views , room 412 and 420 are the best for viewing. Only con, bathtub and sink drained extremely slow. Would recommend for an overnight stay, only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sweet frog is around the corner.

Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
screw that room
va
Jul 30, 2014

rude/filthy

It sucked. Worst hotel I've stayed at. Rude clerks/housekeepers. Dirty rooms. Stains on bedding and towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MALWAYS GOIN
MANASSAS, VA
Jul 21, 2014

KIDS LOVED IT

GOOD EXPERIENCE, THE ROOM WAS CLEAN AND SMELLED GOOD. I GOT THERE EARLY SO THEY GAVE METHE PARKING PASS AND TOLD ME THEY WOULD CALL ONCE THE ROOM WAS READY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

CLOSE TO EVERYTHING

Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brier w
Virginia beach, va
Jul 21, 2014

My fav

Love this hotel...I stay here everytime I visit virginia beach!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
famfourth of July getaway
Virginia Beach
Jul 5, 2014

Family of four Fourth of July beach trip

Well let me say this I was skeptical booking this hotel online because it doesn't have any pictures to go off of. And granted this was a last minute thing on my part so i didn't have the luxury of a full property research beforehand. My first impression was negative I called the hotel before booking just to make sure things were on the up and up, which almost cancelled our trip. The first time a man answered with a middle eastern accent and said that he only had one room and for the fourth holiday and it was $300 he then stated he couldn't understand me and hung up the phone. So I waited a few minutes and called back thia time the same person answered then telling me he had availability and quoted the same price I saw online then immediately hung up the phone. I then went ahead and booke a room though stit skeptical, but like I s as id this was a last minute tripso I ddidn't have a lot of options. So once booked and we got there while pulling up my son looked at the place and said I hope this isn't where we're staying based on how old and raggedy it looked on the outside. We checked in with out to many problems, once we got to the room I will say that the inside looked better than thw outside. And on the way to the room i realized that he lied abour having only and that we were the only ones on the top floor until we checked out.But it was still sub par, the room was half cleaned dirt smears on walls, lamps etc.No house keeping finally got some towels at about 5 in evening. The pillows were hard and stained, the bed wasn't steady and the fridge didn't get cold. It was so much more but im tired, I probably won't stay here again unless there was nothing else available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search