$45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

The Blue Marlin

2 stars
2411 Pacific Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
45 reviews
Family outing

It was a very nice hotel. Friendly staff. Right in the middle of everything (great location) I will... See full review

  • KathyBestMommyEver
  • Mar 3, 2014
AMAZING HOTEL!

we were worried about this particular place, but then we got there and they had an amazing room for... See full review

  • Shauna1101
  • Jun 24, 2013
Just a 3 minute walk from the Virginia Beach Boardwalk and Atlantic Ocean, this motel offers rooms with free WiFi and flat-screen TVs. A year-round outdoor swimming pool is featured on the property. A microwave and refrigerator are included in every room at the Blue Marlin Motel. All rooms feature a laid-back decor and include a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Free parking and BBQ facilities are available to all guests of Blue Marlin Motel. The Old Coast Guard Station Museum is a 3 minute walk from this hotel. First Landing State Park is less than 8 miles away.

The Blue Marlin Rooms

Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes free WiFi and a flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room comes with a microwave and a refrigerator.
Efficiency Double
Efficiency Double with two double beds includes a kitchenette and flat-screen TV, this air-conditioned room features a private bathroom with a hairdryer.
Standard Double
Standard Double with two double beds includes a flat-screen cable TV, refrigerator and microwave.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Blue Marlin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.8529 -75.9774
Area served
Virginia Beach.
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport (ORF).
Area description
Virginia Beach area.

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.1 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Motor World: 2.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.7 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.4 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8.1 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.1 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.3 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 15.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
-

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for The Blue Marlin

Overall score

3.2 / 5
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
KathyBestMommyEver
virginia beach
Mar 3, 2014

Family outing

It was a very nice hotel. Friendly staff. Right in the middle of everything (great location) I will book a room here for my next trip!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

1
Brian came to Run
Paducah, KY
Sep 3, 2013

Disappointed

I read the other reviews on here before booking this room. I was SO disappointed! Room was not clean. When maid service came they only stacked towels and made bed. No trash take out or mop of slate floors. Noise and lights unbearable for sleeping. Whole area nasty. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

3
Jab84
Pa
Sep 1, 2013

Extra night added to beginning of family vacation

Not bad for the price. Whoever was running the lobby during our stay could have been better. No bell at desk and nobody around. Left us standing for 10 minutes. Then billed us for an extra night and tried to argue when I told him that wasn't what I booked. Showed him my confirmation email and he did end up getting it fixed for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

4
LukasDC
Washington DC
Aug 30, 2013

Great Location for great price

Great spot for the price. It looked like hotel was recently renovated, I enjoyed the little pool after a whole day at the beach. 24H Walgreens is next door which is awesome. Awesomely looking bathroom and liked the custom made furniture. Overall this place was great for the price. Cheers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dough Boys !!! Forget the seafood buffets !! Those serve old or frozen food anyway. You cant beat great pizza and some chicken wings.

Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
Shauna1101
Virginia Beach, VA
Jun 24, 2013

AMAZING HOTEL!

we were worried about this particular place, but then we got there and they had an amazing room for us right near the beach. it was GREAT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

bargain!!

Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

5
Shauna1101
Virginia Beach, VA
Jun 24, 2013

Amazing Hotel

my fiancé and I stayed here for 4 nights & we were skeptical about it at first, but once we saw the room we were amazed and so happy about how close it is to the beach. it's an amazing place to stay and I would recommend it for EVERYONE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

bargain when you can! :)

Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

2
Unsatisfied Joann
Fredericksburg, Va.
Jun 24, 2013

Worst experience at Va. Beach

When I arrived at Blue Marlin I checked into my room only to find out that the refrigerator was broken, ok, well that was replaced about 20 minutes later. No big deal. The next morning went out to the beach and then at about 10:30 decided to go to the pool at the hotel and it was suppose to be open at 10 a.m., but because someone did not show up to check the PH I had to wait for someone to show up to check that, finally by around 11 a.m. The very same day went back to my room and the key card wouldn't open the door, went to the office to find out what was wrong with that and was told the battery was dead in the lock and had to wait for someone to come and install the new battery. Was not a pleasant stay there and will not go there again or recommend it to anyone in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

3
LIssavf
Virginia
Jun 5, 2013

2 day getaway

The staff was very nice. The rooms had been updated and were very modern and very very clean. The location is great and we will be staying with them again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

2
Grandma of 3 boys
Annapolis, Maryland
Jun 4, 2013

They have a way to go.......

Although the owners of the Blue Marlin are making attempts to renovate the motel, it would have been nice if simple cleanliness would be upgraded. The bed sheets felt gritty; the floor was filthy and what should have clued us was when we entered, the bathroom toilet had urine on it and looked like it had recently been used but not cleaned. The bath towels were too small for my 5 year old grandson. However, the location on Pacific was great! There was no closet for hanging clothes, but the kitchen area was spacious and well thought out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

As a former local resident of Va Beach - Mary's is the place to go for quick and very reasonable breakfast, on 17th Street.

Review of The Blue Marlin

Reviewer score

2
Happy4now
Massachusetts
Jun 4, 2013

Good Price, Close to Beach

I recently stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend. We drove 10 hrs from MA to this hotel. Our original reservation was for 3 nights, however, we only stayed 2 nights. We lost the money we paid for the last night, but felt like we spent enough time there in that hotel! The hotel interior wasn't that bad, although I have seem MUCH better. The interior was renovated, the bathroom looked very nice, however the toilet would spit out water when you would flush it! That was very annoying! The beds were okay. The batteries in the remote for the TV weren't working, and when I went to get new ones, it seemed as if the staff didn't want to give any (but they ended up after nearly 20 mins of waiting) The staff took forever to give me and my boyfriend our room too. We did arrive early, but they kept telling us to wait and wait. We ended up waiting in the car, in the hot sun for 3 hours!!!! The staff wasn't that pleasant either. They didn't understand that we had a reservation, but instead, they tried to get more money out of us by asking to pay again. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for the convenience of the location - located right next to Walgreens and restaurants. The night view from our room was very nice too. I wouldn't recommend this room to someone who wants lots of privacy and a hotel on the waterfront. (Although the location to the beach is literally 1 block away)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a lot of dining and shopping around this hotel.

Back to menu Return to top